We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel average, surroundings fantastic!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mawamba Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mawamba Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Monterrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hotel average, surroundings fantastic!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here with our two young children and had a great time. Our guide Steven was fantastic and very knowledgable. He made this stay a great success! We saw a lot of animals and enjoyed the fantastic nature surroundings. The tours that are offered are a lot of fun, but they are overpriced. Our kids (4 and 6) paid the full price for everything. We did the night tour in the rainforest. Steven did a great job, but the hotel should never allow that many people in one group. We could not hear anything he told us, because we were the last people in a line of 25-30 people walking through the forest. The hotel is basic, the food average - but that did not bother us at all since we did not expect great food in such a remote location. Pool is great, beach is fantastic (even though you can't swim). The hotel manager is kind of rude, the service staff not very friendly (apart from one barkeeper). The managers only interest seems to be to squeeze out as much money of every single tourist as possible. The turtle tour at night is a must - what a great experience. All in all, I would recommend Tortuguero (not necessarily Mawamba lodge though) - but don't expect luxury.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I_love_vacations_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    432
    113
    31
    25
See reviews for
207
505
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Wonderful scenery
It’s a nice eco-loge; you can’t find what you dream about there, but for a loge in such a remote area and applying lots of environment program and animal protection – it’s a very good.
The management is present, staff is friendly. The boat trip on the jungle is out of the world.
My recommendation: The bath rooms needs to be renovated.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aladin20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel was personally recommended to me by my trip planner, my husband and I paid an extra fee to stay here because of the extra transportation cost. We were quite disappointed by our stay though for a number of reasons. We went in August and it was extremely hot and very very humid on the river, which of course is not the fault of the lodge but the boat ride felt like it took forever in the heat. I hated the transfer point where you get into the boats that take you to the hotel. It was muddy and there were people everywhere, they make you pay to use the bathroom and it cost $6 USD for a mini can of Pringles! What a rip off. I felt like a member of a herd of cattle being herded down the hill onto the boat, I sat in the back and took notice of a man in the back of the boat literally bailing water out with a half of a milk carton. Not very trust inspiring there.

When we finally got to the lodge it was very nice, the manager met us on the dock with welcome drinks and told us he'd upgraded our room because it was our honeymoon. I appreciated that very much! He also told us about the turtle tour at night and kindly offered to put us on the list and let us pay later when we went into town to get some cash as they do not take cards for the turtle tour and have no ATM. We said we'd let him know our decision later and he said that we could go by the reception desk at any time before 4pm and tell them if we wanted to go. We attempted to do so around 1pm but the reception desk was closed for hours with no sign of anyone around so we gave up on this.

After walking around and our long day we were exhausted and sweaty and went straight to the room to try to cool off and put our things down. The room was nice and clean, they have nice hammocks outside overlooking the river and wildlife everywhere including iguanas that will walk right by you. It was even hotter inside the room than it was outside, even with the windows open but the bathroom had a HUGE tub and a nice looking shower that we were looking forward to using later. We decided to get some lunch and try out the pool to stay cool. This is an all inclusive resort and the food was nothing short of awful. It made my husband and I sick and it was very bland. In the morning the eggs were the same way and for dinner they served pasta and it was the same. I couldn't believe they could screw up eggs! We were glad we'd brought our Immodium.

The pool was lovely, it was our favorite part of this resort. The grounds were also beautiful and there is a black sand beach steps away that is breathtaking. If you stand around at the bar until someone who works there notices you (there is no bartender) the drinks are very delicious as well and reasonably priced. We got complimentary honeymoon drinks which was a very nice touch!

After our disappointing dinner we headed back to the room ready to take a hot bubbly bath. The water was freezing cold and the tub leaked so that was short lived. We were woken up in the morning by the sound of chainsaws at 7:30 and decided to take a shower, which was also freezing cold. I understand that in places like this you can't always have all of the "comforts" but we stayed in four hotels during our weeklong trip to CR and this was by far our least favorite. We were more than ready to get in that boat and get out of there!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hollie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here in July 2013 and, despite the rains, we couldn't have asked for a better introduction to costa rica! The lodge itself is beautiful, well managed with great foo and rooms. The staff are extremely friendly and the guides were really excellent. All of the excursions and tours were well organised to ensure you can make the most of the weather and surroundings. Despite it's large size the lodge gives off a nice family feel making you feel welcome and comfortable. The sea turtle nesting trip was amazing and very well run too! Would definitely recommend a stay here if visiting the Tortuguero area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mop22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We arrived at Mawamba Lodge in torrential rain, heavy apparently even by their standards. However, though sadly it limited the opportunities we had to explore, it didn't alter the quality of what the lodge offers. Our 'room' was idyllic, comfortable and huge, and clearly a source of pride to the staff. Sleep quality was only disturbed by nature - rain hammering on the roof followed by the sounds of animals waking in the morning - there is mesh rather than glass in the windows - but I wouldn't have had it any other way. The food was 'surprisingly' good - as vegetarians we dread buffets, but there was plenty of choice and it was good, wholesome cooking. Although there were lots of groups there, the planning and organisation by the staff meant that it never felt anonymous.

We were unable to do either the twilight walk (walkways damaged by flood-water) or the early morning boat trip (violent storms) - got up ready to go out at 5am, and by 6 went back to bed! However, staff explained everything fully and we were in no doubt the decisions were justified. We had an extra-long boat trip when the weather relented. Inevitably, one highlight was the night viewing of nesting turtles. This was so atmospheric and memorable, possibly enhanced by yet another violent storm which a few turtles braved. We were so moved by the experience, huddled together crouched on the sand watching the eggs drop into the nest with the sound of the wind, the waves, the rain and the thunder in complete darkness except when lightning brought a version of daylight.

We would like to give a special mention to our guide for the three days, Ed, who doesn't work full time for Mawamba, but was knowledgable, committed, interesting and dedicated. He hunted out opportunities for us to see as much wildlife as possible, and came hurtling down to our room as he had spotted a sloth in a tree he wanted us to see.

All in all, a wonderful start to our first trip to Costa Rica - thank you!

Room Tip: Any - they all seem to face the water and have a hammock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flo-josh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We spent 3 nights in room 37 in Tortuguero. Close to the beach, so that we woke up every morning because of the sound of the waves. We saw the turtles laying eggs, beautifull! We lost a phone unfortunately, but for the rest was it great!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Litania V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nossegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Ideal location to discover the Tortuguero River, which looks like a miniature Amazone. We were very pleased with our stay. Good food, although appetizers and breakfast do not offer big choice. Great offer of tours, especially the Turtle Nighttour. We saw 3 giant Green Turtles coming on the beach to lay their eggs. The nighttours are very well organized and ensure that these giant turtles are not disturbed by big loads of tourists.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GerritL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
1.7 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 9 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.9 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#1 of 35 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
#2 of 35 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pachira Lodge
Pachira Lodge
#4 of 35 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mawamba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mawamba Lodge

Property: Mawamba Lodge
Address: Tortuguero Canals, Tortuguero 10980-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mawamba Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heartland of the lush rainforest of Tortuguero Canals, Costa Rica, Mawamba Lodge and Tortuguero National Park are worth visiting year round. What makes us different? *Unbeatable location on a strip of land between the Tortuguero Canals and the Caribbean Ocean, providing direct access to both * The closest Lodge to Tortuguero town within walking distance (no need to take boats to town) * Free WI FI in selected areas of the hotel * Complimentary safety deposit box in your room * Unlimited free visits to our MAWAMBA PARK: where we offer two butterfly gardens, one iguana and one frog garden. A guided visit is also included in our 3 day / 2 night package * Private nature trais for nature walks * Exciting optional tours including night walks in the forest, kayaking, fishing and the NEW! Katonga floating restaurant for sunset tours or dinners / lunches on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mawamba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mawamba Lodge Tortuguero Hotel Tortuguero
Mawamba Lodge Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing