We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean, great food, fun pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Turtle Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Turtle Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, LA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“clean, great food, fun pool”
Reviewed June 21, 2007

The grounds were perfect. The rooms were clean, sparce and could have used 2 fans instead of 1. The pool was fun and the pool table provided much evening entertainment. The staff was very friendly and the food delicious. The boat tour was much nicer than the jungle tour and we learned a ton on both.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — hot
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    185
    57
    9
    8
See reviews for
120
206
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2006

A very nice place. The room was comfortable and clean and the food was excellent - in a traditional sort of way!

Our guide, Roberto, was extremely knowledgeable and friendly and took us on a number of interesting adventures - hiking through a marshy rainforest, hiking to the top of a hill, a dawn boat trip through the canals looking for wildlife, a night-time look at the creatures around the beautiful gardens of the lodge.

We were there in the rainy season - and it rained! But they provide umbrellas and Wellington boots so, providing you don't mind a bit of rain, you're all sorted.

The beach is also stunning - black sand, bleak and deserted; no horrible tourist paraphernalia.

And getting to and from the lodge is also a delight - cruising down the canals, fringed on all sides with dense forest.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mark121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2006

Beautiful grounds, helpful staff, very clean, great food ...too bad it rained for 1.5 days of our 2 days. Beach is awesome and so are the tours they provide...even the boots and rain ponchos are free to use. We even had a family of howler monkeys just outside our rooms. Don't forget the insect repellent - you'll need it.

Helpful?
4 Thank calie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2006

We are repeat customers of Turtle Beach Lodge. Each time has been an absolutely wonderful experience! From the individual employees to the guides to the managers to the grounds, we have never had a problem and have always immensely enjoyed our stays. The rooms, while simple, are clean and meet all our needs. The food is good, the pool is lovely and the beach is wonderful. There is always something new in the jungle and I highly recommend taking advantage of using the available kayaks and exploring the canals on your own. A lovely getaway in an even lovelier environment! We have toured other Lodges in the area and Turtle Beach Lodge far exceeds any of the other available accommodations in Tortugeuro! Feel free to contact us if you are considering a holiday here.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank puravida2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2005

Turtle Beach Lodge was a dream turned nightmare for us. The grounds are beautiful (but probably no better than any of the other lodges in the area). However, if you're going to Tortuguero to see and learn about the plant- and wildlife, I would not recommend this lodge. We had one boat tour with 2 dozen other people for a morning but little opportunity to explore the canals and jungle more closely.

More importantly, the lodge lost our luggage on the way back to San Jose. They recovered our things once we returned home to the US. However, it took two full months of emails to them before they would spend the money to ship our luggage back to us. It wasn't until I contacted the US Consulate and the Costa Rican Tourist Board that they finally shipped the luggage back with our now stinking bathing suits inside(they had been wet all that time!). Once it arrived there were some articles missing. When I asked the lodge about this, they refused to reimburse me for anything. In short, they chose to deal with this mistake by stalling for months and making excuses rather than do the right thing and send us our luggage immediately. (The owners are American, by the way. Costa Ricans would be unlikely to treat their customers in so shabby a fashion.)

Helpful?
24 Thank LorenzoP9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
3.9 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 9 in Tortuguero
1,001 reviews
5.4 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tortuguero
254 reviews
4.6 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 9 in Tortuguero
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#1 of 36 in Tortuguero
634 reviews
5.6 mi away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 36 in Tortuguero
1,015 reviews
4.7 mi away
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
#2 of 36 in Tortuguero
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach Lodge

Property: Turtle Beach Lodge
Address: Cano Palma, Tortuguero 1, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Turtle Beach Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The area of Tortuguero is rightfully called The Amazon of Costa Rica because access is only by boat on Jungle Rivers. Turtle Beach Lodge, 5 miles north of the town of Tortuguero, is a secluded resort spanning 175 acres with miles of jungle trails, a meandering private canal, and a half mile of beach adjoining still more isolated beaches. The lodge accommodates approximately 80 guests; assisted by a well trained staff and guides who ease you into an exciting jungle experience. Stay in the beautifully landscaped cabinas, swim in our turtle shaped pool, relax in the adjacent shady hammock hut with food and drink from the restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turtle Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach Hotel Tortuguero
Turtle Beach Lodge Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing