We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Stay”
Review of La Baula Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Baula Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tortuguero
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were here for two nights. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Pool is also nice. Friendly staff and a good place to sit on the river for drinks before dinner or breakfast. Easy boat trip to town. One bartender was kool .When we returned from a turtle trip late at night he met our boat with our drinks.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bayard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 270 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

La Baula is a nice place to stay in Tortuguero, rooms are simple but yet very clean and quite confortable. Staff is very nice and helpful. Nice views of the laguna from the lodge. Food is ok, but there are better places in the village to eat. Transport to and from the lodge is paid (taxi boats). We would return to this place!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mocrgomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The staff was very nice and helpful. Everything we inquired about, we received. We wanted a kayak tour and within minutes they notified the guy . Asked about seeing the turtles, and we were put on the list and got our time. Pool was very nice and clean. Even got to use the hotel's kayaks to paddle around a bit. In the restaurant, staff was always ready to serve. Food was excellent. They were very accommodating because, even though we did not do the all-inclusive price, often we would decide to eat at the hotel at the last minute. They got us to the airport on time. No complaints.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights - family owned and operated lodge - 4/5 star grounds and eating area - really good value for money in that a trip a day is included in your stay - also all meals - home cooked food - traditional Costa Rican style - friendly staff and good service. Room basic, but no need for more - howler monkeys right outside room provide entertainment nightly and even serenade you at 5am!!!
Water taxi to Tortuguero village $3 per person one way.
Guide supplied by hotel was Rey Brown - very knowledgeable and friendly - he showed us turtles at night - ask for him by name since he is really really worth it.
Transfer to La Fortuna included a boat ride- this was an excursion in itself as well!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DocMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Nice welcome with drinks, very nice and friendly staff, we felt lige very welcom guests very soon. Spacious dining- and bar area, Small but fine pool area. Rooms ok, nothing special but everything needed was there. We brought our own very efficient anf great guide (Jorge Mendez) who helped us wil all tours and transport, and whatever we needed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joergen_Madsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

BE WARNED. CAUTION!
The front office staff are a bunch of cheats looking to take advantage of guests.
We stayed during turtle season and while we were initially impressed with the facilities things only deteriorated after we met the staff which checked in guests.
1. we made a reservation well in advance and recieved a confirmation. Upon arrival they had no idea we were coming. I showed them the confirmation email. They proceeded to point fingers and after sometime they then said they could make a room available. (mind you my wife and I are both fluent in spanish, so miscommunication was not an issue)
2. They asked if we would be interested in dinner buffet at $15 USD a person. We agreed as they descibed it as being very good and loads of options. At dinner they served tuna pasta salad (canned tuna in pasta salad), mashed potatoes, steamed veggies, sliced cucumber, and tilapia in a cream sauce. It was all bad. Cumbers were soggy, potatoes -flavorless, tuna salad- horrible and tilapia was undercooked. I wont even mention the dessert.
3. We booked a turtle watching trip thru the hotel. While it was more than booking it in town we figured it would be easier for transportation to book at hotel. At $40.00 a person for 2hours one would expect the hotel to make sure we had everything in hand before heading to see the turtles. Completely wrong! At the boat launch, suited up and ready to go, the same to men who checked us in told us they didnt have our tickets to the National Park. That we were supposed to buy them. Well nobody ever told us this. So here we are, its 7:45pm. the tour starts at 8:00 and we are being told we cant go. Needless to say when one books a tour thru the hotel, one would expect the hotel to set up araingments. Not at La Baula!
4. Breakfast buffet which was included in our room cost at $35 per person. The food once again - horrid!. Not even worth describing. Just imagine you most hated foods served in a buffet and the food is cold.
5. Dead cockroaches in the shower.
6. To top it all off upon checking out the same two guys who checked us in wanted to charge us for the tour tickets we never recieved.
All in all DO NOT STAY HERE! I know all the other reviews are good. But honestly this place left a very bad taste in my mouth. Its not worth the risk. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LeoDorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

La Baula is located a 3 min ($3 per person) water taxi from Tortuguero village.

The lodge is in beautiful surroundings, the rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffets and lunches were very good.

The only disadvantage is that if you plan to organize tours through the village (as opposed to the hotel) then each return trip will set you back $6 per person, so add this to your budget. Saying that the hotel organizes tours but my wife and I wanted to support the association of local guides.

Overall, I'd recommend La Baula lodge as a great base in the national park.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichF004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
2.5 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,107 reviews
2.0 mi away
Caribbean Paradise Eco-Lodge
0.2 mi away
Miss Miriam 2
Miss Miriam 2
#6 of 8 in Tortuguero
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ilan-Ilan Trails & Lodge
1.9 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 8 in Tortuguero
497 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
#3 of 10 in Tortuguero
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Baula Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Baula Lodge

Address: Tortuguero National Park, Tortuguero 70210, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tortuguero
Price Range: $42 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Baula Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BAULA LODGE TORTUGUERO Tortuguero National Park, is located on the Caribbean Coast of Costa Rica, Province of Limon. This was established on November 13, 1975 and has an area of 18,946 hectares in the terrestrial and 52,265 hectares in the marina. This park comes to constitute the most important site in the Western Caribbean side for the green turtle nesting, and other species such as leatherback and Carey. Lagoons and waterways make up the National Park and are the habitat of species such as crocodiles, alligators, manatees, turtles, crabs and the millennial fish Gaspar and others. This national park was created to protect a wide variety of flora and fauna found in the area and is part of Wetlands of International Importance of the Ramsar Convention. Strategically located opposite the Tortuguero Lagoon and only 5 minutes by boat from Tortuguero National Park is La Baula Lodge, a rustic hotel, very comfortable that re-opened in June 2008 with a clear vision of providing its customers personalized service, quality and comfort in the midst of a natural sanctuary. La Baula Lodge has focused on the respect, protection and conservation of the environment and the flora and fauna of the area. The Lodge in general has a real Caribbean style, painted in vivid colors that identify with the culture of the area, beautiful exotic gardens, restaurant, pool and large bar, laundry service, experienced guides and quality service is what we offer, plus of course 45 standard rooms with ceiling fan and private bathroom with hot water. The hotel is located on a beautiful 2 acre property in the middle of flora and fauna that identify the Tortuguero National Park, where the exotic sounds will make your experience unforgettable, here you will have the first opportunity for a destination of immense natural wealth, the hotel is strategically located facing the lagoon and close to Tortuguero Town. Our Bar and Restaurant offers national and international meals and drinks, and of course Caribbean and is completely open, giving expansive views of the tropical gardens and the Laguna Tortuguero. Come on and enjoy a true natural adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your La Baula Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Baula Lodge Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing