We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Service, Affordability, Location, all Excellent !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lizard King Hotel Resort
Southern California
1 review
“Friendly Service, Affordability, Location, all Excellent !!!”
Reviewed September 6, 2009

If you want the real taste of Costa Rica then the "Lizard King" in Puerto Viejo is the place to go. Our daughter recommended this place to us and it couldn't have been better. The owners Luis and Lillie run a clean, affordable, friendly, excellent service resort. The stay includes a wonderful breakfast at their on location restaurant. A full bar complements the authentic Costa Rican feel you get while enjoying a dinner there. To top things off you have access to a 24 hour pool, the beach is just across the street, and they have a beautiful internet cafe with up to date computers and help in using them. Everything in Puerto Viejo is right at your doorstep including a post office, general store, western union, bank, restaurants, night life, street venders etc. Wether you are a early riser or a night owl the resort is most accommodating. The Lizard King is the true authentic great service place you would want to go while you visit Costa Rica; we know we will again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veajna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    50
    25
    16
    21
See reviews for
30
85
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth, NJ
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2009

I stayed at this hotel with my husband and son in June. The room we stayed in was air conditioned and had cable TV. We were there for 4 days and every morning we were greeted by the owner's Lilian and Luis and they always asked if we needed anything and if there was anything they could help us with. Another plus was that the hotel was with in walking distance of the beach. They also have a wifi cafe which was excellent because the laptops had skype and web cameras with headsets; so it as easy to reach people back in the states. The room and the rest of the place was cleaned out every day and we appreciate the help from the owners on where to go for sightseeing. We would definitely comeback to this hotel the next time we are in puerto viejo!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseygirl932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2009

The Lizard King Resort Hotel in Puerto Viejo is one of the better places to stay in this town, with an included breakfast that was the deciding factor in staying longer than I’d originally planned-the pancakes are highly addictive! The rooms are clean, and the staff is warm and familiar, two things I’ve learned not to expect when traveling, especially on a budget. Standard rooms have vintage charm, and the modern rooms have all the amenities- all overlook the pool. If the Mexican Restaurant is open, the chefs work magic and often offer organic specials straight from the family farm.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlegreentease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2009

The owners were very friendly and helpful. The rooms had cable and air conditioner and it was very clean. They even helped us arrange and put together travel events and sites. The food was good, especially the breakfast. One of there best features is there WIFI and internet service right in the hotel. They also had a pool which looked inviting although i spent most of my time at the beach which is only a 10 minute walk from there. Overall, it was way better then i expected and i plan to be back there next year.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank new_yorker2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Lizard King for approx 5 nights and we really enjoyed our stay. The owners (Lillian and Louis) are lovely - Tvery helpful and safety concious regarding the resort and who comes in and out. The resort is all constructed of wood (built by Louis!), with an open, relaxing feel, breakfast was delicious, the rooms are very adequate, with 2 fans (ceiling and floor), TV, and clean bathroom with a hot shower. The pool area is gorgeous (although somehow we never managed to take a dip as we were out exploring a lot and it rained!). It felt like having a caring mother when I got sick for a night or so, as Lillian was willing to bring my breakfast to the room as I couldn't move..and even wanted to take me to the doctor should I have needed it! They were also kind enough to look after our bags whilst we disappeared to Panama for a few days! The website originally said free internet and that there was a mexican restaurant - the internet was down for the majority of our stay and the restaurant was closed - but only due to the Lillians's son (who is the chef) being injured in an accident - so can't comment on the food. I am sure it would be lovely though. Definitely worth the money we paid to stay and we will definitely stay again should we be back in Puerto Viejo again!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ED77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2008

This hotel was listed in The Lonely Planet as "high end" but it is far from it. The website touts the pool, Mexican restauant and Martini bar but currently the restaurant and Martini bar do not exist. They are building and are working on them but they are not available. And to make it even worse, the workmen begin bright and early in the morning - 7am-ish (at least on Saturday when I was there) so forget relaxing. If the hammering and sawing don't wake you up then the resident dog will with it's early morning barking. And finally, if that isn't enough then the hotel workers will wake you with their constant knocking on the doors. The rooms are average for a budget or midrange hotel in Costa Rica (certainly not "high end") and the bathrooms are not nice. The towels completely ruin the experience as they look like they have been borrowed from someone's rag bin. On the bright side, the rates were reasonable (espeically considering the state of the property), breakfast is included and is good and the pool is nice. My internet request never received a confirmation and my email never received a response so we had to call directly. There are many better hotels in Puerto Viejo for similar affordable prices. Once the renovations to the bar and restaurant are done perhaps it may be worth the stay but in the meantime I advise skipping it.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — does not even come close to being as advertised on the website
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomadlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, Ca
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2008

We completely enjoyed our stay here. As another reviewer noted, this is a budget hotel. My husband and I checked out 13 hotels in Puerto Viejo before settling on this one. We were looking for the best value for our money and we certainly got it!

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. We loved that use of the internet was included in the price of the stay. They made a wonderful hot breakfast each morning served with fresh juice and coffee. It was served in thier great bar that is both tropical and classy at the same time. It was a very relaxing and calming atmoshpere.

This was the cleanest budget hotel we stayed in. The rooms were spotless and they brought us fresh towels everyday. We were also very impressed that the windows were all well screened in and there was a mosquito net. Many budget hotels do not adequately protect guests from the risk of malaria and other diseases spread by mosquitos. The owners of this hotel clearly care about thier guests.

We thought the pool was awesome. It is a simple, square pool that is perfect for cooling off from the heat. I wouldn't want to lounge around it because the beach across the street was so lovely. It is a great pool for a swim.

The hotel was also close to town, so we were able to easily walk everywhere we wanted to go. It was also far enough from the clubs to not be loud at night.

Overall we had a fabulous stay at this hotel. It was quaint, romantic and wonderful. I don't think there are better budget accomodations in Puerto Viejo.

  • Liked — The wonderful staff and great rooms
  • Disliked — Pool is only for hotel guests, so friends in another hotel couldn't join us swimming
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary_Beth_Collins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maritza
Hotel Maritza
#10 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabinas Coconut Grove
Cabinas Coconut Grove
#15 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Indalo
Hotel Boutique Indalo
#5 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Lotus Garden
The Lotus Garden
#26 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
172 reviews
3.0 mi away
Namuwoki Lodge
Namuwoki Lodge
#14 of 104 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
228 reviews
2.6 mi away
Finca Ardilla
Finca Ardilla
#13 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lizard King Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lizard King Hotel Resort

Property: Lizard King Hotel Resort
Address: Calle Principal - 600 metros sur del Banco | Costa Rica (On the main road of Puerto Viejo), Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lizard King Hotel Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lizard King Hotel & Resort for its great location, friendly service, fun amenities, beautiful wooden rooms and building structure.Free WiFi, BreakfastFree, ParkingFree Swimming Pool Access - 24 hours, 7 days a weekFree Bus-stop Shuttle to Hotel,Great Location - Next to Everything & across the Street from the Beach.LaundryService,Orthopedic Mattresses,Air Condition, or fan,Mini refrigerator,Mini Bar,Cable Television, Coffee, RestaurantBakery and PastriesTours and Attractions Appointment ManagementOnsite. Massage Service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Lizard King Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lizard King Hotel Resort Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing