We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lodge with great staff”
Review of La Baula Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Baula Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tortuguero
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice lodge with great staff”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as part of an Exploradores tour. The room was basic but huge and really clean, in a beautiful tranquil garden. The staff greeted us on arrival with welcome drinks at the boat dock which was nice.

Food was pretty good for a buffet - lots of healthy options and hot items.

Best thing about this lodge was the staff - they were very nice and welcoming.

Would recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BritishMigratoryBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    101
    60
    19
    11
See reviews for
54
101
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Narara, NSW
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I spent a night here as part of a tour to Tortuguero National Park. The rooms are very basic but quite ok for an overnighter (I've experienced worse back home), and the food is simple but good. The best thing about La Baula is the staff, very welcoming. Don't miss a trip into town (short boat ride), very small but very colourful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were here for two nights. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Pool is also nice. Friendly staff and a good place to sit on the river for drinks before dinner or breakfast. Easy boat trip to town. One bartender was kool .When we returned from a turtle trip late at night he met our boat with our drinks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bayard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

La Baula is a nice place to stay in Tortuguero, rooms are simple but yet very clean and quite confortable. Staff is very nice and helpful. Nice views of the laguna from the lodge. Food is ok, but there are better places in the village to eat. Transport to and from the lodge is paid (taxi boats). We would return to this place!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mocrgomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia La Argentina, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The staff was very nice and helpful. Everything we inquired about, we received. We wanted a kayak tour and within minutes they notified the guy . Asked about seeing the turtles, and we were put on the list and got our time. Pool was very nice and clean. Even got to use the hotel's kayaks to paddle around a bit. In the restaurant, staff was always ready to serve. Food was excellent. They were very accommodating because, even though we did not do the all-inclusive price, often we would decide to eat at the hotel at the last minute. They got us to the airport on time. No complaints.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights - family owned and operated lodge - 4/5 star grounds and eating area - really good value for money in that a trip a day is included in your stay - also all meals - home cooked food - traditional Costa Rican style - friendly staff and good service. Room basic, but no need for more - howler monkeys right outside room provide entertainment nightly and even serenade you at 5am!!!
Water taxi to Tortuguero village $3 per person one way.
Guide supplied by hotel was Rey Brown - very knowledgeable and friendly - he showed us turtles at night - ask for him by name since he is really really worth it.
Transfer to La Fortuna included a boat ride- this was an excursion in itself as well!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DocMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaarup, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Nice welcome with drinks, very nice and friendly staff, we felt lige very welcom guests very soon. Spacious dining- and bar area, Small but fine pool area. Rooms ok, nothing special but everything needed was there. We brought our own very efficient anf great guide (Jorge Mendez) who helped us wil all tours and transport, and whatever we needed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joergen_Madsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
1.5 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,041 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 8 in Tortuguero
471 reviews
1.0 mi away
Miss Miriam 2
Miss Miriam 2
#5 of 8 in Tortuguero
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rana Roja Lodge
Rana Roja Lodge
#10 of 34 in Tortuguero
141 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
138 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aracari Garden Hostel
Aracari Garden Hostel
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Baula Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Baula Lodge

Property: La Baula Lodge
Address: Tortuguero National Park, Tortuguero 70210, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Baula Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BAULA LODGE TORTUGUERO Tortuguero National Park, is located on the Caribbean Coast of Costa Rica, Province of Limon. This was established on November 13, 1975 and has an area of 18,946 hectares in the terrestrial and 52,265 hectares in the marina. This park comes to constitute the most important site in the Western Caribbean side for the green turtle nesting, and other species such as leatherback and Carey. Lagoons and waterways make up the National Park and are the habitat of species such as crocodiles, alligators, manatees, turtles, crabs and the millennial fish Gaspar and others. This national park was created to protect a wide variety of flora and fauna found in the area and is part of Wetlands of International Importance of the Ramsar Convention. Strategically located opposite the Tortuguero Lagoon and only 5 minutes by boat from Tortuguero National Park is La Baula Lodge, a rustic hotel, very comfortable that re-opened in June 2008 with a clear vision of providing its customers personalized service, quality and comfort in the midst of a natural sanctuary. La Baula Lodge has focused on the respect, protection and conservation of the environment and the flora and fauna of the area. The Lodge in general has a real Caribbean style, painted in vivid colors that identify with the culture of the area, beautiful exotic gardens, restaurant, pool and large bar, laundry service, experienced guides and quality service is what we offer, plus of course 45 standard rooms with ceiling fan and private bathroom with hot water. The hotel is located on a beautiful 2 acre property in the middle of flora and fauna that identify the Tortuguero National Park, where the exotic sounds will make your experience unforgettable, here you will have the first opportunity for a destination of immense natural wealth, the hotel is strategically located facing the lagoon and close to Tortuguero Town. Our Bar and Restaurant offers national and international meals and drinks, and of course Caribbean and is completely open, giving expansive views of the tropical gardens and the Laguna Tortuguero. Come on and enjoy a true natural adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your La Baula Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Baula Lodge Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing