We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heart of the Sea”
other travelers have booked this property
The plunge pool and main arch of the dome.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The plunge pool and main arch of the dome.
The entire dome. The viewing platform rests on the top of the bedroom. The approach and the front door.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
The plunge pool and main arch of the dome.
The entire dome. The viewing platform rests on the top of the bedroom.
The approach and the front door.
Paintings from my favourite local artist in the main dome.
Bedroom with relaxation seats in the windows
Queen size bed with canopy.
The stairs to the observation platform.
The observation platform features two adirondack chairs and a hommock.
spa style shower made from river stones. also, slate bench with rain shower head and hand shower.
Washroom counter with stone sink and bamboo faucet.
Our first guest arrived during construction!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Anne L
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heart of the Sea”
Reviewed November 24, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Spent a week here in November.
Location: Playa Negra (black beach)
Easy 10 to 15 min walk into Puerto Viejo.

House: 1 bedroom, which is secure with safe included. Kitchen has a small fridge, stove. Fully functional, stocked with dishes, glasses, pans etc. Bathroom has both a rain shower head as well as a hand held nozzle.

Grounds: nice path from the drive to the dome. Dome was fit into the jungle, not the other way around. It's all very natural.
Frogs, geckos, sloths, lizards, spiders, toucans.

Owners: Eric and John are always available for help or questions. They have built a private path that doesn't go directly past the dome when they come and go from their house. They have some very well behaved dogs which don't have access to the dome. Being a dog owner myself, I appreciated knowing they were there. They know the difference between people staying at the dome, and people who shouldn't be on the property.

Review: Wow! I knew I was going to enjoy it before I got there. Pictures really don't do this place justice. I never felt like I wasn't safe. I specifically say this because I travel alone. I had my privacy when I wanted it. John or Eric would stop and make sure everything was good or if I needed anything. John works on keeping the pool clean. Leaves and seeds are enevitable in the jungle. They gave me a couple numbers for the Tuk Tuk and a reliable taxi driver so if I was at dinner I could have them called. Helpful hint, if you take a taxi tell them Casa Amma. That's the street it's on.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy O
Huntingdon, Quebec
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Such fun!”
Reviewed August 16, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed from Feb 24 to approximately Mar 4 2016. Our hosts John & Eric were amazing! Very knowledgeable about the area, very friendly, and even provided us with a river tour! The Dome was lovely (I called it The Hobbit House). Open to the air, no need for air conditions. We did have a few small overnight visitors exploring the premises and on one occasion had to challenge a small lizard for the rights to the coffee maker! The gardens were fabulous and lush. If you want to experience the feel of living in a jungle without the fear and with all the comforts of home, then this is the place for you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The adventure, the privacy, the laid back feel.
Liked least: There was nothing to like least.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2016
Thanks Wendy
It was so good having you and mr o here
Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria...
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exactly like the photos - LOVELY place”
Reviewed August 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My husband was celebrating his birthday, i wanted to take him to a place where he can disconnect and breath a different air, definitely this was the best choice.

The dome is amazing, different and really cool! all amenities are well described, and here are some of our key highlights to share:

-The pool is delicious, cold water exactly what is needed in Caribbean weather

-The decoration is exquisite, the sofas near the pool are super comfortable.

-Loved the shower!

-The sights are breathtaking, the music from nature runs all over the place, is amazing!

-Since this is a tropical country and specially this is a quite humid area, is important to have in mind that there are no AC in the house, (it would be a great idea to include it in the room because actually that is the only space that could use some, the rest is quite cool), in the room there is only a ceiling fan and a regular stand fan and due to the mosquito net covering the bed is difficult for the air to run, is quite hot, that would be the only thing that i can think of suggesting for improvement in the house.

Eric, our host, was more than kind, helpful and polite! we were really happy and enjoyed a lot our stay. thank you Eric & John!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole house
Liked least: reaaaally hot in the bedroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2016
Victoria it was wonderful having you here and we look forward to seeing you again. You forgot to mention that you accidentally broke the fan in the bedroom and that was the reason your second night was hot. It's all been remedied
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limbiclad...
Lakewood, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“rumble in the jungle”
Reviewed April 12, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a wonderful 3 night stay at Casa Corazon Del Mar - John and Eric are perfect hosts, permitted privacy but were very willing to share tales, gardening secrets and their joy of living in this space. You do have to realize that you are in the jungle, noise and creatures abound and we were very open to all experiences. The sleeping was comfortable, no AC, but a great cross breeze with a powerful fan and ceiling fans. The plunge pool was 'refreshing' and midnight dips were in order.

I particularly loved the frogs and geckos and morning awakenings by parrots and monkeys. Who could ask for me - thank you John and Eric for a most wonderful experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the creatures - actually, the design was fabulous and relaxing
Liked least: no ice cubes
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2016
Hope you two will come back. Your time here was too short. Thank You for choosing us. It was such a pleasure getting to know you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey35
Lakewood, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Dome Home in the Rain Forest”
Reviewed April 12, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Staying at Casa Corazon del Mar during our Jungle Vacation was an amazing choice for us. It is a three-room dome home, equipped with cooktop, refrigerator, bottled water, Fantastic Rain Shower, toilet, comfortable mosquito-netted bed, and a wonderful sitting area by the plunge pool. The large plants in the bathroom are a great touch. Exquisite! It’s your own little hobbit house, in the Rain Forrest, so relax and enjoy the sounds of nature. Kind of like camping, isolated and private, but with all the extras – can you imagine all this? Plenty of fresh air and fans, no AC noise to disrupt the quiet. There are lots of geckos, birds and dragonflies whizzing about. We even had a frog or two or three, jumping all around! Some are small, so keep your eye out for these colorful little guys.

Fortunately, John and Eric are perfect hosts, who also live on the property and helped in every way if needed. They even included a bottle of wine and some goodies for when we first arrived. We had such a fantastic stay here. Loved the plunge pool, where at night, we shut off the lights except for the ones in the pool and little tea lights inside. It was wonderful to sit back and enjoy the sounds of the jungle. Yes, Wi-Fi in the jungle really does work well. Sitting above the dome, on the upper deck with coffee and tea in the morning, was a great way to start the day. Make sure you get up early so that you can see and hear the animals waking too. Don’t forget to stop in town and pick up some bakery from one of the two fabulous bakeries and coffee shops, Bread & Chocolate or De Gustibus. You’ll be glad you did. Eric and John can give you some excellent suggestions for places to eat for dinner too. Amimodo and Stachu’s con Fusion were two of our favorites.

If you want the Jungle Experience, this is it. We know of some people who are not used to having all the critters around, but we loved being in the jungle with them. We even watched one frog do laps around the pool!!! I would say, that we’re not bicyclists or huge walkers, so a car was in order for us, we’re 64 yrs young. Marco’s Pizza, The Point Sports bar, and the beach is a bit of a walk from here, but other parts of Puerto Viejo are further, about a Km away, maybe 20min or so if you walk. We watched the bicyclists negotiate the roads and holes. No helmets here. Taxis are recommended at night for the short $7 ride. We loved our adventure with geckoes, toucans, pizotes, and incredible plant life. We even woke up to a flock of parrots chatting VERY loudly in the trees above the dome, but for only a short time. It was very exciting. You might even see the howlers during their early evening stroll.

The Casa Corazon del Mar was perfect for our stay. Don’t forget your bug spray. We used essential oils and they worked fine. Don’t forget a flashlight. It gets really dark in the jungle. Coming from the city you don’t really realize how dark it can get out here. You will need it to traverse the trail to the dome, but John always turned on the outdoor light, so we knew we were heading in the right direction, to our little hobbit home in a jungle paradise. Pura Vida!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staying in the Rain Forest.
Liked least: No ice cubes.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2016
Thank you so much for choosing us. We are always so happy to provide a place for people like you and Christine to have a new experience. We hope to see you again in the future, we felt as though we were just getting to know you. All the best! I hope your weather is warming up!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBowna...
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Find out why CNN recently filmed here...”
Reviewed March 16, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It goes by many names. The dome house and the Hobbit house to name just two. What it is though is a beautifully built trio of interlinked concrete ‘igloos' with a private plunge pool and a jungle canopy viewing deck - all hidden in private grounds next door to the owners' home at the end of a secluded track just a few minutes walk from the black sands of Playa Negra on the shores of the Caribbean. It's not surprising that the CNN cameras were recently down to do a feature on this unique house. Driving from the north about a kilometre before Puerto Viejo you'll see the ocean in front of you and a sports bar on your left. As you round the bend take the first turn on your right - if you cross a bridge you have gone too far. The track has a few turnings. Take the first left, then turn right and drive to the end where you will see some big green gates. There is a parking bay on the left and the house is to be found at the end of a path that winds through the jungle for 30 yards or so. Everyone's first impression is the same - it's simply stunning! Everything is based on curves, and this is indoor/outdoor living at its best. The living room/kitchen opens onto the pool, and from it lead doors to the beautiful bathroom and the cosy sleeping quarters, with their huge, circular, wooden window shutters (secured with big metal bars if you want to keep the jungle outside). The kitchen is well-equipped, but do remember to pack all the essentials like coffee, sugar, salt, pepper, etc if you are going to be self-catering. If you are not planning on cooking much Marco's is just over the bridge on the beach road and does amazing but thin crust wood-fired pizzas to eat in nor take away. Alternatively there are loads of places in town - just a twenty minute walk away (although probably double that if you are heading to anywhere at the southern end of the strip). Given the great setting on the edge of virgin jungle I'd recommend spending as much time ‘at home' as you can, particularly if you like the close company of critters. From huge bugs with wings like giant leaves and bright green and red tree frogs, to sloths and other native fauna, this a nature-lover's dream vacation. Your hosts live on the same plot of land with their tribe of rescued dogs. Their house is further into the jungle and close enough that if you need anything (and nothing is too much trouble) they are only seconds away, but screened enough so you can still enjoy complete privacy. Sip a complimentary glass or two of wine on arrival and count yourself lucky you stumbled on this little corner of paradise.'

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unique design and location
Liked least: Cleaner forgot to replace salt and pepper :-)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khrista69
Dawson Creek, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“poor quality, mildew, and not kept up. Paid for Hilton got a tent”
Reviewed February 29, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

dont do it!.
Next the place was not clean- the bathroom smelled badly of urine. By the third day I couldn't handle it anymore and had to scrub the floor. The shower although looked lovely splashed water all over the bathroom floor hence our feet were wet every time we went to the bathroom as it never dried, the whole time we were there. The bamboo tap was felling off, the door handle on the bathroom door, top pulled off when i closed the door.
kitchen- mold everywhere. Now I understand it is always damp with high humidity, but the freezer was moldy and made all of our food smell and taset like mold. The cutting board on top of the fridge was full of mold both sides. I had too wash the whole kitchen in order to make it clean enough to cook. The tea bags in the boxes all moldy in the box. Trash was never emptied our whole time we were there. After the third day my husband become sick with a head and chest cold. he has an allergy to mold.And is still trying to recover for the illness.
Bedroom.- because of all of the creatures and rain coming-in the windows we had to keep the windows closed at night and it was like sleeping in an sauna, then we are sweating and lying on wet sheets. the sheets never were dry. Never once n the 7 days, offered to wash or change them. Find upon arriving that the safe doesn't work, so had to lock the door to the bedroom, No door handle and the pins kept falling out of the bedroom door and the bathroom door. if we leave and had to lock things in our bedroom then we have to kept the widow shutters shut as well, so no air in the bedroom at all during the day/ night. It was very unpleasant experience for us.
living room, the most uncomfortable chairs I have ever sat in and the cushions were moldy/wet as well.
Pool- this we were so excited for and was the number one reason we choose your dome. greg loves to soak in a pool on holiday and to have our own that would be great. Would have been except it was dirty and never turned on. I had to clean it every day myself. i was told by John "good luck with that" . beach a lot further then 300 meters away. Also told you had bikes we could use/you didnt. .
The day before we left I did tell you I wasn't happy and things weren't great and only then did you offer to put our sheets in your dryer. DRYER!!!
You know what the creatures were not the issue.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: terrace
Liked least: mold uncleanly promising one thing and getting nothing exected
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 11, 2016
This is categorically untrue and the person who wrote this knows it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing