We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mawamba Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mawamba Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Dendermonde, België
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Must in Costa Rica”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The only thing we regret about Mawamba is the fact that we only stayed for 2 nights.
The organisation and staff were excellent, our guide Ana Maria was wonderful and passionate.
All the good things you read about Mawamba are true, don't hesitate, this is truly a very nice place, just take an extra day to relax..

Room Tip: ask for the rooms at the end of the park, they are BIG and have an astonishing bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deperre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    442
    115
    32
    26
See reviews for
212
521
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at Mawamba lodge for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this idyllic location. One of only two hotels in the area that have as a front garden the Tortuguero river/canal and at it’s back the Caribbean Ocean. We chose it because of its location hoping to see green turtles hatching as we new the nesting season had just finished. We were with a group of 12 people of mixed nationalities, which was a good size and we all got on well. The tour was for 2 nights fully inclusive of guide, tours, accommodation and food. After two hectic days we were glad that we had booked an extra night when all the group and our guide left so that we could chill. The hotel does rotate its menu every two days as this is usually the amount of time most guest stay. On our third night we would have been quite happy to eat the buffet food again, as it had all been good with plenty of choices but when we arrived at the restaurant they brought out two delicious steaks for us, which we thought was a lovely gesture. We had two boat trips during our stay and also a visit to the local village - all were good and informative. The wildlife was amasing and we saw three types of monkeys, a sloth, jesus christ lizards, snakes, butterflies, three types of frogs, bats as well as lots of birds including herons, toucans and a beautiful slaty-tailed trogan. The grounds had various sanctuaries for wildlife and we saw three types of frogs including the picturesque, Red Leaf Tree Frog. Our guide, Ana was a delight and answered everyone’s questions and made the trip even more memorable. We did have a lot of rain but it did not spoil the trip and on our third night during a heavy thunderstorm I witnessed over a hundred baby turtles clambering for the ocean - a truly memorable event. If you are going to this area then be sure to book this hotel its in the best location and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton FL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Our trip 10 days ago couldn't have been better We knew we were still in the rainy season and that did stop a planned fishing trip but everything else was wonderful. RT transportation from the San Jose area (we were in Alajuela and that was arranged and included), all meals including going and coming with buffet style on the property, were plentiful and good- a great price for all of this. Hope you get Juan Merino as a guide as he knew so much and was most helpful! We were able to see baby turtles and more. Rooms are simple and nice- we weren't expecting the Ritz. No a/c but evenings were cool. There is a safe in every room so don't know why someone woudn't have their wallet in the safe (from another review). Service was excellent from start to finish. I will go back and next time would plan a 3rd night over to get in fishing and kayaking. Loved it!!!

Room Tip: Liked rooms in the teens- #13 was ours- good location- but the nice thing is that this is a small re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flagirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We added a 2-night stay at Mawamba to the tail end of our recent vacation. However, we didn't realize that the weekend we chose was part of a 4-day National holiday, meaning that many, many people also chose to travel to Mawamba at that time. The point of our traveling there was to see the jungle from the view of the canals, and of course, hopefully to spot animal life. However, with about 100 tourists arriving at the same time, and staying for the same few days, it makes sense that the animals would avoid the noise and commotion that so many people create.
The staff were helpful, our guide very expert, the grounds were beautiful, and the food was fine. We commend the staff for their hard work -- they really aim to please.
The room was clean but much more basic than I expected. Smokers in the adjoining room made our stay less pleasant (it is a non-smoking property). We couldn't hear animal life even in the late night due to a bar/club across the canal from Mawamba playing loud music till about 2am! The next morning we planned to participate in an early canal tour scheduled for 6am, but the sky opened up and postponed the trip for a few hours. By that time, we had decided to leave Mawamba and finish our trip at Casa Bella Rita in Santa Ana. I'm sure if we had picked a less busy time to visit, and had not had smokers next door and late night music coming through, and lots of rain, we would have stayed the full 3 days. We recommend Mawamba as an excellent place for families to visit.

Room Tip: All seem about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveling321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ejurado, Director of Sales at Mawamba Lodge, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Traveling321,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your visit to Mawamba Lodge and we appreciate your comments and observations.
From what you write we understand you were there on the past National Holiday, which indeed makes it that Tortuguero, and almost every other area in the country, is quite full with visitors as Costa Ricans along with the tourists who are down here take the time to travel around. Still with that, the number of people that can come inside the Canals is regulated, and the National Park has a maximum carrying capacity that divides the people along the different canals so that not everybody goes to the same place at the same time.
We are surprised to hear that people around you were smoking, all of our rooms are non smoking and we will have to make more efforts to make sure people know and abide to the policy.
We thank you for your visit and about your comments.
Sincerely,
Eugenia Jurado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I went for honeymoon to Costa Rica during 12 days. The first place to visit was Mawamba lodge, during the 2nd stay night my wallet was stolen, it was taken from the room when we were having dinner. I asked for help to the hotel manager, he did not provide any kind of support to me, even worse, I had 17 USD in my room account, we could not leave the hotel because he wanted us to pay that money (they stole my wallet!!). Our first days were terrible because of that... but the worse experience was the staff support, anybody provided help to us even we did not have another way to get money. They dont have a single idea of customer service.

Room Tip: Go to a different place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 46Ivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ejurado, Director of Sales at Mawamba Lodge, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Mr. 46Ivan,
We are very surprised, to say the least, with this review, specially since a year has gone by since the moment you indicate this happened at MAwamba and this is the firs time I ever hear about this. We dont have any report from any customer or from the Lodge, about any wallet being stolen at our Lodge, not at the time you traveled or at any other time in the recent years and when I say recent, I must be talking about more than 5 that I can recall of.
This is very surprising, and we would have suspected that if this happened at Mawamba, you would have filed a report, would have let us contact the police and be able to assist you with this matter. I also say its surprising because we havent had robberies at the Lodge, and all of our rooms have a safety deposit box, where you can put your valuables.
I invite you to write me directly at ejurado@grupomawamba.com and provide me your information about this.
I trust you will understand that what you are saying and stating here is very delicate, and Mawamba will not stand here with this information, as we take much pride of being a Lodge with more than 30 years of presence in Tortuguero, staying in business and keep our good and solid reputation in the market is a labor of love we have been constructing and working very hard for through the years, and we expect to keep it that way. Based on the above, it is extremely important for us that you contact us asap to discuss this situation.
Looking forward to hearing from you as soon as possible.
Eugenia Jurado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Was picked up from the hotel at the exact given time and transported to Mawamba lodge by coach and boat. The staff was incredibly friendly. The rooms were clean and cosy – loved the fact that we could hear all the sounds from the Tropical Forest during the night, but had a great bugfree sleep. Amazing guides who are fantastic at spotting animals. Thoroughly enjoyed the included boat-jungle-trips and the tour to Tortuguero Village. We bought the turtle night tour as well and saw 3 turtles laying eggs at the beach – a really moving experience. Only downside to Mawamba was the fact that we felt a bit conned into taking the night-hike in the forest – we thought it was included but later learned that it had cost us $60/2 people. Guess we should have listened carefully to what was included and what wasn’t ;) Anyway most people stayed at Mawamba for 2 nights, but we can highly recommend to take an extra night as the programme during the first two days is pretty packed and with such beautiful surroundings it would be a shame not to spend a day in the hammock by the river or going for a walk at the beach while you are there. Once again, we give Mawamba Lodge our highest recommendations and if we are going to Costa Rica again, we will make sure to include Mawamba in our plans!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vitting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ejurado, Director of Sales at Mawamba Lodge, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear vitting,
Thank you for your review of Mawamba Lodge. We are so delighted to hear that the experience not only met but exceeded your expectations. About the night tour walk, we are sorry you felt this way, and find this as a hard word to use, as we do everything we can to make sure our visitors now there are optional tours other than the ones included in the package, but we never force anyone to participate. During the bus ride to Tortuguero our tour guides always go over the itinerary and next days' activities. We explain the included tours and also the optional ones, and then, you are free to join or not, one of those. These optional tours include the night walk, the turtle night tour (during season), the kayaking, the fishing and floating restaurant meal/tour services. We have list of these optional tours in reception and around the reception area, where guests come in to sign up if they want to join any of these activities. Nonetheless, your comment is truly important for us and we will look into more ways to make sure our visitors are aware that the optional tours are not included in the packages, so we dont have confusions like this in the future.
Thank you for wonderful comments about the Tortuguero trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were well looked after by Mawamba lodge team from San Jose and back. Food good and children loved choosing their own meal at the pasta station.
Excellent location. We stayed 3 nights so had extra day to revisit the town and butterfly gardens as well as relax by the pool.
Great location for watching the turles and relaxing in a hammock.
Take care in the pool - my husband scraped his back badly on mosaics in there

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
1.6 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 9 in Tortuguero
1,000 reviews
1.0 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 9 in Tortuguero
458 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tortuguero
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#1 of 36 in Tortuguero
631 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
#2 of 36 in Tortuguero
812 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pachira Lodge
Pachira Lodge
#4 of 36 in Tortuguero
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mawamba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mawamba Lodge

Property: Mawamba Lodge
Address: Tortuguero Canals, Tortuguero 10980-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mawamba Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heartland of the lush rainforest of Tortuguero Canals, Costa Rica, Mawamba Lodge and Tortuguero National Park are worth visiting year round. What makes us different? *Unbeatable location on a strip of land between the Tortuguero Canals and the Caribbean Ocean, providing direct access to both * The closest Lodge to Tortuguero town within walking distance (no need to take boats to town) * Free WI FI in selected areas of the hotel * Complimentary safety deposit box in your room * Unlimited free visits to our MAWAMBA PARK: where we offer two butterfly gardens, one iguana and one frog garden. A guided visit is also included in our 3 day / 2 night package * Private nature trais for nature walks * Exciting optional tours including night walks in the forest, kayaking, fishing and the NEW! Katonga floating restaurant for sunset tours or dinners / lunches on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mawamba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mawamba Lodge Tortuguero Hotel Tortuguero
Mawamba Lodge Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing