We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle setting great service”
Review of Rana Roja Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rana Roja Lodge
melbourne australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Jungle setting great service”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Had a great time at Rana Roja, the lady at reception was more than helpful with advice & booking tours etc. Free breakfast was fantastic, the pool was great also. Just be mindful that the mozzies will get into your room despite all the fly screens. The village is usd $3 each way by boat taxi. The grounds have plenty of wildlife roaming within proximity of the cabanas which makes for a unique experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    60
    18
    9
    3
See reviews for
31
64
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

1 night stayed on our honeymoon. The hotel was pretty isolated, but a short 5-10 min boat taxi to the main town. The room was small and basic, but cozy. Our favorite part is that there were monkeys swinging from the trees everywhere! Also we saw many varieties of reptiles, spiders and birds. The turtle shaped pool was very unique and provided some relief from the heat and humidity. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinWoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I have a lot to say about the rana roja and I am suprised at some of the comments on this site as i can not recognise the reasons! This place was fantastic in every way. I had high expections and they were exceeded!

We booked this directly online and not as part of a package tour, it was important to us that we did not stay in a package or at one of the bigger lodges - being herded with other people on a set itinerary. we are very happy we did not as they seemed impersonal, and very resitricted in the activites and timings, with no freedom to do the little things that make life feel good!

We flew in on a bargain nature air flight costing only £15 each! the flight was amazing and gave you a good sense of where you were located, landing on a small airstrip with the ocean on one side and the canals and forests the other....perfect way to get there and no 5 hours bus trip :)
picked up a water taxi to the rana roja which took about 20 minutes,

When we arrived it was still only close to 7am, but we were greeted straight away, offered breakfast and our room was ready! What a prefect start to the trip.

so the property i think is in the most perfect location, its away from the village about 6 minutes by water taxi and they cost no more than about $3. this means you are very close to everything you would need, but far enough away not to see too many people or hear any noise. We noticed it was slightly cooler also away fromt he village, perhaps because of the shade being in the forest. it felt private and secluded and safe. I think we saw more wildlife as a result of staying here as others we met who staying in the village did not see so many monkeys and birds. We saw a great deal of the wildlife right on the property, including howlers, capachin, toucans, many birds, and the gardens and walks arround the place are a treat. there is a lovely space to sit and look over the canals, the pool side is simply beautiful,very welcome in the afternoons with shaded areas and toucans in the trees and a bar service..
The cabin was very comfortable and there was nothing missing at all for all your needs. falling asleep to the sounds of the forest was a beautiful experince and one we will treasure. Rocking chairs on the porch were nice for a quiet read.
We had a nice breakfast everyday and the service was very good. They even kept us breakfast when we returned late from a early morning canal tour.
There is a man called Louis who works as a guide through the Rana Roja and offers a canoe tour and night hikes etc.He seems very knowledgeable about the area, and offered a quiet electric boat tour - this is very important and i would not recommend any other way. The big resorts all use motor boats and i cant believe they are allowed in the NP making such a noise and zooming by. Go early, i would say from 5am before the big resort boats come out.

we ate in one night and the food was nice, we ate out the second in town.

What made the stay so special was the individual attention and assistance, no problems to call us a water taxi or lend us some boots for the national park, advice was given on the best walks locally and nice places to eat. It had a warm and family feeling and we really felt like we were staying with freinds and not paying guests! Nothing was a problem and you felt so very welcome.

I cant understand why anyone would think it was expensive, the whole provision and service and food all represtented exceptional value for money. Free wifi helped us stay in touch with family at home. Book independantly and youll get a great deal, dont use an agent.

Thank you to all the staff at the Rana Roja for a wonderful welcome to Costa Rica and the special place that is Tortuguero. We will be back with the whole family one day and will certainly stay longer!


Stay here you wont regret it, its a beautiful paradise and the nicest people you could want to spent time with.

Free wifi, free canoes, free boots, free use of beautiful pool.

Room Tip: All the accomodation looks the same standrard, the bungalows were more private. 36 was very quiet an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lovetoholiday11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Nothing in particular was wrong with this hotel - the room was comfortable and clean, the staff were helpful (although their level of English was low, they got the point across mostly), breakfast was fine and the trail through the forest was cool. But it's not really worth paying 3x more per night than a cabinas by the beach. Also the restaurant was closed so we had to pay for taxis across to the island for dinner.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akakakak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

What a treat this lodge is!! I don't recognize at all the comments on bad staff and issues with the cabins!

It is a jungle experience after all and being surrounded by animals is a big bonus! We saw monkeys, toekans, lizards, frogs and many other birds! Staff has been very helpfull during our stay, from the time we arrived, up to booking water taxi's and booking an excursion. After seeing Tortuguero village, we were actually happy that we stayed at Rana Roja instead of in the village (only a couple of minutes away by boat taxi)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thetraveller1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2013

While not sleeping, my wife and I decided to kill some mosquitos tonight. So we were up to 45 and they showed no sign of slowing down. So we had to stuff bed sheets between the roof and walls in several places.

Mara is very helpful with information about tours and transport options. Food is ok, just know what you may be getting in to and bring a net.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Being in the jungle with the animals all around was an amazing experience but our stay at Rana roja was not. Staff were not welcoming and we're extremely unhelpful..... that was once you found them. Food was extremely over priced mass produced flavourless buffet meal. The rooms were clean but very basic, uncomfortable mattresses that dipped in the middle and the tap water smelt. From what I could tell all of the good bits of this hotel were actually the hotel next doors amenities such as the pool the bar wifi (the wifi at Rana roja is very poor) and the jungle trail. In fact we got a lot better service from the hotel next door we wish we had booked to stay there instead.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meelee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
2.0 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,041 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 34 in Tortuguero
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#1 of 34 in Tortuguero
671 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miss Junie's
Hotel Miss Junie's
#9 of 34 in Tortuguero
200 reviews
5.9 mi away
Turtle Beach Lodge
Turtle Beach Lodge
#6 of 34 in Tortuguero
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rana Roja Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rana Roja Lodge

Property: Rana Roja Lodge
Address: Lake Penitencia, Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rana Roja Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Rana Roja Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rana Roja Lodge Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing