We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Convenient place to stay for maximum a couple of days if you want to see the tortugas laying eggs an nature!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Casona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Casona
Ranked #6 of 8 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenient place to stay for maximum a couple of days if you want to see the tortugas laying eggs an nature!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

The owner a nicaraguan family were very nice, we calles the day before for a reservation and they offered us all the trips they had at a very good price.Was what we wanted as tourists.

When we arrived the rooms were a bit qorse than what we expected. We stayes in cabin 5 a plce for 2 and it has the bare minimum. Its very small with very little light, nearly no space to leave the bags and very hot. They provide a fan which helps. The shower is good and warm.

They say they do the room but they clean the floor, dont make the bed.

Overall , is what you can expect for the price you are paying, 20$ a night opr 2 people. I would recomend the room of 3 if i went again. Seems bigger and nicer to be in.

On the other hand the restaurants food is very nice, we had coconut rice and delicious;)

The tours with Andres , son of the owner and Jorge, are suuuper good.Do it with them!!


  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinguinita87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    44
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
49
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

La Casona is a very good place for family. All the staff was very friendly an helpful. We took the package with tours included and it was more than what we expected. The location is next to the beach and the food was great. We highly recommended this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We knew we wanted to go to Tortuguero but had a hard time finding information about places there and I feel so lucky to have found La Casona. Sara and her family were so hospitable. We booked a package with her that included all of our meals, a canoe tour, a night walk and a forest hike. It was the best deal we had in Costa. The food was awesome and after our tour in the pouring rain they even offered to dry our clothes for us. The rooms were basic but clean and they bent over backwards for any request that we had. Cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NerdyTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had a lovely stay at La Casona and stayed longer than expected. Sara, her mother and the staff are sooo friendly and helpful! The room was good, and it came with a hot shower! The location is perfect: close to the center and the boats and a short walk from the ocean! Only down thing is the wifi not working very well...
We also ate two times at the restaurant, and the food is tasty!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelien I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have reserve one cabin for me and my husbend by email, Mrs. Sara confirmed it and she wanted two days before arriving another confirmation by email. So, I did it, she answered that everythink is ok. And then, when we arrived there was no reservation on the reception and receptionist was very annoying. Fortnunately there is plenty of other hotels, so we haven't any trouble. But still, it is very strange behavior.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hostel was included in our tour to Tortuguero. We liked the place as it is located very central, close to the beach and the city. The rooms were basic but nice with hammocks in front of the rooms. The service depended very much on the persons in charge. The first day it was excellent, we were well informed about all the activities and enjoyed also the nice restaurant. Unfortunately the second day there was another lady in charge who was not really interested in taking care of the guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojito_1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaduz, Liechtenstein
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The room we had was very basic, but large, with a bathroom and hot shower... as if you really need it it Tortuguero! They cleaned the room daily, even if with a little encouragement. And there is a communal space that people can use when the restaurant is closed (herratic hours!).
The best thing about this place is the turtle tour, we really enjoyed it and saw a lot!
What we didn't like was that it could be very noisy at times, in the evening, due to the restaurant. And that's not ideal when you have a tour at 6.00 a.m.!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeez4475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
0.0 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 9 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Miss Junie's
Hotel Miss Junie's
#8 of 33 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Paisajes del Tortuguero
0.0 mi away
Rana Roja Lodge
Rana Roja Lodge
#9 of 33 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casona

Property: La Casona
Address: Costado norte de la plaza de deportes | Tortuguero Centro, Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Casona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your La Casona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casona Hotel Tortuguero
La Casona Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing