We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too many hassles”
Review of Hotel Miss Junie's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Miss Junie's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

First off, this place didnt accept credit cards when we showed up. This was made even more annoying when I saw a lady paying for something with her credit card the next day. They have all the machines needed to accept credit cards, but for certain transactions they just don't.

Breakfast wasn't great, but Miss Junie is nice.

Finally, if you're going to renovate three rooms from 8:00 am until 8:00 pm and create tons of noise, maybe tell your guests in advance so they can stay somewhere else.

They also tell you not to get sand on the towels, or else they will charge you to clean them. Spend 10 minutes in Tortuguero and you'll see this is almost impossible.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NotAnotherRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 214 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

Miss Junies seems to be the nicest place (that we saw) to stay on the island of Tortuguero. It is sandwiched between the channels on one side and the beach on the other with a private path to access. The rooms were clean and quite. The entire place has lovely carved wood turtles and decore :) Miss Junies daughter took us out for a morning canoe that was exhausting but amazingly peaceful (better than the crowded boats) and she was extremely knowledgable and showed us an amazing assortment of wildlife (often missed by the boats). We saw white faced monkeys, howler monkeys, iquana's, jesus christ lizards, and many types of harrons and other birdlife and wildlife :) Unfortunately our camera broke earlier in the trip so we could only capture the beauty of this place on a terrible disposable! I would highly recommend the turtle tours in the evening either though the hotel or a local guide... it was AMAZING to get that close to a giant green turtle laying eggs and they are very conservative with their conservation efforts concerning the turtles and wildlife! I was VERY impressed :)

The breakfasts were not great. No one greeted us when we came in the restaurant nor told us what the food was that day. I have allergies to gluten and was upset when i was served pancakes instead of the eggs that we were served the day before. We would have gone elsewhere and bought breakfast had we been told or had their been a sign of the menu. There were also no people around in the restaurant to ask :( That would be my only complaint/suggestion.


Note: I did not find some of the locals very unfriendly to the non-spanish speaking visitors. There were also many rude people from Spain visiting while we were there and they often took priority over us. While we attempted very hard to use our limited spanish, we found that many people were impatient with us at one of the restaurants and on the tour (not associated with the hotel). The other outgoing and extremely nice people often made up for this though!

Room Tip: The upstairs is better for sleep (no one above you making noise and the rooms seemed nicer), the als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lmurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Wonderful garden, excellent food and comfortable and big rooms. No need for a mosquito net, especially in the first floor. Very friendly service and excellent guidance by Carla, the dauther of the owner. Since she is a biologist you get great explanation and you can take your time to shoot pictures of everything.
Due to the good preparation of Carla we had very special moments on the beach with the baby turtles walking to the sea.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heike15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just a super place at the north end of town. Was there in March 2012
Amazing ocean views, quiet no frills accom. steps from quiet beautiful beach.
Excellent food and everything is fresh made, so it may take a while but well worth the wait including the salsa dip.
Yeah sure the internet only works near the office and theres no a/c.
There are also no cars ,but the whole town is walkable and you didnt come there to go online or sit and freeze in your room did you!

Cloid and Dorling and their family have created a retreat like resort and have recently upgraded some facilites adding a second floor which has beautiful ocean views on one side and the river on the other.

The 30-40 mile meander up the river from roads end to get there is like going up the amazon honestly!!
I plan on returning this winter again

Room Tip: The rooms are cooler on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seathewurld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were staying in another lodge in Tortuguero but decided to have dinner in the restaurant at Miss Junie's. It was our last night and we thought that it might be a nice place to have dinner. When we got there, a table of six had just placed their order and a table of two where placing theirs. We were the only other two people in there and it still took the waiter 15 minutes to take our drink order and another 10 for food. We ordered very simple plates from the menu with no special requests. It took 1 hour and 45 minutes to get a "vegetable surprise plate" and grilled pork plate. The vegetable plate ($9) was a joke. Bland steamed veggies, three avocado slices, a small lump of re-fried black beans, a slice of bland cheese and some lettuce. A very sad casado basically The pork ($14) was like show leather. We were starving by this point and ate it but it was the worst meal we had had in the two weeks we've been in Costa Rica. There was never an apology or reason for why we waited so long. Another couple came in after us, ordered 2 filet mignons and were finished eating before we ever got our food. Horrible and expensive (compared to other local restaurants) experience. Avoid.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Wes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Very clean and comfortable rooms, very nice personal, beautiful garden outside the rooms, no AC, but fan which was fine! The breakfast was nothing special (coffee or tea, some fruits, gallo pinto (=beans & rice), scrambled eggs). The Wi-Fi was not working in our room, but only around the main building (front desk, restaurant). We stayed there for 2 nights and got a free fruit-batida-welcome-drink. The town itself is very small, offers a few shops and restaurant.

Room Tip: we were staying in the slightly cheaper lower rooms, those were fine too. sometimes we could hear th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Miss Junie's was wonderful,restful,beautiful and truly on Island Time, No window screens, but no bugs when we were there. Some folks walked to the hardware store in Tortuguerro and bought 2 pieces of screen wire and slid them in the windows. No air conditioning, we were in the middle of the 2 story on the ocean side in July. There was a tree at eye level that attracted all sorts of birds to eat the berries. The beds were good and the arrangement of colorful sheets, white towels and flowers on the beds were something to look forward to returning to each day. The restaurant is not always open (ask for reservations) the breakfasts were great. I believe that depends on the family members who are there to help Miss Junie for the week and the number of guest. Try the "Run Down" for dinner. Pre order. If the dining room is closed go next door to the "Wild Ginger", it has the best food on the island. Over all we had a restful,low stress visit. I would return!

Room Tip: stay on the ocean side, second floor to catch the breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TreeFarmer_93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
2.1 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,104 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
270 reviews
1.7 mi away
Caribbean Paradise Eco-Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cabinas Paisajes del Tortuguero
0.0 mi away
Toucan & Tarpon
Toucan & Tarpon
#8 of 34 in Tortuguero
104 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rana Roja Lodge
Rana Roja Lodge
#12 of 34 in Tortuguero
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miss Junie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miss Junie's

Address: Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Tortuguero
Price Range: $49 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Miss Junie's 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Miss Junie's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Miss Junie's Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing