We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient place to stay for maximum a couple of days if you want to see the tortugas laying eggs an nature!!”
Review of La Casona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casona
Ranked #5 of 8 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

The owner a nicaraguan family were very nice, we calles the day before for a reservation and they offered us all the trips they had at a very good price.Was what we wanted as tourists.

When we arrived the rooms were a bit qorse than what we expected. We stayes in cabin 5 a plce for 2 and it has the bare minimum. Its very small with very little light, nearly no space to leave the bags and very hot. They provide a fan which helps. The shower is good and warm.

They say they do the room but they clean the floor, dont make the bed.

Overall , is what you can expect for the price you are paying, 20$ a night opr 2 people. I would recomend the room of 3 if i went again. Seems bigger and nicer to be in.

On the other hand the restaurants food is very nice, we had coconut rice and delicious;)

The tours with Andres , son of the owner and Jorge, are suuuper good.Do it with them!!


  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinguinita87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for La Casona
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 150 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

La Casona is a very good place for family. All the staff was very friendly an helpful. We took the package with tours included and it was more than what we expected. The location is next to the beach and the food was great. We highly recommended this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We knew we wanted to go to Tortuguero but had a hard time finding information about places there and I feel so lucky to have found La Casona. Sara and her family were so hospitable. We booked a package with her that included all of our meals, a canoe tour, a night walk and a forest hike. It was the best deal we had in Costa. The food was awesome and after our tour in the pouring rain they even offered to dry our clothes for us. The rooms were basic but clean and they bent over backwards for any request that we had. Cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NerdyTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had a lovely stay at La Casona and stayed longer than expected. Sara, her mother and the staff are sooo friendly and helpful! The room was good, and it came with a hot shower! The location is perfect: close to the center and the boats and a short walk from the ocean! Only down thing is the wifi not working very well...
We also ate two times at the restaurant, and the food is tasty!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelien I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have reserve one cabin for me and my husbend by email, Mrs. Sara confirmed it and she wanted two days before arriving another confirmation by email. So, I did it, she answered that everythink is ok. And then, when we arrived there was no reservation on the reception and receptionist was very annoying. Fortnunately there is plenty of other hotels, so we haven't any trouble. But still, it is very strange behavior.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Myyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hostel was included in our tour to Tortuguero. We liked the place as it is located very central, close to the beach and the city. The rooms were basic but nice with hammocks in front of the rooms. The service depended very much on the persons in charge. The first day it was excellent, we were well informed about all the activities and enjoyed also the nice restaurant. Unfortunately the second day there was another lady in charge who was not really interested in taking care of the guests.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mojito_1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The room we had was very basic, but large, with a bathroom and hot shower... as if you really need it it Tortuguero! They cleaned the room daily, even if with a little encouragement. And there is a communal space that people can use when the restaurant is closed (herratic hours!).
The best thing about this place is the turtle tour, we really enjoyed it and saw a lot!
What we didn't like was that it could be very noisy at times, in the evening, due to the restaurant. And that's not ideal when you have a tour at 6.00 a.m.!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeez4475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
0.0 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,078 reviews
0.0 mi away
Miss Miriam 2
Miss Miriam 2
#6 of 8 in Tortuguero
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aracari Garden Hostel
Aracari Garden Hostel
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tortuguero Beach
Hotel Tortuguero Beach
#7 of 8 in Tortuguero
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casona

Address: Costado norte de la plaza de deportes | Tortuguero Centro, Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Price Range: $26 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Casona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your La Casona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casona Hotel Tortuguero
La Casona Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing