We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“easy staying with good service”
Review of Cabinas Tortuguero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabinas Tortuguero
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Lovely island and good staying at this place.
They are the new owners and doing well with excellent service.
Rooms are all you need with an extra fan too keep it cool, witch wasn't needed during the rain period. The bathroom is a bit small but with warm water and very clean.
Because of the rainy season we could not dry our cloth so the owners offert them too dry as a service.

Breakfest was more then enough, we started with coffee/bisquites and went on a tour(6am). When we came back we had our second part of our breakfest.

I can recommend this place too any off you who wants to stay for a good price and service.

Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David-MT-0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Cabinas Tortuguero
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 121 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

I decided to try this place even though the ok reviews because its the cheapest option in town. I was really happy I stayed here because there are two new owners Jose and Pablo and they are awesome. They are always available and are really helpful. The rooms are small but comfortable and the shower have super hot water. I would def recommend anyone going to tortuguero to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dodi87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Cabinas Tortuguero was very cost effective and life was slowed down staying here. Rooms were small, bathroom smaller and both could have been cleaner / less dusty. We had an ant problem from the start on one bed. When it rains the courtyard turns into a pool. Tough to dry out clothes in the rainy season. The cafe next door starts their music very early in the morning and it is a loud spot early in the day. Service is Spanish speaking, kind, but not always around. Nice hammocks outside rooms. Location is attractive directly next to the National Park and Ernesto Tours which is highly reccomended for a row boat water tour by local Ernest to discover the birds and animals of the national park by boat! Ernesto is a local who grew up in Tortuguero and provided a fabulous experience. The cabinas are very inexpensive and perfect for budget conscious travelers.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chaiesecer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Yes, it is much like about less competition at this village. Result is average quality of accommodation. It is very easy to set higher price but not any better quality.

We walked around village 2 times, some places checked 2 times and then we took decision to stay here. The reason was very simple, this was the only place stuff keep smile and being friendly even if we went away and come back again. All others played injured - off course it is my money and my right to choose.

Compare to many other places, also this one belongs to medium standard and I do not like to put more overall rating than average - it means not bad. I would encourage anyone going there.

Since this review I put this personal parameters on reviews:
Room with window: YES
Bed quality: good enough
Ants: YES
Bed Bugs: NO
Cockroach (Blackbeetle): YES
Noise: subwoofers and disco from neghborhood, but quiet enough by night
Bathroom: OK

Room Tip: Take the room you like, see it first.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paddler_Hostel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Tortugeuro is a very small village and if you´re not there in turtle-season, just do yourself a favor and find a place where you can relax and hang out for a while as there is not much to do.

I loved the place, to be honest. It was very basic and simple, so definitely ok if you´re travelling on a budget. But no-english speaking staff to help you out wit basics like: can I boil some water... I should learn that phrase I guess.. ;)

That said, the room was clean, windowless and the mosquito-shields in front of the window weren´t completely mosquito-proof. The staff was friendly by the way, I could keep my hammock during the night (as they usually get them in to prevent from being stolen) . The neighbouring Coconut House Restaurant serves good food and the canoetrip by Ernesto (two doors away) was good.

So yeah, it´s an ok place, but not for more than one night...

Room Tip: The roomd with shared bathroom are in a humid warm place on the 2nd floor...so just take a private a...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiveLikeTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

It's a cheap place and clean. But can be quite noisy. Owner is a friendly guy.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merijn111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Nothing luxurious but for $8 we thought you cant expect too much. Only issue is we had cockroaches all over our beds one night and no staff to talk to.. Nobody was ever at the reception

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travels200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
2.4 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,082 reviews
0.1 mi away
Miss Miriam 2
Miss Miriam 2
#6 of 8 in Tortuguero
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cabinas Paisajes del Tortuguero
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Miss Junie's
Hotel Miss Junie's
#9 of 34 in Tortuguero
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Tortuguero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Tortuguero

Address: across from Supermarket Bambu, Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Tortuguero
Price Range: $26 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice hostel in the Caribbean village Tortuguero. We have a tropical garden and a veranda with hammocks. We offer nature tours, yoga and singing bowl massage. Our rooms have wifi and hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cabinas Tortuguero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Tortuguero Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing