We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a nice welcome...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lizard King Hotel Resort
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not a nice welcome...”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I arrived to Puerto Viejo after a long 7 hours by boat and road from Tortuguero, having been up for about 9 hours already. When I arrived on a (Monday afternoon), no-one was at the reception, so I shouted hello a few times. Eventually, a mature lady came down with 2 guests who looked like they were leaving. The lady asked me what I wanted, I told her I had a reservation and she asked me to pay up front, which I didnt mind. I asked to see the room, which was very basic and the swimming pool area was dark and grim looking. The room was $35 with breakfast, which is what I would pay for a high end hostel or low end hotel. However, the standard of the room, property and most certainly the service was rated at low end hostel at most. Definitely far too much I wanted to pay. When I was looking around the room, I asked if I could get wifi, she told me it depends on my laptop. I tried and it didnt work and she literally told me that I could go look somewhere else if I wanted. That is what I did and let her keep the money I had paid. I wouldnt recommend this kind of attitude to anyone, especially in such a nice laid back part of the world.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennieRTWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
code333, Manager at Lizard King Hotel Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Jennie, I apologize for your bad experience at our hotel. Though I was not part of the management team during this scenario, I can't help to think that a big factor was bad timing. The "mature lady" was in the process of passing on the business to new ownership and coming from a 7 hour boat ride probably wouldn't render the most patience. Nonetheless, we are constantly seeking ways to improve our hotel and provide our guests with the best experience possible. Here's what we have done since the date of your post:

1) Extended our WiFI Internet connection area reaching all of our rooms.
2) Added two new members to our staff in order to reassure someone will always be there when you arrive and a service bell.
3) Replaced the wood deck planks
4) Upgraded our pool filter with a state-of-the-art filtration system
5) Repainted and refurbished our rooms

We hope the next time you're in the neighborhood we can make it up to you.. Thanks!

Sincerely,
Luis Daniel Fernandez
General Manager
Lizard King Hotel & Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    50
    25
    16
    21
See reviews for
30
85
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I just spent two weeks at the Lizard King Hotel while visiting Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica. It was sad leaving - I really grew to love the place and the nice owners Lillie and Louie - who not only provide the best breakfast in town, but also gave me great advice on eating-out, exploring and other things. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Bradford Duplisea
Canada
http://duplisea.ca/

Room Tip: All good. I guess if you want to be close to the pool you'd stay on the bottom level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradford D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We were disappointed with our room. It was incredibily small with no storage space or anything else - very very basic. We have stayed in several places in Costa Rica for the same price or less (we paid $55 per night for a basic room with no aircon) and expected slightly more for the price. We were on the ground level by the pool and it wasn't very private at all, people walked past our room at all times and we were woken up by people standing and talking loudly outside our room in the morning. Rooms on the upper level look like they have more privacy. The pool seemed nice and clean and quite big but there is no room around it for sunbathing.The shower only seemed to operate on a lukewarm temperature and gave me a mild electric shock when I tried to turn the temperature up. There was also only one, very thin, sheet on the beds.

On the plus side the location is very good, right in the town and it's set back off the main street so you don't get noise from there. It's also right next door to a brilliant bakery. The breakfast was very big and tasty with a good choice and the owners were very helpful and friendly, coming down from their room when they heard us having trouble locking our door. They also refunded us for a night that we had already paid for when we decided to leave Puerto Viejo a day before we had orginally planned to.
This could be a good base for a few days in Puerto Viejo but after being there and seeing the amount of different places there are in town I personally think you could probably find somewhere a bit nicer for the money with a bit of research. Having said that, I'm sure you could find a lot that are worse too.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JimR1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We found this place after walking around to a few other hotels/hostels in the area. 5 minute walk into the city on the main road.

Pros: good location (close to city but quiet), clean pool, big rooms, breakfast, friendly/helpful staff

Cons: shower head was spraying in 4 different directions, WIFI signal very poor in rooms

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IK1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Lizard King was a good hotel though nothing special. The rooms were basic (very small mirror and almost no storage space), but clean and well maintained. The pool was nice and a great way to cool down after the heat of the streets though not big on sunbathing space. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good. There are similar hotels very close that are cheaper and pffer much the same facilities.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We found this hotel online. The reviews were right, the breakfast is really yummy. The owners were a sweet couple who even bargained with us towards the end when we were low on money. There is also another woman who speaks English, or is from the US and is very helpful. The older Costa Rican woman who owns it with her husband is so sweet, she was telling us about her parrot who was crying because he lost his friend recently. This hotel is safe and clean. It depends on your necessities, it is not luxurious but definitely comfortable and away from noise. The rooms were all very clean. There is also internet onsite but sit in the front area to get the best reception. Have a great trip!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura8469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2011

We stayed 5 nights. It was a safe, clean, friendly hotel. The family made us feel very welcome & helped us with any questions we had. The free breakfast was fantastic! The pool was a nice added bonus! Great value!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amythehaircutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maritza
Hotel Maritza
#10 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Indalo
Hotel Boutique Indalo
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lotus Garden
The Lotus Garden
#26 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Perla Negra
Hotel Perla Negra
#27 of 103 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
184 reviews
3.0 mi away
Namuwoki Lodge
Namuwoki Lodge
#14 of 103 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
226 reviews
1.2 mi away
VIP Hotel Playa Negra
VIP Hotel Playa Negra
#24 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lizard King Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lizard King Hotel Resort

Property: Lizard King Hotel Resort
Address: Calle Principal - 600 metros sur del Banco | Costa Rica (On the main road of Puerto Viejo), Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lizard King Hotel Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lizard King Hotel & Resort for its great location, friendly service, fun amenities, beautiful wooden rooms and building structure.Free WiFi, BreakfastFree, ParkingFree Swimming Pool Access - 24 hours, 7 days a weekFree Bus-stop Shuttle to Hotel,Great Location - Next to Everything & across the Street from the Beach.LaundryService,Orthopedic Mattresses,Air Condition, or fan,Mini refrigerator,Mini Bar,Cable Television, Coffee, RestaurantBakery and PastriesTours and Attractions Appointment ManagementOnsite. Massage Service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Lizard King Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lizard King Hotel Resort Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing