We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So organised!”
Review of Mawamba Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mawamba Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Perfect organisation, good food, wonderful tours, outstanding location (one entrance the beach, other entrance the canals), very well maintained gardens.
The rooms are basic, loved the feeling of simplicity, not spotless but clean enough, though
not privacy at all (you can hear even a move) and not hot water.
So dont go there if you dont like the organised places, if you are on honeymoon or your kids are crying all day or if you expect luxury standards.The high prices dont have to do with luxury but the overall perfect organisation in a remote, beautiful area.
Me and my family, we would visit again this wonderful place in a minute.Thank you Mawamba! (Special thanks to out smiley guide, Steven).




























not hot water and not privacy at all (

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xristina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 325 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

Wonderful manager, wonderful grounds, wonderful location, good food. But room was like a mini dorm with 4 single beds filling the space. A double bed and a chair would have been more comfortable, unless 4 friends were traveling together. So I overall loved it but didn't sleep well.

Room Tip: Didn't see interior of other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sillygranma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The lodge offered more than we expected. Having stayed in riverside lodges in other countries we were expecting basic accommodation. The rooms were just as we expected, basic but clean and comfortable.You can relax outside you room in either a rocking chair or a hammock. However the rest of Mawamba Lodge exceeded our expectations, sitting by the swimming pool you could have been in a four star hotel. The food in the restaurant was of good quality, buffet style meals with a good range of food on offer including typical Costa Rican rice and beans. The lodge has extensive grounds a very pleasant place to stroll around, there is a butterfly farm and a frog enclosure though the latter proved rather elusive. Within an hour of arriving we saw a large iguana strolling through the grounds close to our room.

The lodge is situated on a strip of land between the river on one side and the Caribbean Sea on the other. It is a short walking distance from the small village of Tortuguero. The lodge is only accessible by boat though there is small airstrip close by. We travelled to Mawamba by boat along a series of natural canals a journey of about one and a half hours. For your own convenience you need to take the minimum of luggage as you have to handle it yourself.

We stayed two nights at the lodge as part of a tour of Costa Rica, although we would have liked to stayed longer. Whilst there we took a boat trip through the local canals and were rewarded by the sight of a wide range of wild life.

Room Tip: We had a basic room although there are also some more higher quality rooms available what we had was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The lodge was as expected basic but clean with hot showers, there was electric all of the day. Our room had two single and one double bed the rooms the chalet was cleaned every day, there was an electric fan which help cool you down. The lodge is positioned 100mtrs from the Caribbean sea on one side and the Natural canal 100mtrs on the other, with the sound of the waves. Tortuguerro is about a 20 mins walk if you want a walk into town to watch the sun set at one of the local bars and grab a beer. The normal visits to Mawamba are planned for two nights with a Guide being allocated on the journey to the lodge with trips being, geared for two night. The fact that we had three nights was no issue we were offered more trips and joined other peoples parties, the morning that we left we did the 6 oclock boat trip before we left. There is a minimum of a 1 hr flat bottomed boat trip through the canals as this is the onlky way in and out, be prepared to carry your case onto and off the boat, and keep your camera out, Camen and wild life from the start. The grounds are full of wild life it has its own Butterfly farm and Frog nets and although being taken on the official tour of the grounds, we repeated it on our own there was so much to see Iguanas, Sloaths lizards and frogs, a walk in the jungle earley in the morning or late at night is a must. Make sure you are covered with cloths an bugs spray lots of Bitey things. The geology of the area is facinating with natural canals with boat trips, each trip could be different, with different wild life and if your lucky three types of monkey, ant eaters, snakes we saw about 20 species of Birds. Food is typical Costa Rica, of good quality. Every one sitts down at the same time, basic food three courses buffet style with enough variety to cover all diets, at lunch and dinner, the waiters and waitreses seemed to really enjoy their work and offered great service. Breakfast is normal Typical Costa Rica with loads of fresh fruit, plantanes and omlets AND RICE and BEANs. A good bar and swiming pool.

Room Tip: Do not leave food in rooms Ants love to find it, and they sting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken_shaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I can't recommend this place enough. I had a wonderful time there. It is such a lovely lodge in one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen.

The lodge is close to the village, within walking distance.

The rooms don't have tv or phone but in that location, this actually fits. It's just another world. The rooms are pretty and clean and have porch including hammock and rocking chair. The food is good and staff extremely friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swissmiss82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Our guide Steven Weston was absolutely brilliant, so knowledgeable and able to answer all questions. We had a wonderful boat trip with him, a night walk,another boat trip to the village and a very thorough and interesting tour of the lodge grounds. The lodge we stayed in was as expected, pretty basic but very pleasant. Waking up to the bird song was great. All the staff were polite and helpful and I would recommend Mawamba lodge to anyone wanting to see a rain forest and some of its inhabitants!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AnneD5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed at the Mawamba lodge for 2 nights in February. The shuttle from San Jose was prompt, the staff were friendly, our food was very good and the area and grounds were spectacular. There was a lot of wildlife in the area, both on the hotel grounds and during the boat tours. We opted for the night jungle tour on the first night and it didn't disappoint!! Our guide for 3 days was Edgar, he was amazing. HIs knowledge and enthusiam made the trip even better. A note to families travelling with children: the lodge has set meal times, sometimes the dinners are not until 7:30 pm, make sure to bring in some snacks for the kids!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apothic23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
1.6 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,107 reviews
1.0 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 8 in Tortuguero
497 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Paradise Eco-Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
270 reviews
0.7 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#2 of 34 in Tortuguero
730 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pachira Lodge
Pachira Lodge
#4 of 34 in Tortuguero
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mawamba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mawamba Lodge

Address: Tortuguero Canals, Tortuguero 10980-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Tortuguero
Price Range: $277 - $576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mawamba Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heartland of the lush rainforest of Tortuguero Canals, Costa Rica, Mawamba Lodge and Tortuguero National Park are worth visiting year round. What makes us different? *Unbeatable location on a strip of land between the Tortuguero Canals and the Caribbean Ocean, providing direct access to both * The closest Lodge to Tortuguero town within walking distance (no need to take boats to town) * Free WI FI in selected areas of the hotel * Complimentary safety deposit box in your room * Unlimited free visits to our MAWAMBA PARK: where we offer two butterfly gardens, one iguana and one frog garden. A guided visit is also included in our 3 day / 2 night package * Private nature trais for nature walks * Exciting optional tours including night walks in the forest, kayaking, fishing and the NEW! Katonga floating restaurant for sunset tours or dinners / lunches on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mawamba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mawamba Lodge Tortuguero Hotel Tortuguero
Mawamba Lodge Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing