We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No guide needed”

Tortuguero National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$107.99*
and up
Tortuguero National Park
More Info
$57.00*
and up
Shore Excursion: Limon Highlights Tour
More Info
$157.00*
and up
Zipline and Tortuguero Canal Tour from Limon
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Tortuguero
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This park contains 11 different ecological habitats and is a sanctuary for nesting sea turtles. Situated on the Northern Caribbean side of Costa Rica, in the province of Limon, it is approximately 90 miles northeast of the capital city of San José. Accessible only by air or water, Tortuguero is the most important nesting site in the entire western half of the Caribbean for the green turtle. It is known as “Tico Amazon” (Costa Rican Amazon) due to the fact that in Tortuguero there are no roads; the principle means of transportation being the dozens of fresh water canals throughout the park.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No guide needed”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We went by ourselves - spent 2 hrs in there - found snake, sloth, moneys+++, armadillo, Bairds trogan, spiders+++ etc etc etc
Had to wear wellington boots which we hired for $1 a pair.
Good experince - more likely to see animals here than Monteverde

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank DocMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,660
    524
    109
    50
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A Rainforest Reserve.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We went into the National Park by boat, down wide canals. All the excitement of nature-watching is here. We saw howler monkeys, spider monkeys, white-throated Capuchins, caymans basking on log piles or submerged in the silty shallows of the water banks, spiders galore in their filmy webs a tree snake looking for all the world like a length of vine, fishing cormorants drying their wings in the sun as they don't have waterproof feathers, kingfishers, egrets, Northern Jacanas with chicks and the ever-present iguanas. The sea shore where the great turtles come to lay their eggs is controlled by the National Park and we had the joy and fascination of watching a turtle deposit her white, golf ball eggs into the huge sand scoop she had dug and then, with infinite care, pack them round with the warm, damp sand to hatch. I had never thought that we would be able to get so close to such a wild creature without disturbing it and to watch the magic of life happening!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Worthy of being called The Little Amazon!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Awesome early morning canoe tour (go by canoe or kayak as you an get into areas larger, motorized, can't) and it is quiet so don't scare wildlife off. Saw so much wildlife (green macaws, families of spider monkeys, howler monkeys, turtles, Jesus Christ lizards, caimans, tons of birds, iguanas, and more). Go with a reputable guide that respects the rules if the park. El Icaco's guides were great and did this. Had same guide for turtle night tour as they laid eggs on beach.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 154913Love2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing widlife viewing in watery national park”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Wide variety of wiildlife easily seen in comfort from a boat. Beauiful reflections in the water in quiet side channels.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magical Experience!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Well run excursion--they worked hard to ensure that we saw turtles nesting on our hike. Our tour met our guide at 10p.m. and didn't return to our lodge until after 12:30 a.m. (we had a 30 minute boat ride home), but even so, the experience was so amazing, that we are glad we went! We saw two turtle comes up onto the beach, one returning, one actively laying eggs (how cool!), and one covering her nest. We felt very lucky:)

The only suggestion I'd have is to have a second guide with the group (or to provide one of the participants) with a red light headlamp to follow the group. With the guide at the very front with the red light, it was impossible for anyone more than 5 feet behind him to see the terrain of the beach. Having someone with an approved light at the end would help those walking in the middle/end of the group walk more safely.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortuguero National Park also viewed

Tortuguero, Province of Limon
Tortuguero, Province of Limon
 

Been to Tortuguero National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing