We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!”
Review of Rana Roja Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rana Roja Lodge
Reviewed December 29, 2013

What a treat this lodge is!! I don't recognize at all the comments on bad staff and issues with the cabins!

It is a jungle experience after all and being surrounded by animals is a big bonus! We saw monkeys, toekans, lizards, frogs and many other birds! Staff has been very helpfull during our stay, from the time we arrived, up to booking water taxi's and booking an excursion. After seeing Tortuguero village, we were actually happy that we stayed at Rana Roja instead of in the village (only a couple of minutes away by boat taxi)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thetraveller1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Rana Roja Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 145 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

While not sleeping, my wife and I decided to kill some mosquitos tonight. So we were up to 45 and they showed no sign of slowing down. So we had to stuff bed sheets between the roof and walls in several places.

Mara is very helpful with information about tours and transport options. Food is ok, just know what you may be getting in to and bring a net.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Being in the jungle with the animals all around was an amazing experience but our stay at Rana roja was not. Staff were not welcoming and we're extremely unhelpful..... that was once you found them. Food was extremely over priced mass produced flavourless buffet meal. The rooms were clean but very basic, uncomfortable mattresses that dipped in the middle and the tap water smelt. From what I could tell all of the good bits of this hotel were actually the hotel next doors amenities such as the pool the bar wifi (the wifi at Rana roja is very poor) and the jungle trail. In fact we got a lot better service from the hotel next door we wish we had booked to stay there instead.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meelee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Rana Roja Lodge is built within the jungle in Tortuguero. From the lodge, you can hear and see much of the wildlife that is contained in the Costa Rica jungle. It was very neat to see monkeys and sloths right from the paths within the lodge, and to be woken up in the morning by the sound of howler monkeys. I personally liked that the lodge had ceiling fans, a nice pool, internet access, and provided all meals. The food served at the meals was both authentic to the area and very tasty. Plus the lodge provided kayaks which I used on the river (very relaxing), and spa that provided an excellent massage. Check out the two-for-one deal at the spa. It is a great deal. The downside is that Tortuguero is pretty remote and it takes a long time to get there on a small boat. Plus it is very hot and humid during the day in Tortuguero and the staff primarily speaks Spanish.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank tadvisor95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanaRojaTortuguero, Responsable commercial at Rana Roja Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Rana Roja Lodge and recommend it to others travellers. As you point it our lodge is not in the center of Tortuguero village but in the more preserved part of the jungle which allow our guests to have a true experience of the wonderful wildlife surrounding the hotel. At any time of the day our guests can ask for a taxi boat service and it's a short 5 minutes ride to get to Tortuguero village.
Best regards from all our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

so nice and relaxing. you just hear the animals by night and you are inside it. i like it there very much. i would not recommend for more than two nights, but it is far better than in tortuguero it selfs. it is a bit expensive but definitely worth the money. it is something special which you don't have every day.
one disadvantage is that you have to take a taxi to tortuguero, but it is 3$ and you are very fast there. and if you do a tour, most of it is included in the tour!

Room Tip: there are just one. the bungalows, very nice!! :-)
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sspaeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My family loved our simple cabin in the forest! On our way to our room we saw one of the elusive "rana roja" frogs and that was only the beginning! We enjoyed watching the white-faced monkeys travel from tree to tree around the pool each afternoon and listening to the howler monkeys in the tree tops above our cabin. The staff was helpful and the meals well-prepared. We would stay here again and are recommending it to friends!

Room Tip: Stay in a cabin -- the noises of the rain forest at night lull you to sleep. The ceiling fans keep...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mity M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We enjoyed being away from town in this lodge but I agree you do have to bear in mind the cost to and from town by boat and a little bit of hanging around for a boat. That said we loved having the pool to cool off in and my 2 teenage boys enjoyed the kayaks for a bit of exploring.There were tree frogs and "blue jeans" frogs and a tarantula visible daily 3-4metres from our room! Food was typically Costa Rican, generous, with good service. The room for 4 of us was smaller than elsewhere in CR and a bit dark. The separate cabins looked nicer if there are only 2 of you.
We used Abel Dioz Bonge as our guide who was charming, knowledgeable and fun- Tortugueroguide@mail.com or abelDioz1978@Hotmail.com- we saw much more with a guide on canoe and on foot than we would otherwise have done.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pooleperson375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
2.0 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,078 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
266 reviews
1.4 mi away
Caribbean Paradise Eco-Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miss Junie's
Hotel Miss Junie's
#9 of 34 in Tortuguero
210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#1 of 34 in Tortuguero
710 reviews
5.9 mi away
Turtle Beach Lodge
Turtle Beach Lodge
#6 of 34 in Tortuguero
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rana Roja Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rana Roja Lodge

Address: | Laguna Penitencia, Tortuguero 70206, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Tortuguero
Price Range: $120 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rana Roja Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Rana Roja Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rana Roja Lodge Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing