We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lizard King Hotel Resort
Azusa, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Honeymoon Heaven!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

For our Honeymoon we stayed at the Lizard King Hotel in Costa Rica. The experience we had was amazing. We were greeted with an outstanding staff that made us feel right at home. I was impressed with the rooms because they were very clean and comfy, and cleanliness is important because I'm kind of a clean freak. The pool was sparkling and so refreshing. We woke up everyday with a beautiful breathtaking ocean view. The free continental breakfast was very tasty especially the pancakes. My favorite was the Huevos Rancheros, Yummy! We enjoyed strolling to the shops, which were walking distance. We will definitely be coming back next year for our anniversary!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2014Tinaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    50
    25
    16
    21
See reviews for
30
85
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Description: We stayed at this hotel our last two nights in Puerto Viejo. Unfortunately we had reserved elsewhere and weren't able to venture out and find a hotel with the same amenities as this one. We'll definitely stay here our entire trip next time. We really liked having the coffee brand Britt and a coffee maker in our room. We had an air condition room with a queen size bed. It was great. Definitely

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I loved my time at the Lizard King Hotel. The staff was super friendly and professional. I felt at home as soon as I got there. The location was perfect too! If you're trying to have a relaxing Caribbean vacation, then you should stay at this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tyler D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Lizard King Hotel And Resort. Beautiful location and awesome beach views. This hotel staff is very professional and friendly. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. The breakfast restaurant is open 24 hours and the food is delicious. I had a wonderful experience at the Lizard King Hotel, I recommend it with 5 Stars, You will enjoy it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We really loved staying in this hotel fro a couple of days. All the amenities are really awesome and one can happily come here for their next stay even. The beds are very comfortable to relax and every other related aspects are simply perfect. Needless to mention about food, it is just awesome. The prices are even very much related to the various amenities we get here like swimming pool and cocktails and even the best part is utmost safety.

Room Tip: All room are really very good!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eshan705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We hadn't heard about the Lizard King Hotel until we were walking one day and saw a sign of a girl in the swimming pool with cocktails. This is exactly what I wanted on a hot Caribbean day. We went in and reserved it for one night. We ended up staying seven days total. Nice staff, comfortable rooms with air condition, clean swimming pool and delicious breakfast. It is next to everything you need.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sachin_508Sharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Puerto Viejo was definitely not what I was expecting..it was a super young vibe with tons of action going on once the sun went down. Lizard King was a great place to stay, as is located smack on Calle Principal, the site of all of the action, yet felt very secure and safe (Puerto Viejo is awesome, but seems seedy). The room was plain and minimal, but was clean, had a good fan, and cool high ceilings. We had some trouble returning a rental car to National/Alamo on a particular Sunday, which was going to put a major wrench in our travel plans. Bethany, who runs the hotel with her husband, went above and beyond and so helpful helping us resolve with issue (our Spanish skills were not good enough to figure this one out). Also, breakfast was included and it was delicious. If you want to use Puerto Viejo as a jump off to get to Bocas Del Toro, Caribe Shuttle will pick you up right at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maritza
Hotel Maritza
#10 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Indalo
Hotel Boutique Indalo
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lotus Garden
The Lotus Garden
#25 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Perla Negra
Hotel Perla Negra
#29 of 103 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
184 reviews
3.0 mi away
Namuwoki Lodge
Namuwoki Lodge
#14 of 103 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
226 reviews
1.2 mi away
VIP Hotel Playa Negra
VIP Hotel Playa Negra
#24 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lizard King Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lizard King Hotel Resort

Property: Lizard King Hotel Resort
Address: Calle Principal - 600 metros sur del Banco | Costa Rica (On the main road of Puerto Viejo), Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lizard King Hotel Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lizard King Hotel & Resort for its great location, friendly service, fun amenities, beautiful wooden rooms and building structure.Free WiFi, BreakfastFree, ParkingFree Swimming Pool Access - 24 hours, 7 days a weekFree Bus-stop Shuttle to Hotel,Great Location - Next to Everything & across the Street from the Beach.LaundryService,Orthopedic Mattresses,Air Condition, or fan,Mini refrigerator,Mini Bar,Cable Television, Coffee, RestaurantBakery and PastriesTours and Attractions Appointment ManagementOnsite. Massage Service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lizard King Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lizard King Hotel Resort Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing