We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ilan-Ilan Trails & Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Toucan & Tarpon(Tortuguero)
$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$35
$34
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
La Casona(Tortuguero)(Great Value!)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Rana Roja Lodge(Tortuguero)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
La Baula Lodge(Tortuguero)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$444
$431
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Pachira Lodge(Tortuguero)
$430
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Turtle Beach Lodge(Tortuguero)
$412
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveler rating
10
15
6
4
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
15
6
4
12
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 47 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Ilan Ilan was by far the worst hotel experience I ever had. It included:
- rat dung in the bathroom
- a fan so dirty that stuff would fly off when you switched it on
- dirty light switches that stuck to your skin
- scorched sockets
- dirty sheets with vague stains and pubic hair, even the clean set I asked for had them
- stray dogs all over the grounds
- slippery pathways from all the algea
- swimming pool so dirty you couldn't see the second step of the ladder
- food so bad it gave a member of a travel group a parasite so bad that she needed to be treated in hospital for 4 months after returining
- a docking area so wobbly that it seemed to have been made by rotting wood..
-after 20.30 there is no staff anymore in that hellhole.. so if you have a medical emergency, there is no one to help!
----do I need to continue? (I have a list of 2 pages)

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FLIEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Vinicio M, Gerente at Hotel Ilan-Ilan Trails & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear customer,

Thank you for your time and your advice.

We are the new administration of the hotel and we made the best effort to remodel the hotel taking care of the nature.

We would like to know you in your next trip to Costa Rica.

Please,contact us.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2008

I spent one week-end in this little paradise in the middle of the rainforest, and I returned to the capital totally relaxed. The hotel rooms are simple, but clean, and the restaurant serves tasty Costa Rican food.
Transport is only possible by boat to reach the village of Tortuguero and other places, but this jungle atmosphere makes the stay so relaxing due to the absence of cars and other noises around. You sleep surrounded by rainforest sounds, and during the day you can discover monkeys, little frogs, sloths, lots of birds and sometimes even snakes and caimans on a boat trip or exploring the trails around the hotels and in the Tortuguero National Park.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank conejoviajando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Vinicio M, Gerente at Hotel Ilan-Ilan Trails & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear customer,

Thank you for your time and your advice.

We are the new administration of the hotel and we would like to know you in your next trip to Costa Rica.

Please,contact us.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2007

Ilan Ilan is closer to Sing Sing than a hotel.....you arrive by van transfer to a boat.....and are dropped on a pier with rotting wood and concrete chips of a walkway to the hotel....bad sign.....

This is a package deal, with transportation, three meals a day and canal tour. We were greeted with an inedible meal, a cut of meat so tough, we couldn't cut it.....however beans and rice were still good.

There was one other "client" at this hotel, in high season. We are pointed to our room, with a ceiling fan that drooped downward, mattress pads 2" thick, and a bathroom whose only decoration was the painted red flooring on the concrete shower.....but the fixtures worked.

Now, you must pay in advance, and you can't just leave as transportation is included, you are on an island, surrounded by man eating mosquitos.....and crocodile infested waters.....

I don't suggest you give them the time of day........try Turtle Beach Lodge or the brother hotel Mawamba.......

We ended up leaving, thinking we were getting a refund, but it never happened. We ended up in Turtle Beach Lodge, a very pleasant hotel with exceptional food and excellent tour of the canal.......

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PJVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Vinicio M, Gerente at Hotel Ilan-Ilan Trails & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear customer,

Thank you for your time and your advice.

We are the new administration of the hotel and we made all the necessary to give at our customers a good service and quality possibles in the jungle with the respect of the naure.

We would like to know you in your next trip to Costa Rica.

Please,contact us.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Francisco, Califorinia
112
Reviewed July 14, 2006

We recently returned from a visit to Costa Rica that included a weekend at this hotel, and it was absolutely horrible. The boat that the hotel used to transport guests around the canals spat fumes worse than a New York bus. The rooms are bare bones, and there are no amenities. After seeing other establishments we were very disappointed in the shabby rooms. Also the hotel was empty, even though its the busy season there now. The guide they assigned to us was terrible and knew nothing about the area we were in.

The weekend was supposed to include three tours of the canals, the national park, and other sights of the area. The owner completely exaggerated what the tours included, which ended up being one boat ride and a walk through the park by a guide who was useless. After the description of the "tours" on the phone we felt completely misled. I have been to Costa Rica three times, and so I had assumed that this would be of a better caliber from what we were told on the phone.

When we booked the reservation we told the agent the we were coordinating a trip with another tour and needed to be back in San Jose at 4:30, since the trip included round trip transportation. Because of the owner directly lying about our return arrangements to myself and the driver of our van we arrived at San Jose 2 hours later than we were promised. I tried to address the problem as it developed, reminding them of their time commitment to us. In the end we were literally held hostage by this company, while they took a 2 hour detour around the countryside, the whole time the driver apologizing because he was lied to about our destination. I hope no one else has to endure the treatment of this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klonchi, Gerencia at Hotel Ilan-Ilan Trails & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2007
Google Translation

Es mision imposible con un programa pre establecido quedar bien con todos .
El hotel Ofrece el programa completo que incluye transporte terrestre ,Fluvial,alimentacion y un Tour cada medio dia acompañado de un guia bilingue
No tenemos cultura del licor somos naturalistas nuestros visitantes participan ademas en plantar un arbol por pais cada dia ,miles de ellos florecen en nuestra reserva forestal.
Higilio Tarno
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Todas las habitaciones tienen una vista lindísima, y son muy tranquilas!!
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews