We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Great Operation”
Review of Pachira Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pachira Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Service, Great Operation”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We spent two nights here over Memorial Day weekend so we could go tarpon fishing. Everyone at Pachira was highly organized from the reservations dept to the drivers to the boat captains to the hotel - very impressive. The journey to get there only takes about 5-6 hours, but that includes stops for breakfast and both the van and boat part of it. The last hour by boat is beautiful as you are in the middle of the jungle.

The hotel itself is essentially an upscale eco-lodge. The rooms don't have AC or TV, but at the same time you won't be roughing it in the jungle either. Very comfortable beds, ceiling fans, private baths with hot water shower. Nothing beats falling asleep to the sound of tree frogs and/or rain.

The food was all buffet style but for the most part was very good. They offer various options at all meals, and they have a pasta bar if you don't like what they are serving. We particularly liked the breakfast as they had a smoothie station (very cool!) and an omelette station in addition to the buffet. The bartenders were great, especially Rafa, and all the drinks were good. There is even a nice big pool to enjoy and a spa, so it's a great place to enjoy the essence of the Tortuguero jungle while staying in comfort. Would definitely go back and fish for tarpon again!

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar, but if you want a private bungalow you can stay at their sister property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    577
    179
    45
    17
See reviews for
266
610
51
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
721 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We had a very busy start to our Costa Rica trip - 8 hotels in 10 days before we settled into a beach stay.This was lodge number two- no frills, basic but met all requirements.No telephone- didn't need it, no toiletries - the wall dispenser sufficed, no hot water in the plugless sink but there was hot water in the large shower which had a sweet double curtain so that it looked like a window curtain. Bit dark but that is mainly the wattage in Costa Rica. Ample room for suitcases but as I say a bit dark to try and find stuff. Fans are ample as the air becomes colder in the night.We liked the large single beds which would have been enough for two- comfortable and supportive pillows.No window glass just mesh so you are really feeling you are in the jungle- you cannot see much of the sky due to the lovely trees which shelter the bungalows. A great deal of wood- wooden lodges, wooden walkways and decking, one outside rocking chair per bungalow- could have had two really, plenty of recycling bins for separate items. You can see/ hear and even touch much wildlife within the complex without going on tours- beautiful lizards and iguanas in the vicinity of your bungalow aswell as monkeys- the howlers start barking around 3.00am and with a trained eye you can see them- they like to stay high in the trees. Lots of wonderful butterflies and insects- the lizards are gorgeous- we had plenty simply stretched out along tree barks. There were a multitude of huge blue and purple crabs on the ground outside our bungalow- each with its territorial hole- and willing to fight and fend off other crabs walking too near...fascinating to watch. Strange square shaped small spiders and large banana type spiders nestled in their webs, beautiful foliage and flowers. It really felt like we were IN the jungle- especially at night time- the monkeys would crawl along and hide under the bungalow, you would hear all the varied noises, squawks, screeches etc- some folk had the howlers on their tin roofs !- good job I had my earplugs for the sake of some sleep-however the high pitched bird twangs are impossible to eradicate so I learned to live with that at 3/ 4.00 am. The worst was the selfishness of youngsters from USA staying at the lodge who after partying at the bar area woke everyone up in the early hours loudly returning to their rooms.It felt like summer camp for the rest of us- it was very rude of them to behave in such a manner. Shame on you all as you woke up all the Europeans who complained the following morning. Anyway, the tour we had consisted of a river cruise which was fascinating- wonderful wildlife- caymans, small one inch long nosed bats, crocodile, agouti, spider monkey troupe, tapirs, beautiful butterflies, large flowers on a tree- forget the name now with a fruit similar to the cocoa plant and much more to remeber- Iincluding the infamous sloths ! We also were taken to the spot where you are on the silt spit and are between the canals and the Caribbean Sea- it started to rain and the walk along the black sand of the Caribbean sea was wonderful- no stalls, no shops along the beach just the green foliage trailing along the sand and almost into the water- very atmospheric and very very natural. Our guide told us about the turtels who lay their eggs in that sand when it is their season which was informative. Lots of small dogs which seem to be looked after but despite all this ecology and saving of wild creatures the locals seem to be really dim when it comes to their own pets- if a dog becomes too large they simply abandon it- I couldn't believe it- there were two such LOVELY canines one a husky another gorgeous blue eyed black and white romping together along the sands and in the rollers- at least they had each other for company and friendship- which is more than can be said for the local people. This was the case in all the other areas we visited- so much so that at the end- in hotel number 9 we found that an American group of women had rescued the local dogs, had them neutered and had them looked after...just seems to be so strange when we visit the country because it is meant to be so animal friendly and ecologically aware...maybe its just for the tourist trade ?? We declined going on the organised hike in wellington boots- neither of us could get a pair to fit comfortably- they were cumbersome and ill fitting and I wasn't prepared to risk sores and blisters for the rest of our holiday as we had a fair amopunt of walking ahead of us planned- also who knows what sort of bugs and bacteria are harboured with all those people using them?- particularly in such humid conditions.We learned from those who did venture that they didn't see anything in particular and that they felt there was more wildlife to see at the lodge itself as opposed to the place they walked through mud next door. We had breakfast at 07.00 ,lunch at 13.00 and evening meal at 19.00pm which was fine- there was plenty to choose from and all buffet style which I am not a fan of but it didn't upset my digestive system.Fish, beef, chicken,plenty of red beans and rice- even for breakfast as that is the staple Costa Rican diet, lots of vegetables and fruits- very sweet as they are ripened naturally. We'd seen the Chicita and Del Monte banana plantations on the way over the mountains to reach Tortuguero from San Jose- I never realisedjust how much plantations there are in this country...pineapples, mango groves, sugar cane, banana, papaya, melon fields- next time you are in the supermarket look to see where your fruit has come from- we've seen the large road trains and containers of banana and pineapples. I particularly enjoyed the fish and salad dishes at this lodge - and the cakes were delic'. My husband celebrated his 63rd birthday whilst we were there and they baked a fabulously moist chocolate cake which I thought was very nice of them and the whole dining are sang Happy Birthday to him- lovely. There is a small swimming pool which again is ample as you are there to see the wildlife more than stay in the hotel. We brought a kettle which we always do- and that was a good idea as no tea/coffee makers in the rooms- but there is a coffee area serving hot drinks next to Reception area. In all this isn't the Hilton but you are there to commune with Nature- which you do- it reminded me a bit of some of the lodges you stay at on safari in Kenya- you are well looked after and cannot really want for any more. Pachira is one of several lodges in the area and we would recommend you stay here to connect with the local wilderness and wildlife. The staff are very friendly- Maria was our room maid and despite us not speaking much Spanish we managed to communicate ok, everyone in Reception was kind- and helped us sort out vouchers which were needed for the tours we'd booked and any other queries we had. It is a large complex- hidden by all the foliage and it doesn't need any frills- that would probably detract from the ambiance ands atmosphere of the place.Very lovely introduction to the tour that lay ahead. Thank you to the staff and to our guide who was most informative- wish we'd seen the jaguars but best that they remain elusive. MY tip to you would be this- just savour the area- you can see an awful lot for yourself just walking about- stop andwait- and see what occurs- you'd be surprised what will come up to you if you have the ability to stop, look and listen...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Pachira Lodge was a jungle paradise composed of elevated bungalows and a huge property. To get there, you have to take a boat - there are no roads - with your luggage at Guapiles along a series of canals until you reach this hotel. There are 4 plex bungalows and single bungalows and each is camouflaged by incredibly beautiful plants and trees along strategic paths, there are many birds and howler monkeys always eager to awake you at 4:30 in the morning. It is peaceful and not for those folks wanting to party all night. While you are there, everything is included, food, boat tours on the canals with an experienced guide and hikes in the jungle. The hike area can be quite wet and the hotel provides rubber boots but bring insect repellent. I highly recommend taking these free tours as the guides will point out many different species of reptiles and birds that as visitors we would never see on our own. As there is no air conditioning, the rooms have screens only. No TV but free WIFI at the reception area. I wasn't crazy about the food but I am extremely picky and no one else seemed to have a problem with the meals. All in all, a very nice rustic stay!

Room Tip: All of the rooms looked beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherrywyse57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

The wood cabins of Pachira Lodge are conveniently situated in groups of four in the Totuguera National Park. The cabins are clean, but basic and each has two double beds. There is no TV, fridge or coffee making facilities in the rooms, but free WiFi and coffee are available at reception. All meals are taken buffet style and the food was good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fleckney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

I stayed here for a few nights while touring costa rica. nice pool area with a bar serving plenty of different drinks. rooms were spacious and clean. staff were friendly and knowledgeable. lovely comfy beds. all in all a good stay

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We spent two nights here in March and loved it. The only approach is by boat, an interesting hour and a half from Cano Blanco up the rivers and canal parallel to the coast. We were welcomed with a cocktail beside the pool and immediately felt at home. The staff were polite, friendly and helpful throughout our stay. We had booked a forest walk (with rubber boots supplied by the hotel) and a boat trip around the edge of the National Park, both of which were fascinating; without the very knowledgeable guide we would have missed so much. We were also taken to Tortuguero town across the canal, and visited the turtle beach (no turtles, wrong time of year).The cabin style rooms were spacious, and well ventilated with flyscreens in windows and overhead fans, so didn't need air conditioning; the well-planted and flower decked gardens around the cabins blended in well with the surrounding rainforest, and were regularly visited by birds, monkeys and other wildlife. Food was buffet style with a good choice in a spacious and airy dining room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I spent two nights at Pachira lodge at the beginning of a two weeks trip in Costa Rica and this was one of the places that we liked the most. The lodge is immersed in the nature and totally Eco-friendly. We were awaken in the morning by howler monkeys and spotted countless animals and birds throughout the day. Tours were excellent and included in the package (thanks to our guide Oliver for being a wonderful host). Kayaking or cruising through the canals is an experience I recommend to all CR visitors.
Meals are all buffet and can be a bit crowded with big groups, this somehow spoiled the rest of the atmosphere but I still recommend the place.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SL444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
1.7 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,059 reviews
1.0 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 8 in Tortuguero
479 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#1 of 35 in Tortuguero
690 reviews
1.0 mi away
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
#2 of 35 in Tortuguero
852 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 35 in Tortuguero
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pachira Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pachira Lodge

Property: Pachira Lodge
Address: Across The Main Canal, Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pachira Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is strategically located only 5 minutes away from the extraordinary Tortuguero National Park, and right across the main "canal" facing the town of Tortuguero. Surrounded by a network of very scenic canals, this is considered one of the most exotic regions of the world, characterized by its rich in flora and fauna. Strategically located. 88 comfortable guest rooms. 14 hectares (34 acres). 5 minutes from Tortuguero National Park main entrance. Stay at one of our comfortable rooms with private bathroom, hot water and ceiling fans. Enjoy all our buffet-style meals that are included. Let's cheers with our wine when for dinner. Be our guest at our bar and enjoy our excelent service. Let us show you this paradise with our bilingual tour guides, during the entire trip. Take advantage of our daily departures from San José, with no minimum of passengers required. Travel safety as we get you around comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Otel, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pachira Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pachira Hotel Tortuguero
Pachira Lodge Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing