We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Tortuguero!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero
Ranked #5 of 10 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Very nice hotel right by the beach, and only a few minutes walk to the village centre. Simple but big rooms. Good breakfast. There is a small communal kitchen, but very few pots. The staff are very helpful and helped us book our onward travels. The hammocks are under a roof (good for rainy days) with a lovely sea view. One evening at sunset we were walking on the beach very close to the hotel and found ourselves surrounded by turtle babies! There were around 30 of them, making their way from their egg to the water, an amazing experience! We booked a canoe trip with the hotel that was very good. The guide, Víctor Barrantes, knows a lot about animals and is really good at spotting them! In our little boat he took us right into the mangroves where we got very close to the animals. We were within 2 meters of tucans and caymans, fabulous!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank SwedenFamilytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 377 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

The price was right. $35/night with breakfast. But breakfast is from 7-9 and the tours start at 6am and go tell 9am. And the boat leaving back to La Pavona leaves at 5:30am. So we did not get to eat the free breakfast either morning. The room was minimal, but clean and the shower worked great. Wifi did not work from our room or the balcony of our room, but did work in dinning area. I would not choose this location again, due to, you have to walk across a soccer field that is not lit at night. and cut through some poorly lit pathways. This was not a concern until i had to do it by myself one night and had to walk past some shady youth hanging out. I think single gals would be better off in a location closer to the main shopping area. There is no A/C, but we did not need it. There is also no TV.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whynot45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

After we got a new room (first one was really dirty) we had a great stay. The staff are really friendly an helpfull.

Fresh fruits and toast/pancake + eggs for breakfast, plus juice an good coffee.

The rooms could use some new paint. Electric shower (got zapped 1 day).
The towels and sheets had some stains, even when they changed. They felt clean, so i suppose its just some rust from the washer or something.

Tortuguero is very humid, so an aircon would have been nice. There were a fan though. So the nights will get hot.

Its just by the beach so the air outside is nice.(dont swim, ripcurrents)
Try to open a coconut with your bare hands, frome one of the thousands of c.trees.

Nice relaxing hammoc place.
Free wifi, though not great signal in the room.
Kitchen for you to use.
Just outside town(2min walk).
Feel at home.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elicaco1, Director Comercial at Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear customer thank you for your value opinion your rating said that EL ICACO is very good although with these inconvenience thanks once again , the front desk gave you a room that was not ready our apologies for the inconvenience and yes we already paint that room all the others are ok.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I decided to stay at this hotel based on other's people review. Unfortunately, we left a day before of schedule becasue we did not feel that confortable. It's a very rustic hotel, no A/C and no room TV as they claimed they have.
The real plus side is that people are very very friendly and you feel safe.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jorge l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elicaco1, Propietario at Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

No where in our advertising say that EL ICACO have a/c or TV in our rooms , this customer just set this comment in our place as a mistake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Quiet and beautiful location, clean rooms and very friendly people! Breakfast simple but fresh. Rooms only have screens so light and noise can be seen from the outside. But we enjoyed it and would definately go again!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VilleMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The rooms are a good size. Bathrooms are ok, bit cramped. The hostel is located just next to the beach, a short walk from the main centre where you can book tours etc. Resorts all require boats to get to, so if you want to do things independently, this is a good place to stay. Staff were helpful and friendly and the breakfast was good. They also gave us late breakfast to have after our tour, which was nice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The b and b Icaco Lodge in Tortuguero is wonderful and very inexpensive. I highly recommend it. It is right on the ocean , and the cheap price includes breakfast. The staff are very sweet and helpful. It does not have first class rooms, but for the person travelling on a budget, it is the best.

Room Tip: Almost all the rooms are equal and in good locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
0.3 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
272 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,118 reviews
2.1 mi away
Caribbean Paradise Eco-Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Miss Miriam 2
Miss Miriam 2
#6 of 8 in Tortuguero
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
#3 of 10 in Tortuguero
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aracari Garden Hostel
Aracari Garden Hostel
#1 of 10 in Tortuguero
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero

Address: Mtr South From the Soccer Field 200 | Tortuguero Village, Tortuguero 10001, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Price Range: $32 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach with: Free WIFI, hot water, fans, room with satellite TV, hammock ranch, laundry services, telephone & fax services, restaurant services, tour information, secure, and most importantly very clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing