We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's wild!”
Review of Wild Ginger

Wild Ginger
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Tortuguero
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Inventive fusion cuisine made with fresh ingredients. Not one single canned good goes on to our plates! All our breads and sauces are homemade, and all of our recipes are original to Wild Ginger.
Grecia La Argentina, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's wild!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

So good. I haven't eat a meal like that in ages. The hummus is so creatively prepared. That is the only way I will eat pejibye from now on. Fresh fish, too. The brownie was so chocolately, too. Definitely, not Hershey's.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    57
    22
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great service.....if a little quiet”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We went on a rainy evening and were the only 2 customers who had braved the weather. Menu is relatively limited but very tasty. A little different to most menus as the chef is from California. Owner (Husband of Chef) is very friendly and chatty.
We paid cash but they do take credit cards.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseD222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Wild Ginger provides a great alternative to Tico food in Tortuguero. It's a little way from the centre of the village, but worth seeking out. Good food, friendly owners/staff, and a pleasant setting. Personally, I found the portions a little small, but the quality of the food made up for it. Reflecting the different style and quality of food, this place is more expensive than other options on the island. Great fruit batidos (smoothies).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FushNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Best food, great service”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A jewel in the middle of nowhere. No one at any of the lodges will tell you it exists. Great food, preparedby the owner and served by her husband. Best natural drinks, no soft drinks, beautiful atmosphere. The whole family had a great meal. The guacamole is to die for, the chips are home made, and the setting is cozy. Don't miss it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toomuchtravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A very pleasant evening”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The meal was nice, the fish was perfectly cooked and the service was great. We would have spend a lot more time there but we were due for the turtle nesting night time visit. We were very pleased and would go there again.
It was dark out, so not so fun with the view, and since it was low season there were just 2 other tables.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travellingsloths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Ginger also viewed

Tortuguero, Province of Limon
Tortuguero, Province of Limon
 
Tortuguero, Province of Limon
Tortuguero, Province of Limon
 

Been to Wild Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing