We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Turtles in Tortuguero” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Evergreen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Evergreen Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Turtles in Tortuguero”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Spent two night here as part of a Gate 1 tour with a Pachira guide, Giovanni who was excellent.
You are in the middle of the Jungle. with no roads and at this Lodge the only way around is by boat. The rooms are clean ,comfortable and in the middle of the jungle. Animals everywhere in the grounds. Excellent pool and bar. The food is typical [Tico] ,plentiful and of a reasonable standard. The highlight was going to see the Turtles come ashore, lay their eggs ,cover them and head back to the Ocean. Amazing experience, well organized and only $30/pp

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmcc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    270
    54
    13
    9
See reviews for
134
330
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
78 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed for one night as part of a package. Short boat ride to the town, which is a good thing. Feels lie real little lodge rooms in the jungle. Wildlife all over the resort....we got up close with sloth, red eyed tree frog and jesus christ lizard right outside the room!

Food is pretty average so maybe take a snack or two if you are fussy.

Be prepared for the noise of the forest at night.

Overall, really pleased with our stop there

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Fantastic eco-lodge with wonderful scenery, wonderful wildlife and excellent staff.

You can only get here by boat, but the isolation is perfect.

As an eco-lodge you should not expect air conditioning etc, but the rooms are spacious, well looked after, good bathrooms and good beds. The grounds have lots to see and the food is delicious.

Venue 2 for our honeymoon and it was fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TristanLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here as part of our tour with Gate 1 Travel. I had read the reviews obsessively, so I was prepared for the no A/C, no TV, etc. What I wasn't expecting was how relaxing it was. We went in the rainy season, so it rained every afternoon-there were even a couple torrential storms! Maybe it's just me, but the sound was peaceful. I loved the fresh air coming through the screens. I guess we had quiet neighbors, because we didn't have noise problems like other people have reported. We heard the howler monkeys, but I was expecting them and for me, it just added to the experience. We saw LOTS of wildlife. Everyone was very kind and helpful and Heidi, the manager, was always around with her beautiful smile. We loved the pool, but didn't really swim a lot. The sun sets very early and the weather was pleasantly cool. The food was good and plentiful. We especially loved the sweet rolls in the mornings. I wish there was more variety, but hey! That's just me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had 2 great days and nights here. Food was great, tours and guides could not be beat. The manager, Heidi, is warm and caring. Its a big place so it can be overrun with large, loud groups at times. There is no A.C. anywhere so be prepared to be dripping wet everywhere. Good wifi in lobby.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AkaFlaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon around Costa Rica.
Firstly, the lodge accommodation is basic - a bed in a room with a basic bathroom. BUT, we are deep in the rainforest! Those expecting TVs, mini-bars etc will be disappointed but what do you expect when you're staying in the wilderness?
The location is fantastic - the boat ride to get there is magical. The trips out in the canals are also great. The turtle pool is really lovely and the bar is well appointed too.
Some disappointments for us were the food - it's a buffet in a 'canteen' style dining area. There's also very little to do in the evening. After dark there's only the bar area to visit. It's not possible to go to the village as it's a boat ride away.
We were also disappointed not to visit the turtle beach as part of our time there.
Also, take some earplugs! the Howler monkeys aren't called so for nothing.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nottles82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. You must take about an hour boat ride (which is beautiful) to get to the property. Once there, we received a welcome drink and were shown to our cabin, which was part of a 4 room building (though they have some private villas). The room has no A/C, just screens for windows and fans We didn't think it was too hot though and we were comfortable. It is nice to hear all the jungle noises at night.

We went to the pool our first day and the pool area was beautiful and clean. Nice bar area. The following day we took a hike and a boat tour. These were organized through Gate 1 Travel, but I think the hotel has tours you can do as well. We ate all meal on site and they were all good...buffets, but tasty.

PROS:
Peaceful and calm.
Friendly staff.
There were a few bugs in the room (you ARE in the jungle) and the room was VERY basic, but it was clean overall.
It rained very badly one day we were there and they gave us umbrellas and ponchos to use.

CONS:
No towels at the pool - you had to go to the front desk to get them and they were very stingy with them.
When you buy drinks at the bar, they don't put the prices on the menu or the receipt you must sign. We didn't know how much anything cost until we checked out...though the prices were reasonable...$6 for a wine, $4 for a beer.
Free Wifi, but only in designated areas...not in your room.

Overall, I would recommend staying at the Evergreen Lodge and visiting Tortuguero.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natter1327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
2.0 mi away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 9 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.7 mi away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 35 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pachira Lodge
Pachira Lodge
#4 of 35 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
1.3 mi away
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
#2 of 35 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge

Property: Evergreen Lodge
Address: 5 minutes by boat from the main entrance to Tortuguero National Park, Tortuguero 11502, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Tortuguero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Evergreen Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Evergreen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Hotel Tortuguero
Evergreen Lodge Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing