We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great value, friendly staff, good food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Baula Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Baula Lodge
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Tortuguero
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value, friendly staff, good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

I absolutely love this lodge. You're right on the river and pretty much in seclusion which makes it so relaxing. The rooms are average and with ceiling fans but you're in the jungle so it was perfectly fine. I will miss the staff the most ... they boost you with energy and get your day started. They're all English speaking and have the best stories and recommendations. The tours they provide are outstandingand service was impeccable ... and, even though it's not at all expected, I couldn't help myself from even overtipping! Now, the food ... ALL meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner) were included in the rate and all of it was phenomenal, especially the fish! One of the most delicious fish we've had. If you go there (which Highly recommend) please say hello to Luis, Choncho and Miguel (and of course everyone else) from KIm and Mike from L.A.). Pura Vida!!! :-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    89
    52
    16
    9
See reviews for
44
92
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Check in: We were greater from the boat with a refreshing watermelon juice and handed our keys easily.

Room: I stayed in room 25. This was opposite the restaurant and close to the pool. The wifi worked well in the room.

I had a comfortable double bed, fan, table and chairs and the shower had good water pressure and was hot.

Restaurant: I ate breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel. All buffet style fresh food. The only issue was the flies in breakfast around the jabs etc but the staff tried to keep them away.

Bar: The bar was great. 2-4-1 cocktails during happy hour. The bar staff were fantastic, Freddie was very friendly and so were all the other staff.

Pool: The pool was very refreshing and clean. The hotel provides pool towels which was good.

The view over the river is fantastic. This is such a well run, relaxing hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beckyboo1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I loved the place. very basic but this is what you need at that secluded place. Fresh and tasty food, friendly stuff. Will come back

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dmitry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I had a fantastic experience at La Baula. The staff was extremely accommodating and rooms were spotless and comfortable. Nestled practically inside Tortuguero National Park, La Baula is overflowing with natural, rustic beauty and is quite a refreshing change from the busy streets of San Jose. We really enjoyed lounging poolside amidst lush tropical plants and flowers (and a few giant iguanas!), the early morning canal tour where our experienced guides pointed out tons of exotic wildlife, and just hanging with people who live and work at the lodge. Also, the coconut-guaro cocktails are delish! If you are looking for a charming and serene place to stay, I highly recommend the La Baula Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank h8h67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We spent 2 nights and 3 days at La Baula. The staff took every opportunity to maximize our time at Tortuguero National Park. The meal plan was delicious and provided a solid menu, while Freddy, the bartender took care of all of our drink and entertainment needs. La Baula is well connected to all of the recreational tours, and we thoroughly enjoyed the early morning canal tour. There is a vast amount of wildlife to be seen on that trip and I highly recommend it. The pool there provides an excellent opportunity to laze away an afternoon as well. Take a trip into the town of Tortuguero to enjoy the small car-less village and take a hike through the national park. The rooms were nothing fancy, but clean and well tended. I can't speak highly enough of the service from all of the staff there during our stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

I stayed here for 3 days....the scenic beauty cant be better, and the good vibes from the family running the place made my stay a great experience. Food was great, Costa Rican food....no fancy food, but tasty and filing.
Speaking to the family who run the hotel (who have plenty opf experience running hotels in other parts of Costa Rica), said bought the place 20 months ago, and will work on improving the rooms which were already good to me.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pichibul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

My friend and I were on a school trip and stayed at this hotel for two nights, July 22 and 23. We both received multiple bed bug bites on our backs. We had to completely fumigate our luggage. Please do not stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tas1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baulalodge, Propietario at La Baula Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
It's a shame you've gone with a bad impression of our lodge. We are very sorry for your bad experience and ask you for an apology.
We have had many groups of students from the same company with which you traveled and they have always gone very happy with our service and facilities.
Too bad we were not informed at the time in order to have done something about it, as a change of room or whatever it took to make you feel comfortable and safe.
It sometimes happens that students forget to close the door when they leave the room and then the mosquitoes come in and disturb the sleep time.
We are already taking steps to check and prevent this situation from happening again.
Thank you very much for your comment, it makes us grow and improve for our future customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
2.6 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 9 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 stars 848 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ilan-Ilan Trails & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rana Roja Lodge
Rana Roja Lodge
#9 of 33 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pachira Lodge
Pachira Lodge
#4 of 33 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 stars 1,031 reviews
6.5 mi away
Turtle Beach Lodge
Turtle Beach Lodge
#5 of 33 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 stars 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Baula Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Baula Lodge

Property: La Baula Lodge
Address: Tortuguero National Park, Tortuguero 70210, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Baula Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BAULA LODGE TORTUGUERO Tortuguero National Park, is located on the Caribbean Coast of Costa Rica, Province of Limon. This was established on November 13, 1975 and has an area of 18,946 hectares in the terrestrial and 52,265 hectares in the marina. This park comes to constitute the most important site in the Western Caribbean side for the green turtle nesting, and other species such as leatherback and Carey. Lagoons and waterways make up the National Park and are the habitat of species such as crocodiles, alligators, manatees, turtles, crabs and the millennial fish Gaspar and others. This national park was created to protect a wide variety of flora and fauna found in the area and is part of Wetlands of International Importance of the Ramsar Convention. Strategically located opposite the Tortuguero Lagoon and only 5 minutes by boat from Tortuguero National Park is La Baula Lodge, a rustic hotel, very comfortable that re-opened in June 2008 with a clear vision of providing its customers personalized service, quality and comfort in the midst of a natural sanctuary. La Baula Lodge has focused on the respect, protection and conservation of the environment and the flora and fauna of the area. The Lodge in general has a real Caribbean style, painted in vivid colors that identify with the culture of the area, beautiful exotic gardens, restaurant, pool and large bar, laundry service, experienced guides and quality service is what we offer, plus of course 45 standard rooms with ceiling fan and private bathroom with hot water. The hotel is located on a beautiful 2 acre property in the middle of flora and fauna that identify the Tortuguero National Park, where the exotic sounds will make your experience unforgettable, here you will have the first opportunity for a destination of immense natural wealth, the hotel is strategically located facing the lagoon and close to Tortuguero Town. Our Bar and Restaurant offers national and international meals and drinks, and of course Caribbean and is completely open, giving expansive views of the tropical gardens and the Laguna Tortuguero. Come on and enjoy a true natural adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your La Baula Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Baula Lodge Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing