We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a room on the second floor!”
Review of Miss Miriam 2

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Miss Miriam 2
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Tortuguero
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My kids (6,10,12) and I stayed at this hotel. The price was good ($40), the room was very clean, we had free WiFi (spotty at times), our room had a bathroom and the hotel was located just a short walk to the beach. The owner was friendly and available. He even helped us get our bags to and from the "town dock". My only advice to anyone going is to get a room on the second floor. We, like another reviewer, also found a couple of big roaches in our room but they didn't live in the room, they were slipping in under the door at night. Also, the room next to us had mildew all along the bottom of the walls- again, a result of being on the bottom floor, where things are damper. Finally- despite the fan in our room, it was pretty warm at night- no breeze on this floor. Overall, it was a good value- I think had we been on another floor I would have definitely rated it higher.

Room Tip: request a room on the second floor and maybe splurge on a room with A/C.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Estela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Miss Miriam 2
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 66 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

Decent value rooms, hot water and free wifi. Good location near the beach and only a few minutes walk to the village. Breakfast is not included but for $5 you get a big fruit plate and eggs and bread. Bring rain gear as it can be very rainy in Tortuguero

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The hotel is simple, but right beside a nice beach. The owners are very layed back, lovely people who will make sure you feel comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nischu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

just before going for dinner, I sprayed mosquitoe spray all around the room. one hour later on my return the room was COVERED in dead giant coackroaches!!!
basic rooms, you can see the sea a bit from some rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Miss Miriam 2 is a comfortable place to stay. I had a room on the second floor with a private bathroom and fan for $20 per night. There's also wireless throughout the hostal and nice common areas. It gets really hot during the day to be on the beach but they have a nice deck that has a cool breeze and nice views of the beach.

The location is great, only about 20 meters from the beach and close to the main street where you can find restaurants.

Mauricio, the owner, was also very friendly and allowed me to bring my puppy along.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank ewethey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Miss Miriam 2 is a nice place to stay in Tortuguero. Nice room with fan and bathroom, location near the beach.
I can recommend this place for a good night sleep.

We had dinner at the sister place called Miss Miriam (by the soccer field) which didn't show any prices on the menu. We were very surprised because we ended up paying 6500 colones (about 13 dollars) for a rice and vegetables meal... The most expensive dinner we had in our one month CA trip! So I cannot recommend that place...

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marlies84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2010

Tortuguero is a lovely little pueblo on the Caribbean coat of Costa Rica. We ate at Miss Miriam 1 (I highly recommend the Caribbean Chicken!) and asked where we could use the Internet. She mentioned her sisters place had free wifi and so the next day we moved in. We took room 8, which has private bath, balcony and sea views $20. It really was a realy cool place. The owners are very friendly and helpful and will do your laundry for you included in the price. They should have a restaurant and lounge/bar area on sight in the next few weeks but until there are the hammocks out the front. We saw a 6ft leatherback turtle nesting while we were there on a Turtle tour one night. Awesome place.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FantastiCally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
2.4 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,078 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
266 reviews
1.8 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 8 in Tortuguero
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ilan-Ilan Trails & Lodge
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aracari Garden Hostel
Aracari Garden Hostel
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miss Miriam 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miss Miriam 2

Address: Tortuguero, Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Tortuguero
Price Range: $32 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Miss Miriam 2 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Miss Miriam 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miss Miriam 2 Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing