We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run lodge in great location”
Review of Mawamba Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mawamba Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Manager of this lodge is really on top of things, and this is reflected in the smooth way it runs and the good attitude of the staff. The cabin we were in was somewhat basic but the meals were excellent and the atmosphere also very good. There were other cabins that were rather better, but because we went on an organised tour we do not know whether they were more expensive ones.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akalegall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,087)
There are newer reviews for Mawamba Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

379 - 385 of 1,087 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

Tortuguero Tour

The tour was well organised as expected with Mawamba Lodge carrying this out on a daily basis. The arrival at La Pavona, the dock station was somewhat chaotic with 2 -300 people either arriving or leaving at the same time. Consequently the facilities at this location were inadequate coupled with the refurbishment of the toilet block resulting in major queues. Whist recognising that the river levels were low the docking arrangements are very poor resulting in passengers being expected to carry baggage from the unpaved car park down muddy banks to access the boats. This incidentally was for all lodge companies. Our expectation would have been that “baggage” porters even employed by La Pavona would have made a considerable difference and of course prevented bags from being caked in mud, given that the heavens opened on our return trip.

The Mawamba Lodge accommodation, whist basic, fulfilled our expectations as did the meals and the trips provided. We undertook a night walk which was very enjoyable. Our guide was very informative and accompanied us throughout the trip and we were able to see a lot of the wildlife of Tortuguero. Our return to the Rio Dante restaurant to meet our private transfer company Sarapiqui tours was delayed due to road works affecting the incoming Tortuguero tour bus by an hour. However we were pleased to see the private transfer was waiting and we were allowed sufficient time to have some lunch.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Nice place, ranch-style accommodation that is simple, spacious and comfortable, with large bathrooms. Short on creature comforts, but that’s totally consistent with the eco-ethic here. In fact when we enquired about the strength of the wi-fi in the room, the manager told us it’s deliberately weak, because he doesn’t walk people sitting in their rooms surfing the web and posting emails all day! That’s not what you’ve shlepped all the way to Tortuguero for….quite right too!
Each cabin has a veranda, with hammock and rocking chairs as standard, providing a nice additional touch. Of course things look a little tired and weather beaten in places, but given the rain forest environment and its remoteness, what would you expect?
Its grounds are a revelation, a mini nature reserve hemmed in between the beach on one side, and canal on the other. Plenty of birds, frogs, butterflies, iguanas and amazing botanical species in the grounds – snakes as well we were led to believe, but these are inevitably harder to spot. Alas no turtles when we visited, wrong season. To crown it all, a very decent swimming pool, and bar/restaurant complex.
The hotel is a great base for excursions and tours, but you should be aware that at times these can feel like being part of an old-folks outing, with seemingly hundreds of elderly zombied tourists being ferried around rather aimlessly and without little more than a ‘point ‘n click’ curiosity in their surroundings.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingstonpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent 3 days in the Mawamba Lodge and really enjoyed it. The tours that were included were wonderful as well as the butterfly and frog gardens. Our guide was Steven and he was excellent, We saw lots of monkeys and birds on the river tour. It was a highlight of our 14 day trip in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at Mawamba lodge for 3 days. The location is great, only 15 minutes walk from the main town, lodged between the beach and the main canal. The gardens are very well maintained by a friendly staff, the butterfly & frog gardens are brilliant additions to the hotel, making these elusive animals easy to see and approach.
The rooms are simple yet comfortable, no air conditionning but equiped with very effective ceiling fans. The hamocs in front of each rooms are a great addition, making the place homely and great to relax after the early morning departures.
The pool/bar area is pleasant and well maintained.
Only downside is the food, after visiting the rest of Costa Rica, one cannot help but wonder how such wonderful items can be made to taste so bland. I am very surprised to see some reviews saying that the food is great, the only explanation is that I think that the authors probably haven't tasted the actual Costa Rican cooking...
The visits are well organised however our guide appeared a bit "lazy" in her explanations and didn't seem very happy or passionate about what she was talking about. Luckily enough, the boat captains make up for this lack of enthusiasm! They appear to be the real experts, able to find tiny animals in the most impossible places. If you don't speak spanish, I highly recommend Maurice !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Had a great couple of days at Mawamba Lodge, we loved the Frog & Butterfly gardens and the wonderful bird life. But one of main reasons for visiting this area was to see Macaws and as they are mentioned on the website we were upset to find that it's highly unlikely to see them, we were told it's rare to see even green ones. The rooms are ok but it's certainly not private you can hear everything through the very thin walls, we also had no hot water for our entire stay. We really enjoyed the river boats including the transport to the lodge it was quite an experience and Steven our guide was very knowledgeable. One other thing that would nice there's a shortage of soft comfortable chairs in the bar area, after hours of travelling we craved a nice soft sofa. Overall it was a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are the same which is a log cabin terrace.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAMRUTH176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

After our long trip from Heathrow via Madrid and an overnight in San Jose we made our way to Mwamba Lodge by coach and then boat which is the only means of transport to this lodge. Our guide, Pierro, was with us for the whole two days and was excellent and great fun. We passed banana and pineapple plantations and stopped for a lovely Costa Rican breakfast of rice and beans with plaintains and fried egg, starting of course with the wonderful pineapple and papaya and finishing with the excellent Costa Rican coffee which was a treat wherever we went. Large pink Iguanas greeted us on arrival at the lodge, followed closely by sights of monkeys in the trees. Very friendly greeting, very good accommodation and all meals buffet style which were good. We had booked our trip through Cox and Kings in England, working with the local company, Travel Excellence, who totally lived up to their name as all our connections worked perfectly. This lodge had wonderful gardens and the howler monkeys were our early morning wake up call which we needed as all activities started early. We took an afternoon boat trip into the village and walked back along the Caribbean beach where the sand was coarse and black. No swimming advised here because of the riptides.

Our second day was spent walking around the gardens of the lodge where they had greenhouses of butterflies and frogs and a pond for turtles. Pierro found a Boa Constrictor hiding in the grounds and draped it around himself to show us all. Snake not that impressed though! Afternoon we took the boat to the National Park. Very beautiful and we saw sloths, a myriad of birds, caimans. Again Pierro was very knowledgeable with excellent English. We met up again after the trip to go on a twilight walk. Torches were provided and we saw lots of insects, but more the wonderful sounds that you only hear at night.

We thoroughly enjoyed our two days at this lodge and would recommend it highly as a worthy visit. We took a small plane from here back to San Jose.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nandpfenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
1.6 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,080 reviews
1.0 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 8 in Tortuguero
486 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Paradise Eco-Lodge
0.7 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#1 of 34 in Tortuguero
711 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pachira Lodge
Pachira Lodge
#4 of 34 in Tortuguero
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mawamba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mawamba Lodge

Address: Tortuguero Canals, Tortuguero 10980-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Tortuguero
Price Range: $276 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mawamba Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heartland of the lush rainforest of Tortuguero Canals, Costa Rica, Mawamba Lodge and Tortuguero National Park are worth visiting year round. What makes us different? *Unbeatable location on a strip of land between the Tortuguero Canals and the Caribbean Ocean, providing direct access to both * The closest Lodge to Tortuguero town within walking distance (no need to take boats to town) * Free WI FI in selected areas of the hotel * Complimentary safety deposit box in your room * Unlimited free visits to our MAWAMBA PARK: where we offer two butterfly gardens, one iguana and one frog garden. A guided visit is also included in our 3 day / 2 night package * Private nature trais for nature walks * Exciting optional tours including night walks in the forest, kayaking, fishing and the NEW! Katonga floating restaurant for sunset tours or dinners / lunches on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mawamba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mawamba Lodge Tortuguero Hotel Tortuguero
Mawamba Lodge Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing