We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Miss Junie's Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero(Tortuguero)(Great Value!)
$35
$34
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Tortuguero Natural(Tortuguero)(Great Value!)
$30
$24
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
La Baula Lodge(Tortuguero)
$80
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens(Tortuguero)
$188
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mawamba Lodge(Tortuguero)
$526
$419
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Casa Marbella(Tortuguero)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Turtle Beach Lodge(Tortuguero)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Rana Roja Lodge(Tortuguero)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveler rating
90
80
44
15
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
80
44
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanoe tourfascinating historyeasy reachceiling fanthe rivercaribbean foodcosta ricanational parkocean sidebottom floorhotel is locatedunique hoteldark woodjesus lizardsorganised tourcorner rooma great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 237 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2013

There is nothing dazzling about this hotel but I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. Rooms were clean. The hotel is right by the beach and its an easy walk to all the eateries and shops in town too. Staff was helpful. The Wi-fi worked sporadically but staff always tried their best to restore service. I loved the hammocks provided on the property and the chairs outside of every room. Our group spent a majority of our time on the porch talking to each other.The restaurant attached to the hotel however was not as great and pretty expensive (for a typical Costa Rican dinner). If you are to order anything from the restaurant order the Run Don or the fish.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Spent two nights here with granddaughters (12 & 14) and their dad. Unlike more expensive hotels outside of town we could walk everywhere...no need to take taxi boat from a resort. This long-time family-owned hotel has a friendly and accommodating staff. In the restaurant area (delicious breakfast included) there is a painting of a younger Miss Junie. In a chair outside there is...Miss Junie herself welcoming guests. She's a pillar in the village and has done many good things there. Rooms are basic...no shampoo, hair dryer, etc. The hotel is at the north end of the village and the national park is at the south end. It takes maybe 10 minutes to walk from one end of the village to the other. Streets are unpaved. No cars or trucks. (The ambulance is a boat.) A five minute walk north from the hotel is the Sea Turtle Conservancy where they have a really good video of their work. Miss Junie's son, Cloyd (who is also a guide with an excellent reputation) is in the video. Worth a look-see. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a ceiling fan. Most rooms have them, but ours had only a pedestal fan. You're at sea level near the equator, so it's hot.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smutley40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We did a 3 day/2 night tour with Miss Junie's, which was really great value and we got to everything we wanted to do. Tortuguero is a tropical gem, reachable only by boat. Our guide, Clloyd was fantastic. Really knowledgable about the area and the wildlife. He took us to witness a giant Green Turtle laying her eggs on a beach at midnight, and on a canoe tour of the jungle in the very early hours of the mornings. His eagle eyes spotted lots of amazing birds, and monkeys. Miss Junies is a great place to stay, with one side of the property overlooking the river, and the other overlooking the ocean. Highly recommend staying here and doing tours with Clloyd.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

After an incredibly trip from La Pavona to Tortuguero, we arrived in Miss Junie's. The rooms were quite good, the only minor downside was that there was no airconditioning. The restaurant was really good.

We wanted to watch the turtles at night. The receptionist did all organisation for this, which was very helpful. Seeing the turtles was truly a magical experience!

We'd like to thank the owners for our great stay!

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank peternie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Thank you Gabor and Jessica for being such welcoming hosts.
I spent 2 very comfortable weeks at Coconut Love. Apartment had a bedroom, kitchen, bathroom and shady verandah. Bedroom had a walk in wardrobe area, great bed, reading lamp and ceiling fan (air con not widely available in Cahuita). Kitchen fully equipped with stove and fridge. Verandah with hammock. Bathroom was bright and had hot water shower with toiletries provided
What I loved about staying here - my chats with Jess and Gabor each morning, rooms were immaculate, breakfast on the upstairs verandah was delicious especially French toast, fresh juice and coffee, I could make my own coffee and self cater for some meals and the apartment was very comfortable,quiet and peaceful.
It's a little way out from the Main Street- easy walking distance but I hired a bike and rode around . Great fun. Made getting to the beaches, National park and the main street a breeze.

Room Tip: Both apartments are identical.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catriona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews