We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic meal”
Review of Wild Ginger

Wild Ginger
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Tortuguero
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Central American, Costa Rican, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Inventive fusion cuisine made with fresh ingredients. Not one single canned good goes on to our plates! All our breads and sauces are homemade, and all of our recipes are original to Wild Ginger.
Cardiff,Wales
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“A fantastic meal”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This restaurant is in a different league to any others that we ate in while on our 2 week trip through Costa Rica. The owners were incredibly friendly and efficient and the chef can really cook. We loved the crispy plantain baskets and mashed yucca to start and all of our main courses - lobster, beef stew and a great chicken dish were all beautifully cooked and well thought out dishes. The espresso and chocolate cake was an indulgent pudding that should not be missed. It is a little off the beaten track but all the better for being closer to the beach and slightly off the main village street.
We were so pleased that we had gone there and foregone the usual bland international hotel restaurants.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank welshbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    57
    22
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent service”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

food was well prepared and tasty. the follow -ups and attention from the staff were the best that we had while in costa rica fot nine days.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MC-lovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Magical Dinner close to the Beach!”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Had a real Foodie experience in a great location. Everything was very Fresh! Live Lobster was carried in just ahead of us as we walked down the path to the restaurant It was a little expensive for out budget, but worth it. Great meals and desserts served with excellent presentation! Would go Back Again if in Tortuguero!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food fit for a queen on the edge of the sea.”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Arrived with 15 others in party to swamp the place early evening. The care taken with our drinks order reflected the ethos of Wild Ginger. The food that followed after was fresh, tasty and slow which meant that it was being prepared especially for us. I would heartily recommend this place for all comers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank humelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food attentive friendly service”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

We ate there last night. Food fantastic, two course was sufficient but could not resist the chocolate expresso cake. Ian, London

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Ginger also viewed

Tortuguero, Province of Limon
Tortuguero, Province of Limon
 
Tortuguero, Province of Limon
Tortuguero, Province of Limon
 
Tortuguero, Province of Limon
Tortuguero, Province of Limon
 

Been to Wild Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing