We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Amazing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   200 mtr south from the soccer field | Tortuguero Village, Tortuguero 10001, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I loved this hotel! Location is excellent, one of the best in Tortuguero owing to it's proximity to the beach. It's a short walk to the national park and the shops but far enough away to not feel on top of the more touristy part of town and very quiet at night, truly relaxing. The hotel it's self is clearly basic as you would expect from the room price, but the staff are very helpful and friendly (even arranged for us to be met in cariari and escorted for the final bus and boat journey which was great as we got lots of local knowledge before we even arrived and saw so much wildlife on the boat!). The room was clean and no problems with water at all while we were there (unlike other parts of costa rica). The breakfast was tasty and there are nice areas to sit in hammocks and listen to the sound of the ocean and outside each room to sit and relax after days wildlife spotting in the national park. I loved my stay here and would recommend it to anyone wanting a more local feel or a cheaper option.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank selson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    150
    45
    6
    4
See reviews for
47
151
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I will start with the obvious. El Icaco is a great value for the money. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. Water was not available at all times of the day but this is because of a shortage on the island. As we were there a new water pump/well was being installed for use only by this property. The manager let us know immediately about the issue and gave us the best times to shower for most effective pressure. The breakfast, as said by another reviewer was delicious and way better than the simple continental breakfast offered by most hotels.

What really stands out most about El Icaco is the customer service. We were greeted as we arrived by the property manager who was very welcoming. We had everything we needed while we were there. My son hid his IPAD under his pillow to listen to music and we left without it. The manager went above and beyond the call of duty to get it back to us. There is no mail system in Costa Rica so the owner took it all the way to San Jose and left it with our car rental agency. I can't imagine many other people being willing to do all this. We really appreciated it and will never stay anywhere in Tortuguero again. It is this type of service that is more important than anything else to me. Good people that you know will take care of you even after your bill has been paid and you are 1000 miles away. Thank you EL ICACO!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hcarone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzern
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the B&B El Icaco. The rooms were very clean and the employees nice and helpful. The hiking tour they offered was more a promenade than a hiking tour, but we saw some animals (snakes, spiders, monkeys..). Only the fact that the water was not running during the day was a little bit unpleasant (as it was not only the shower which did not work but also the toilet flush). All in all a good option to stay in Tortuguero!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aroundtheworld111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Very nice accomodations right near the beach. Rooms are simple and minimal, but clean and perfectly adequate. No air conditioning but the fans were plenty to keep cool at night. A short walk to the town center. They serve a free breakfast each morning and it was delicious!! Much better than a typical continental breakfast. Service was fantastic. Victor took us on a night hike and early morning canoe ride to see wildlife and was very friendly and knowledgable. There is a covered area where there are several hammocks for use, and was so nice to relax! Beautiful beaches, awesome sights and an all around great experience. We felt very safe and had no complaints!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LydiaL160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
As, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We didn't stay here but they were very friendly and understanding that we had to cancel and didn't make a problem of it. Next time when we are in Costa Rica we will definitely stay here! Looks like a very nice place

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MayaTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Very nice hotel right by the beach, and only a few minutes walk to the village centre. Simple but big rooms. Good breakfast. There is a small communal kitchen, but very few pots. The staff are very helpful and helped us book our onward travels. The hammocks are under a roof (good for rainy days) with a lovely sea view. One evening at sunset we were walking on the beach very close to the hotel and found ourselves surrounded by turtle babies! There were around 30 of them, making their way from their egg to the water, an amazing experience! We booked a canoe trip with the hotel that was very good. The guide, Víctor Barrantes, knows a lot about animals and is really good at spotting them! In our little boat he took us right into the mangroves where we got very close to the animals. We were within 2 meters of tucans and caymans, fabulous!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SwedenFamilytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The price was right. $35/night with breakfast. But breakfast is from 7-9 and the tours start at 6am and go tell 9am. And the boat leaving back to La Pavona leaves at 5:30am. So we did not get to eat the free breakfast either morning. The room was minimal, but clean and the shower worked great. Wifi did not work from our room or the balcony of our room, but did work in dinning area. I would not choose this location again, due to, you have to walk across a soccer field that is not lit at night. and cut through some poorly lit pathways. This was not a concern until i had to do it by myself one night and had to walk past some shady youth hanging out. I think single gals would be better off in a location closer to the main shopping area. There is no A/C, but we did not need it. There is also no TV.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whynot45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
2.5 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 9 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 stars 800 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aracari Garden Hostel
Aracari Garden Hostel
#2 of 8 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cabinas Paisajes del Tortuguero
0.1 mi away
Pachira Lodge
Pachira Lodge
#4 of 33 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 stars 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero

Property: Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero
Address: 200 mtr south from the soccer field | Tortuguero Village, Tortuguero 10001, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach with: Free WIFI, hot water, fans, room with satellite TV, hammock ranch, laundry services, telephone & fax services, restaurant services, tour information, secure, and most importantly very clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing