We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Value for your money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero
Ranked #4 of 7 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Value for your money”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We flew in from San Jose by Nature Air in Tortuguero. Calixto arranged to have someone picked us up by boat from the airstrip to the village. There is also someone who greeted us at the dock and walked us to Icaco. We got there at 6:30 am and they let us checked in. My 14 year old is not used to the heat but the room upstairs on the ocean side is the best. The windows have screens so we just left the windows opened all the time and the breeze would just blow in cooling the room and letting fresh air in. It rained a lot but we loved it because it cools you down and we love the sound of the rain. My son loved the beach so we've gone for a walk a few times. The mini grocery stores are very close and there are restaurants in the area as well. It's close to the dock and pretty much the center of the village. Calixto would help you with getting out of Tortuguero as well
well. He even walked us to the dock when we were leaving. The village is a great way to immerse oneself with the people and the simplicity of life which they have accustomed to. They are very kind people. I've gotten lost or wasn't sure where to turn but I didn't have to ask for directions. They would come up and ask where you're staying and tell you where to go. There are also a couple of guys who sell fresh coconuts, but I've made friends with Henry (Enrique). He speaks English quite well and has a lot of stories to tell. I usually catch him by the beach north of Icaco in the afternoon. Earlier than that, he'd be on the mainstreet. If you want the coconut not just the water, you need to let him know.





jackets




  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    175
    55
    8
    5
See reviews for
62
169
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed here for couple of nights and enjoyed chilling in the hammocks, admiring the Caribian sea. Our room was nice and clean. Staff in El Icaco was very helpful, so it was easy to plan tours and our journey to next destination. They even had a small restaurant where we had nice breakfasts.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaNNKa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phelan, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I came here as part of my honeymoon. We wanted to visit Tortuguero and came upon this place. The reviews looked good and we thought we would give it a try. I emailed Calixto multiple times before my visit. He always responded. I was a little concerned about getting around since there are no cars, but Calixto arranged for a water taxi to pick us up at the Tortuguero airport and bring us to the village. Once at the village we had a person walk us to the hotel. It would have been hard to do that on our own. We arrived to the hotel at around 7:00 AM and he let us check in that early. The rooms are very basic. They have a bathroom with a small shower. We had two beds and a fan. We just needed a place to sleep and a shower. I think this place has incredible value. I give it a high rating, but make no mistake, this is not a five star hotel. If you are used to air conditioning and being catered to, then this house is not for you.
Tips: 1)Don't be intimidated by the unknown. The village is really small and is easy to get around after spending 30 minutes there.
2)Bring sunscreen and bug spray.
3) I recommend flights by Nature Air. 25 minutes each way from San Jose as opposed to about a 5 hour adventure via bus,car, and water taxi.
4)Email Calixto if you have any questions. He went over and beyond the call of duty.
We will come back and visit.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamezjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights last week and just great. Right on the beach (although don't venture too far off into the sea, very dangerous rip currents) but this is normal for all of tortuguero. No AC but not really needed despite the humidity the fans in the rooms and open windows provide fine sleeping. Tortugeuro is a very small village and it's less than a 5 minute walk to the boat dock on the canal and the 'main strip' where you'll find the couple of restaurants shops and markets. No refrigeration or ice so if you buy some stuff from the markets take that into consideration. Wildlife not too prevalent on the ocean side of the canal, but just take a water taxi for $2 to the other side of the canal or rent a canoe for $15 all day in the village and you can see anything you want. In the village Flora has the best fried chicken and chilera around! At there all three nights (just south of the dock and la culebra).

Overall for $30/night the hotel was awesome, wifi available for free, and clean safe accommodations. Hammocks were a plus as well. I'm used to marriotts but would go back to icaco in a heartbeat!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank clarkkr79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I adore this place and can´t wait to come back!!! Bright colored, freshly painted rooms right near the ocean. Wonderful staff! Very clean. Our daily towels were arranged and sculpted in amazing designs.. monkeys, elephants, dogs. Very nice breakfast!!
Wonderful value!
Lots to do in this village and the staff were very helpful organizing for our needs.
I miss them already!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are sweet,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Really nice staff, and good value for your money.
The rooms are nice and clean even thogh the bathroom is so tiny you can't close the door.
good location with an ocean view (even thogh you can't get in the water).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

we stayed here not expecting much. As we were having a 3 week honeymoon all over Costa Rica we had to have a cheap accommodation place to keep costs down a bit. We did not expect much from Icaco and were pleasantly suprised. We were welcomed from a long journey and told to not worry about checking in yet, get settled, have some lunch and then we would do it. This was amazing. The food at Icaco is Comidas Typica but very good. The room is clean, beds made and towel art daily. Cold beers to enjoy in the hammocks looking at the beach and we used the very reasonable laundry service and got fresh dry warm clothes back the same day. I would highly recommend this cabinas!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PenguinSalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
2.5 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 9 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tortuguero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
#3 of 7 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aracari Garden Hostel
Aracari Garden Hostel
#1 of 7 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rana Roja Lodge
Rana Roja Lodge
#11 of 36 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabinas Paisajes del Tortuguero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero

Property: Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero
Address: 200 mtr south from the soccer field | Tortuguero Village, Tortuguero 10001, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach with: Free WIFI, hot water, fans, room with satellite TV, hammock ranch, laundry services, telephone & fax services, restaurant services, tour information, secure, and most importantly very clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing