We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mawamba Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$188
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$110
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Miss Miriam 2(Tortuguero)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
La Baula Lodge(Tortuguero)
$90
$79
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Suerre(Guapiles)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Bambu(Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui)
$96
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manatus Hotel(Tortuguero)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,204)
Filter reviews
1,204 results
Traveler rating
494
519
129
34
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
494
519
129
34
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan joseana mariacosta ricafrog housebutterfly enclosurethe riverearly morningceiling fanhot waternight walkcaribbean seabuffet styleboat ridetwo nightslocal villageour tour guidenight tour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
357 - 362 of 1,204 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This lodge is rustic to be sure. The beds are uncomfortable - nothing but springs. There is very little privacy - no way to cover the windows without closing the shutters and cutting off the little bit of air blowing into the hot space. It was very hot and humid. We took lots of showers to cool off but our towels would't dry. The food was just okay. For the good part - the grounds were beautiful. You are right on the ocean and close to town. The canal trips through the rainforest are wonderful and we saw lots of wildlife. We had a great guide - Anna.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank redbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed here over Easter week in April with two kids. We were worried about it as it was such a long trip... Bus ride, boat ride... But in fact the getting there was half the fun and even the kids, who are not great travelers, loved it. The hotel arranges everything, picking you up in San Jose, taking a bus ride through very scenic roads and then the boat. Tortuguero is gorgeous.. Canals, mangroves, jungle, with monkeys, birds, caimans. Very relaxing boat rides in the canal. The cabins are rustic but very comfortable, and you really feel remote.. At night you hear the sounds of the jungle and the waves crashing. On our balcony we saw fords and in the grounds, lizards, iguanas, snakes. Kids were in heaven! Our tour guide was really nice and went out of her way, her name was Cynthia.

All in all a unique memory and would definitely recommend this if you are looking to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvnicehotels2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

My second trip to Tortuguero, my sister's first, we loved our stay at the Mawamba Lodge! Nice grounds, simple rooms, open air eating buffet style. I especially like the fact that we are so close to nature, canal on one side , ocean on the other, and OH, the iguanas! Love the Iguanas on the grounds! A very special place.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Cheryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed here for two nights and had a great time. We've travelled a lot but this place is remote and really unique. Mawamba Lodge is superbly located - easy to walk into Torteguero along the beach or take a trip on the canal. The grounds and swimming pool area are lovely. We thought the cabins were a bit spartan at first but actually they are very clean and have all of the essentials. Wildlife trips on the canal were great and there's lots to do for a 2 day stay.

Our only small negative would be the food and evenings. Self service dinner was functional rather than something to be savoured and there was no real communal area to congregate, reflect on the day and chill out other than the poolside bar which uses plastic glasses. Given the early starts we weren't expecting anything amazing but a cozy bar area with comfy chairs and real glasses would have been nice to finish the day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeH98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The Mawamba Lodge is set what feels like, a long way from civilisation. The riverboat journey in, was an experience in its self with the pilot stopping to view wildlife (mainly monkeys) on the way in.
The huts are basic but adequate for a couple of days. Don't expect much privacy. It felt like I was back at school on a field trip. Food is dished out with hardly any choice for all meals. Go on the 5.30am boat trip to see the most wildlife. Frank is very knowledgeable on the wildlife and geography of the region.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scollins240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews