We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh my god!”

Tortuguero National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$157.00*
and up
Zipline and Tortuguero Canal Tour from Limon
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Tortuguero
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This park contains 11 different ecological habitats and is a sanctuary for nesting sea turtles. Situated on the Northern Caribbean side of Costa Rica, in the province of Limon, it is approximately 90 miles northeast of the capital city of San José. Accessible only by air or water, Tortuguero is the most important nesting site in the entire western half of the Caribbean for the green turtle. It is known as “Tico Amazon” (Costa Rican Amazon) due to the fact that in Tortuguero there are no roads; the principle means of transportation being the dozens of fresh water canals throughout the park.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
380 reviews
232 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Oh my god!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

What a place... i just finished the second of two boat trips and had to write this review right away to stand any chance of remembering all the species we saw. to start with you can expect the chance to maybe see everything we did:

Great green macaws
various egrets, cormorants & herons
king fishers
swallows
brown pelicans
osprey
black vultures
frigate birds
Red lored amazons
fly catchers
green iguans (bundles of them)
Green basilisks
black river turtles
caiman
vine snakes
anoles
ameivas
geckos
Huge beetles
orb web spiders
howler monkeys
spider monkeys
capuchins
and so much more!

I recommend two boat trips a couple of hours apart and take a good guide who can speak your language. you can do paddle tours but to cover the ground required to see a lot, splash out on a motor boat tour!

To finish it off we went to the air strip and visited the beach behind this. we went at around 4:00pm and had the chance to see green sea turtle babies come out of their nest and make a break for thd ocean! MAGICAL!!!!! But remember this is a protected species so dont touch them or get in their way... just enjoy this natural wonder!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank G3ck0-Trav3ll3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,599
    506
    109
    49
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“I saw a stick insect about a foot long”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

The guide spoke some English and found the stick insect. It took me a minute to even see it. Very cool.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank john_lP6010DU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
256 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“An excellent eco experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We traveled to Costa Rica with Caravan Tours, and enjoyed an excellent vacation. Two nights were spent in Tortuguero National Park. The local guides are excellent and showed a true enthusiasm for their natural resources and the creatures of nature. As we traveled by boat to reach the park, our guide or driver would suddenly point out a basilisk lizard, or a bird on the shore that we would have missed. We took the park guided tour at night to see turtles laying their eggs on the shore, and then took a dawn walk and saw baby turtles heading to the sea! We also saw Howler, Spider and Chapuchin monkeys, with excellent photo opportunities. It was a trip to remember!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Jungle Cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

The river boat ride through the canals was awesome. It was amazing to see so much diversity in wildlife- rare potoos, egrets, ibis, cormorants, caiman and assorted basilisks. It was even more amazing to see our guides spot wildlife that would have otherwise been overlooked- they have amazing talent! One of my favorite animals were the nesting bats on the trunk of a tree- very cute! It was also interesting to see a Canadian observatory in the middle of the jungle- what a nice reminder of home. This is an absolute "bucket list" must see!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leachelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda-a-Velha, Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Turtles, but not just”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Tortuguero in Costa Rica is a very interesting place for several reasons:
- the canals where you can navigate and see many different animals, from caimans to many birds and mammals
- the turtles, of course, and you can even see them laying there eggs and preparing the nests
- and you can visit also at dusk to see a completely different set of animals, such as frogs

Definitely, a place to visit in Costa Rica - a must. And even while your staying at your hotel you will have the chance to see some interesting animals, such as iguanas and birds.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortuguero National Park also viewed

Tortuguero, Province of Limon
Tortuguero, Province of Limon
 

Been to Tortuguero National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing