We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic yet cozy jungle lodge”
Review of Pachira Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pachira Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rustic yet cozy jungle lodge”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

recently a friend and I stayed at the pachira lodge in tortuguero.

getting there was an adventure. enroute to the lodge we stopped for lunch, and spotted two sloths kicking back on a tree. that was cool. then we sped along the river by boat to the lodge. best to keep camera eguipment in a bag, as a few drops of water danced across my lens.

the hotel itself is rustic yet cozy, and situated right on the canal. the staff was attentive and served us welcome drinks upon arrival. the rooms do not have air conditioning, but was told that is the norm for the area. a light breeze and the deck adjacent to the room helped so the heat was not an issue. I enjoyed the buffet menu, although I am selective when it comes to deserts. the second day in the we woke up before sunrise and went on a tour through the canals, and saw many types of birds, iguanas, and crocs. all in all had a great time, although I want to go back sometime when the turtles are nesting.

Room Tip: I liked the rooms on the west side of the property where the outer decks have a very private view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roberpa_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    562
    178
    45
    17
See reviews for
258
596
51
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We are happy we saw the whole area but the lodge that is situated in the middle of it all and therefore has the perfect location is very very basic . A cabin in the forest with the minimum facilities and almost in edible food . We stayed only one night so as to enjoy the river drive and leave

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DafnaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

As part of the Caravan.com tour of Costa Rica, we spent two nights and days at this hotel and touring the area including the Turtle centre. The hotel and food was very good, one hint, the rooms have no air-conditioning, the climate is hot and humid so be warned.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but have corrugated iron roofs, so when the rains fall, it is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryrdBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Instead of repeating what's in the many reviews of this place, here are some tips on how to survive your stay at Pachira Lodge. It's well worth putting up with the primitive conditions to see some of the most amazing wildlife you'll see anywhere -- and that's just while walking from your cabin to the dining hall. (E.g. our last morning we saw a half dozen howler monkeys swinging from the trees and eating breakfast.) Here's some advice:
1. If you are on one of the 2-day tours and are making a round-trip from the same place, such as San José, pack as lightly as possible. Leave your big suitcase back in civilization. It will greatly simplify the bus and boat ride to get here.
2. Wear light-colored, loose, baggy clothing. The humidity and heat will make tight clothing stick to your skin.
3. Water, salt, Gatorade (optional). You have to keep yourself hydrated, but make sure your electrolytes stay balanced. The first day there I drank tons of water, but thanks to my usual low-sodium diet, I depleted my salt levels too much. After eating some salt and drinking some Gatorade I was OK.
4. Sunscreen, sunscreen and more sunscreen. Every hour or two, minimum.
5. Wet your head often, especially when trying to go to sleep. The ceiling fan will more rapidly cool a wet head.
6. Use Deet or Picaridin bug spray when needed, especially in the jungle.
7. To try to keep bugs out of our room, at night we would turn the lights out when opening and closing the door.
8. To try to keep bugs out of our suitcase, we kept it zipped shut whenever we weren't using it.
9. If there are geckos or spiders in your room, they are your friends. They eat the bugs.
10. Bring tons of ziplock bags of all sizes. You'll need them for lots of things -- e.g., we put our wallets and cellphones in baggies to keep them dry when we went on the boat safaris, and during thundershowers.
11. Bring your own shampoo and conditioner. Don't bother bringing a hair dryer, the last thing you'll want to do here is dry a wet head.
12. If you have them, waterproof cameras and binoculars will make your life easier.
13. Absolutely get up at 5am to go on the 6am boat safari. The early morning wildlife will make it well worth it. If you can, go on a mid/late afternoon boat safari also.
14. We went on the jungle walk tour with 20 other people -- the big group scared away a lot of the wildlife. The two of us went on the same walk by ourselves an hour later, and saw many more creatures, such as a snake eating a frog.
15. On the jungle walk you will either need to wear your own hiking boots (if so, snow seal them before leaving home), or wear the lodge's ample assortment of rubber boots. If you wear the lodge's boots, I suggest bringing two pairs of old socks that you don't mind throwing away, and some anti-fungal cream for your feet afterwards.
16. Despite the remote location, there is truly excellent Wi-Fi in the reception area.
Enjoy the wildlife! In addition to howler monkeys and snakes, we saw tons of birds, crabs, crocodiles, caymans, iguanas, sloths, frogs, bats, and a turtle.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank MenloMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Ont.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on our tour, which was long enough to enjoy the area. Our room was large, with comfortable beds, and screened windows, which allowed the air to flow through and the Howler Monkeys to begin their chorus at 5.00AM each morning. We saw lots of iguanas and a snake on the property which was rich with lovely flowers and vegetation. There was a large pool and small bar right at water's edge. There was not much selection at the buffet breakfast and dinner. We had a guided tour of the canals and local town, but since we were travelling on our own and not in a large group, we were included in a tour with very few English speaking people. Our guide was very passionate and knowledgeable, but spent far more time speaking Spanish and seemed to give us less information.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

You have to bear in mind that there are very few hotels in the Tortuguero National Park so there's little choice and all seem to be very busy. It's full board because you can't just nip down the road to a restaurant. There's a village across the river but for the brief time you'll be staying here it's not worth trying them out.

Our room was large with a veranda at the back. The gardens are well maintained and the staff very friendly. The food is a bit of a mad scramble and you'd be wise to arrive 10 minutes before they tell you to. If you think you can drop by after an hour you'll find that there's little left. The seating arrangements for groups was changed from day to day which was a bit confusing. While we were traveling on our own we have inevitably been put into a 'group' by the tour operator.

There's little to do in the hotel but you'll be there for the park tour anyway. Decent wi-fi at reception.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be very similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This hotel is right in the middle of the rain forest. The rooms are simple but clean and the beds are very comfortable. The food was excellent and the hotel grounds are well kept. Just walking the grounds is nature at its best. We were there as part of our Caravan Tour.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmne16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
1.7 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,040 reviews
1.1 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 8 in Tortuguero
471 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#1 of 33 in Tortuguero
671 reviews
1.0 mi away
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
#2 of 33 in Tortuguero
833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 33 in Tortuguero
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pachira Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pachira Lodge

Property: Pachira Lodge
Address: across the main canal, Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pachira Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pachira Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pachira Hotel Tortuguero
Pachira Lodge Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing