We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Relaxing Costa Rican Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chimuri Beach Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chimuri Beach Retreat
Save
You added Chimuri Beach Retreat to your Saves list
Sámara, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
2 reviews
“Relaxing Costa Rican Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I booked my stay at Chimurri from October 5, 2011 to November 7, 2011 and from start to finish it was an absolutely amazing experience! The cottages are simple and clean and have an authentic rustic feel to them. The beautiful Playa Negra is only steps away from the cottage's front door. Kiana welcomed me with open arms and assisted me spiritually, daily with my retreat goals. If you are just interested in a quiet getaway and nothing spiritual, this is also the place for you! The town of Puerto Viejo is a quick taxi ride or 10 min bike ride away to buy groceries or eat out at one of the many restaurants the town has to offer. This retreat changed my life and renewed my energy and spirit and I would suggest anyone wanting a quiet place to reflect and enjoy nature to stay at Chimurri!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimcostarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
13
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

A quiet, simple life is what we were looking for and exactly what we found at Chimuri Beach Retreat! We stayed in a tiny, rustic cottage just steps away from the beach, surrounded by beautiful jungle, and the environment provided the energy we needed to recover from a far too hectic life. Our 3 weeks there were completely rejuvenating! Kiana, our hostess, is very warm and friendly and a wealth of information. Her partner, Mauricio, who has a beautifully gentle heart, offers very interesting guided walks through the jungle, and as an indigenous person, he offers a wonderful perspective that your average tour guide would not. If you're looking for someplace away from the 'tourist scene', choose Chimuri on Playa Negra. There is great dining and bike rentals at Banana Azul (a short walk down the dirt road) and the Saturday morning farmer's market in the village of Puerto Viejo is a nice bike ride away... great place to buy fresh produce for your meals!
Please note: the proximity to the jungle does mean you have to deal with bugs... you must be fastidiously clean in your cottage, or you'll have sugar ants joining you in minutes! There is a mosquito net over the bed, tho we did not encounter many mosquitoes at this time of year. There is a rooster on the property who will ensure you get an early start to your day! :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We booked 3 weeks at Chimuri Beach Retreat because we wanted to get away from it all. No TV, no phones, no distraction. We wanted to live a very simple life and thats exactly what we got. If you are looking to live a simple and yet still very comfortably Chimuri Beach retreat maybe what you are looking for.

Chimuri has a great location right across from a beautiful, quiet beach but still close enough to the town to enjoy all its amenities if you desire.

With the new Gazebo it is ideal for those interested in yoga, healing, meditation, and creative arts...and it is a wonderfully affordable place to relax and enjoy an authentic Caribbean beach retreat.

Mauricio and Kiana are excellent hosts, providing us access to filtered water (so no lugging bottles from town or purchasing a bunch of plastic ones) and having a cleaning lady come every few days to keep the houses clean. With the full kitchen we were able to cook most of our meals ourselves. Don't miss the farmers market in Puerto Viejo on Saturday mornings. Or the resturaunt Bread and Chocolate ... hmmmm

A highlight for us was a guided tour with Mauricio, who is indigenous Bribri. He is very knowledgeable in the identification and uses of native jungle plants and animals.

You can easily rent bicycles either in town or up the road at Banana Azul and it makes getting to/fro Puerto Viejo very easy for shopping, restaurants, etc. But you're also very removed from the town, which I found quite lovely, and you're right in the midst of the jungle but by the sea. Taxi is only $4.00 USD if you don't want to walk or ride into town.


We really love it there and will definitely plan to go back again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShinDao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I stayed 3 weeks at Chimuri Beach retreat during the less crowded and drier fall season, and I was happy to find it was just like it was described and pictured on the website. I wanted a quiet beach retreat instead of a more typical vacation spot, and Chimuri is a great place to enjoy the beach and the peaceful garden setting at a low cost.
The Austrian born hostess, Kiana, has lived in the Puerto Viejo area for 30 years and was welcoming and gracious. She is well connected with the yoga and spiritual healing community, and her new gazebo and private room is a beautiful ocean view spot for yoga and massages at Chimuri Beach.
Kiana is also a practitioner of Johrei, a Japanese tradition of offering and receiving healing light and love. She generously offers Johrei to her community and guests, and all donations go to the international Johrei organization.
As an Arizona retreat owner (spiritfallsretreat.com), I appreciated the warm welcome and the private personal space that Chimuri Beach offers. It seems ideal for those interested in yoga, healing, meditation, and creative arts...and it is a wonderfully affordable place to relax and enjoy an authentic Caribbean beach retreat.

Room Tip: The Sea Heart cabin is being completely renovated and directly faces the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spiritfalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Chimuri has the best location right across from a beautiful, quiet beach but still close enough to the town to enjoy all its amenities. The property is beautifully landscaped and it is truly a tropical paradise. This is a great place to live very simply and enjoy all the wonders around you. The cottages are rustic and built in the traditional caribbean style, so if you are expecting it to be like home, then I would recommend that you stay home.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianBeachWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

I am a professional photographer from Florida and I have stayed at the Chimuri cottages 3 times in the last couple of years. I have always had a nice comfortable place to stay and I have taken some of my best photos right there on the property. If you like nature and the beach Chimuri is the place for you. I also like how the owners Mauricio and Colocha try to protecct all the animals and plants on the property. I saw anteaters,sloths,humming birds, many other birds Jesus Christ lizards, posssums, 3 different kinds of hawks and poison dart frogs. A true nature Paradise. Sincerely: Angel

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grasshopperOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

If your are a dirty back packer and like camping then...this is your place. We visited Puerto Viejo (4 women and my teenage daughter) and rented all three cottages for one week. The location is great, across a nice beach BUT that's it!!! The cottages are old, infested by termites, dirty and without proper ventilation. It is almost impossible to sleep on their cots, trying to grasp air from a malfuntionning, noisy , 10 inch diameter fan. Look at my pictures and you'll notice how run down the place is. We advised the owners about the issuesbut they ignored us. I personally rented the bigger cottage and could not use the kitchen as I noticed that termite droppings were falling from the ceiling anytime someone was in the upper bedroom just above the kitchen!!! Furthermore as there is no screens, you either have to stay in the dark by closing the shutters or leaving everything open, welcoming all critters. I was also scared to use the shower or touch the plugs are the electrical wires are overly exposed! We could not wait to go home after a week!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VeroniqueFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColochaPuertoViejo, owner at Chimuri Beach Retreat, responded to this review, March 28, 2010
First of all, we appreciate critical, constructive reviews. But honestly, we felt quite offended with this (quite biased) one and we feel compelled to give a response. The review was posted 6 months after the visit without verifying if the encountered problems were actually fixed, (which they were). The sink was repaired right away after departure and the missing cover of the breaker box (which was a carelessness of the electrician who had changed the thermo -shower and the wiring a few days before) was of course reset as well. The "10-inch" fans is actually not true, they are 14 inches in diameter and ventilate very well. A word about "termite infested": As very eco-minded owners we do not use any pesticides or toxins to eliminate termites (which in the tropics is truly a challenge one has to confront all the time). What we do is change affected pieces of lumber periodically, especially in the off-season. We are really sorry if this guest was feeling that she did not get a good deal with our rates ($ 12/pers/night in this 4-pers. cottage). We are glad that other guests feel well treated and were actually enjoying their stay. Anyhow, we are grateful for even this extremely negative opinion, as it gives us the opportunity to get even better within the price range we can offer. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 stars 1,303 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 stars 599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casitas Joanna
Casitas Joanna
#39 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Novelty Playa
Hotel Novelty Playa
#18 of 97 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Vikingo
Casa Vikingo
#29 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
5.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages
Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages
#8 of 97 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
5.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimuri Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimuri Beach Retreat

Property: Chimuri Beach Retreat
Address: Playa Negra | 400 m north of bar The Point, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 97 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chimuri Beach Retreat offers three affordable, simple, self-catering, Caribbean style one- or two person equipped cottages in a tropical garden in front of a quiet beach for your personal retreat, either self-directed or supported. Meditation and introspection, Yoga, Universal Energy healing, holistic therapies and guided nature walks for your personal time away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chimuri Beach Retreat Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing