We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time for family”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Turtle Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Turtle Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
“Great time for family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We really enjoyed our time at Turtle Beach Lodge. Our guide, Marvin, was wonderful to our three kids (all under 10). We didn't expect to only have a - somewhat rushed - 30-40 minutes in Tortuguerro town, so we couldn't properly look for souvenirs and look around. The tours were good, the food did the job, and the accommodations were suitable. Prepare for the weather, though, it's more than a touch damp there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    185
    57
    9
    8
See reviews for
120
206
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

The trip to and from the lodge and the boat tours while there were wonderful: peaceful and we saw a lot of wildlife. While we recognize that the remote location means that amenities have to be scaled back, this lodge has gone too far. Is it to much to ask for washcloths, lights over ones bed, plugs that work and tiny bathroom mirrors that only allow a man of average height to see his belt buckle. So no shaving here guys!

The food was average with little choice and the one coffee urn was frequently empty.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoHighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

I have now brought a group of university students from South Louisiana for 3 years in a row to this hotel. They and I have always enjoyed our 2/3 day stay. It is normally reached by a long 1-1 and1/2 hour boat ride (the captain points out iguanas, monkeys, caymans, etc., on the way) - a very good introduction to the splendid tropical rainforest. The location is amazing with an entrance which looks totally forbidden along a narrow overgrown canal till reaching the sunny clearing. The hotel is a compound of wooden buildings and swimming pool. The rooms are light, airy and comfortable with overhead ceiling fans. The staff is very efficient, friendly and helpful and the food, although always buffet style, is good and welcome after a long walk or boat ride. There's lots to do: walking on the long misty beach at dawn or at dusk where the turtles lay their eggs (no swimming in the sea because of dangerous rip tides), wonderful day and night boat tours guided by knowledgeable captains through the large expanses of canal water pointing out the ever present variety of flora and wildlife, walks through the tropical rain forest which presents a marvelous musical cacophony of sounds coming from all sorts of species, a visit by boat to the interesting quaint small village of Tortuguero where the houses are raised off the ground because of flooding. It's hard to say goodbye to Jessie (manager) and his friendly staff. Feedback from the students about the hotel has always been very positive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed over Christmas 2013 for 4 days and had a wonderful experience. Marco was our designated guide for the trip and we had two other wonderful families in our group. Marco was passionate about nature and we learnt a lot from him. This resort is truly in the middle of a dense jungle and will take you back in time. Beautiful grounds,basic but more than adequate rooms, steps from the jungle and the beach. Food was freshly cooked and tasty but with limited variety. The night trip by boat was fabulous.I won't give the details so as to not spoil your surprise. Skip the zip line tour in the area. Take the additional boat trips and go with your guide kayaking to the lagoon. Enjoy an experience of a lifetime.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger with double wall windows and we had the ones at the farthest end of the reso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ldl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Turtle Beach Lodge is an extraordinary experience. The long, leisurely pace to get there enhances the feeling of leaving the city behind and offers a complete submersion into nature
The boat ride in felt like the definition of "life in the slow lane" and built the anticipation of a
lodge in the jungle. No cars, no noise just the gentle water and bird sounds.
The private canal that is the entrance to the lodge off the main canal gets smaller, more intimate
and then opens into the wonderful grounds.
The staff is welcoming and friendly- all eager to make the stay enjoyable. Jesse (in reception)
was never too busy to point out a monkey, sloth, exotic birds and always seemed to know what and where they were. We appreciated the enthusiasm of all the staff and guides and their
pleasure when they spotted something for us to enjoy. I also appreciated how respectful they were with the animals, birds and all living things.
The jungle and excursions are wonderful but don't miss the beach either. An early morning walk is perfect- it is quiet with almost no one in sight. I found the sea no more rough than any other beach experience and a pleasure to swim and wade.
An extra day- after all the guided trips- is wonderful to enjoy the beautiful turtle shaped pool, the hammocks and the kayaks. There is even some large space debris that washed ashore on the grounds. The rooms were very comfortably furnished. I loved the "eat as much as you want" buffets which which were tasty and felt like what the locals would eat.
Turtle Beach Lodge was a great experience that I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms at the far ends feel more like they are in the jungle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deb4049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

The place itself is very nice but you need to be aware that you cannot travel there independently. We were loaded on an ultra slow boat at Pavona - to get there. Once there you are expected to eat at a table with your 'group' (and if you are not part of one you are put in one). The cabins are very very basic but adequate, however because we were there over the season they were very expensive and we would probably have done better to give Tortuguero a miss - just not good value for money. The whole place and the rooms are full of bugs - we had little worms in a procession to our bathroom - I am not complaining - its the jungle! but if you are not ok with insects don't go there. The food is ok, breakfast pancakes were rubbery. For value for money, accommodation and the slow boat I would give it a 1. For the friendliness of the staff (Gustavo, Geraldo, Irena), the helpfulness in reception and our absolutely amazing guide Marvin - I would give it a 5 - which brings the average to 3.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sounder999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We spent 3 very relaxing and peaceful days at the Turtle Beach Lodge. Our guide Daniel (Danny) showed us all kinds of animals we'd never seen if not pointed out to us.
Turtle Beach Lodge is the perfect place to relax and re-charge your batteries.
The rooms are basic but nice and clean. Staff is very friendly and helpful.
Unfortunately, you cannot swim at the beach (the sea is to rough), but you can walk/jog along the beach for hours if you wish. Perfect to give your mind a break. ;-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank World_Traveller_8633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
3.9 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 9 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
4.6 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
5.4 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#1 of 36 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
4.7 mi away
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
#2 of 36 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
5.6 mi away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 36 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach Lodge

Property: Turtle Beach Lodge
Address: Cano Palma, Tortuguero 1, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Turtle Beach Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The area of Tortuguero is rightfully called The Amazon of Costa Rica because access is only by boat on Jungle Rivers. Turtle Beach Lodge, 5 miles north of the town of Tortuguero, is a secluded resort spanning 175 acres with miles of jungle trails, a meandering private canal, and a half mile of beach adjoining still more isolated beaches. The lodge accommodates approximately 80 guests; assisted by a well trained staff and guides who ease you into an exciting jungle experience. Stay in the beautifully landscaped cabinas, swim in our turtle shaped pool, relax in the adjacent shady hammock hut with food and drink from the restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turtle Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach Hotel Tortuguero
Turtle Beach Lodge Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing