We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and friendly owner”

Miss Miriam Cabinas
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Miss Miriam Cabinas
Cracow
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Nice location and friendly owner”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Cabinas Miriam are a nice, budget place to stay in Tortuguero. Their location is very quiet, just few steps from the beach and within 5 min walk to the center. The rooms are rather basic with quite tired bathroom (there was no hot water during our stay), the cleanlines was just to say not perfect but the owner was really helpful and friendly. Fast WiFi in the room, Price/quality value was good. Overall we had safe and nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CracowDanang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We (couple, 41 & 50) stayed at Miss Miriam's 2 for two nights in February 2014. We paid $30 a night for a room with a private bathroom and fan. The room was large with three beds (1 double + 2 singles). It was very basic - no closet, shelves or chair. The bathroom was large but rustic. The shower had an electric showerhead, but warm water was not wa ted in the hot climate. There is a large common area with a view of the beach and good breeze but lacked comfortable seating. The beach was 100 meters away. It is a beautiful beach with some shade but no access to chairs or umbrellas. The surf is rough and we were warned against swimming. The hotel is two minutes walking from restaurants, shops and the boat landing. There is no ATM. The entrance to Parque Nacional Tortuguero is five minutes away walking. Cabinas Miss Miriam's 2 is very basic and an average value compared to other places in Tortuguero Beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnothersEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We ended up here by mistake, but found ourselves very satisfied: clean rooms and simple honest hospitality. Quiet at night and afternoon fun with funny footbal matches, both male and female. But the best, is to be found in the restaurant comment

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghepa71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is a review for Miss Miriam 1 hotel. This is one of a few listed on Lonely Planet shoestring book. I must admit we have stopped going for those LP's recommendation ssimply because they are too basic for our liking.

The room was damp and dirty. Rat poo (a lot) were on the inner side if the bed. No room service during our stay. The area is muddy so our shoes had mud on them leaving the floor dirty. Without any room service, the room felt dirty the whole time. The weather was wet so towels couldn't dry between showers so they were always very damp. The sheets on the bed felt damp due to the weather I guess but this makes the room smell.

While in the room, we didn't really experience any mosquito though the mosquito nets doesnt really cover all the windows. The one in the bathroom has no mosquito net. We couldnt use the power point in the room because the wall was build out making the powerpoint resessed back. Our power convertor couldnt fit in. However we could use one in the bathroom. Just lack of attention to detail.

On the bright side, breakfast was good. Solid size breakfast with the lot: pancake, eggs, breads and fruits. Tea and coffee were free.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tortuguero hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
0.0 mi away
Miss Miriam 2
Miss Miriam 2
#6 of 8 in Tortuguero
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Casona
La Casona
#5 of 8 in Tortuguero
147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caribbean Paradise Eco-Lodge
Caribbean Paradise Eco-Lodge
#14 of 35 in Tortuguero
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tortuguero Beach
Hotel Tortuguero Beach
#6 of 8 in Tortuguero
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rana Roja Lodge
Rana Roja Lodge
#13 of 35 in Tortuguero
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miss Miriam Cabinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miss Miriam Cabinas

Property: Miss Miriam Cabinas
Address: Frente Al Campo de Futbol en Tortuguero, Tortuguero 70205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Miss Miriam Cabinas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Miss Miriam Cabinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miss Miriam Cabinas Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing