We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Don Quichotte

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tortuguero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Don Quichotte
Save
You added Hotel Don Quichotte to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
As, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in this place. Rooms (only 4) are clean and there's a nice swimmingpool. The beds vary per room (both mattresses and pillows) The first night we stayed in the big room (1 double, 2 single beds) but the next day we had to move to a much smaller room because they made a double reservation (we payed 46$ per night; same amount for the big as the small room?!). During our stay there was no water in the shower (problem in the whole village that wasn't solved in the 3 days we stayed there).

They work together with 2 guides; Bonnie and Abel. Bonnie waited for us when the boat arrived and showed us the village and Nelson took us on a cano tour the next day. They both speak very very well English and are very nice people who know a lot about the wild life.
In March there are no turtletours; normally leatherbacks will lay their eggs is this time of the year but there are almost no leatherbacks left; they eat only jellyfish and plastic looks a lot like jellyfish.... The green turtle population is doing a lot better so probably in other months you might be able to see them laying their eggs.

Room Tip: The big family room that sleeps up to 4 is definitely the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MayaTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    30
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Veenendaal, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
317 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights.

Pro's:
- Nice hosts/owners
- big swimming pool
- close to beach and main road tortuguero
- free wifi
- pick up in la Pavona by guide Bonnie (hired by don Quichotte) who showed us the way in tortuguero
- tour by Bonnie (cano tour) arranged by owner was good
- fridge as mini bar at the room (did not use it though)

Cons:
- bed was not comfortable; small and really hard mattress
- eventhough clean room, we had 2 big and 3 small cockroaches in the bathroom..
- fridge makes quite some noise, it doesn't help you sleep at night

Overall good budget stay, but not much sleep..

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquelinevdhaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hautes Pyrenees
Level Contributor
143 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

With no hotels in Tortuguero the choice lies between upmarket lodges and B&B's/Inns/
Calling Don Quichotte is the only misnomer. With only 4 rooms it is however a real bonus to offer guests a 10 metre pool with a more than adequate depth for swimming. It is I think the only property in the village with a pool, with rip currents making swimming in the ocean highly dangerous it provides a valuable feature.
Although not the luxury of a lodge the rooms are simply furnished and immaculately clean. The bathrooms have a large tiled shower unit with new washbasin and sanitary fittings. The overhead ceiling fan more than compensates for the absence of aircon, indeed in January we did not even need the fan. The windows have flyscreens but at no time did we notice any winged pests. A fridge is provided with drinks available on a 'use and replace' basis, i.e highly cost effective in comparison to usual mini bar prices
It is only a very short walk to the village centre with the choice of eating places and supermarkets, with the lodges one has to rely on their motorised boats to leave their restricted enclaves
In the village there are no motorised vehicles or bikes allowed, so no harassment for pedestrians.
Gilles provided some welcome touches with cold drinks on arrival and on the morning of our departure.
At a cost of $40 per night rarely have we had such absolute value for money, a really enjoyable stay... just wish the dogs on our first night could have been a little quieter, but a problem in any village!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stillworkingat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

If you want to avoid the all-inclusive lodges, this place is a good alternative. Simple room + bathroom, hammock, pool, close to the ocean, inexpensive. Couple notes - the owner speaks okay english, not great but you can get by. If you arrive by plane, there are no water taxis available so you want to try and plan to have one available ahead of time (I was lucky the lodge was picking up others on my flight and called a taxi). There are no ATMs on the island so try and get money out ahead of time. There is a place you can use your credit card to get cash back but they charge something like 10%. The only thing about the hotel that I didn't like was that the showers were never really warm (but I was showering in the evening).

I went early December and saw turtles hatching. Very cool. It's also easy to secure tours in the town. The hotel works with Bonnie, who is great and speaks very good english. Also, I went by myself (female, early 30s) and I speak the spanish equivalent of probably a 1st grader and I was able to get by just fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soyasaucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Don Quichotte...perfect location to stay in Tortuguero. New and really lovely rooms with quite a big and bright bathroom. It is really quiet and ... one of the best things, except of the full fridge with cold drinks when you arrive,... is the really big pool... perfect to jump in at night...and day.
The people are really friendly and you can really enjoy yourself.
It is close to the beach and there are many restaurants and so on around.
One of the best bungalow we had!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anitamaedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

The Don Quichotte is a very small hotel, with only 3 rooms, very simple, but well located inside the Tortuguero village. Hotel offers no breakfast, but this is not a problem, there are a couple of nice places in the village whre you can have it even very early in the morning. The great thing is that Gilbert, who takes care of the hotel, knows all the best guides of the village, with each one specialty: turtles, canoe on the channels of the park, 'frogs hunting at night', ... . The only negative comment I would make is that the pool is not very clean. But at the end of the day, the only thing which matters is to have good guides as you are all the time outside. Definitely a place I recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucien T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

For all those who're seeking for a sweety and quiet place in Tortuguero. Close to the sea, bungalows with all comodities (Hot Water, WIFI, swimming pool...) and nice owners speaking English, Spanish and French.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ythay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
0.0 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 9 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 stars 850 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rana Roja Lodge
Rana Roja Lodge
#9 of 33 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Miss Junie's
Hotel Miss Junie's
#8 of 33 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aracari Garden Hostel
Aracari Garden Hostel
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Paisajes del Tortuguero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Quichotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Quichotte

Property: Hotel Don Quichotte
Address: 50 metres de la Mer, Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hotel Don Quichotte Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing