We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lonely Planet says the Lotus Garden is "upscale". Not in my book!”
Review of The Lotus Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lotus Garden
Reviewed June 29, 2009

First of all, I have to say I was completely disappointed with the Puerto Viejo and the Caribbean side in general. This area is very run down and dirty. I have never seen a beach as gross as the beach at Puerto Viejo.

Lonely planet dubbed the Lotus Garden as an upscale hotel in Puerto Viejo and the cost was $70.00 per night. I cannot imagine anyone saying this was an upscale property. It was one of the nicest we saw in Puerto Viejo, but considering most places were shacks, that isn't saying much. We paid 70 per night for the Falls Resort in Manuel Antonio and Termales Del Bosque in Cuidad San Carlos. Both of those were truly wonderful and very upscale. For what you get at the Lotus Garden, $70 is a ripoff.

The room- A king sized bed, however, the sheets were thin and yellow and the comforter had cigarette holes burnt into it. The rooms smelled of sewage. I saw the biggest cochroach I have ever seen (at least 3 inches long) in the jacuzzi. The airconditioner was loud and had seen its better days. Overall, this property is very run down.

The service- The front desk staff seemed nice enough. We didn't complain while we were there. We just slept and got the heck out first thing in the morning.

The beach- The beach is across the street and was extremely dirt. Piles of garbage, broken bottles, packs of stray dogs, buzzards, and shacks lined the beach.

Excursions- We went to Cahuita National Parque which is only a few miles away and it was a great place. Lots of wildlife

Food- We didn't eat there. We didn't even stay for the free breakfast. We did eat the night we arrived across the street at an Italian place and had an excellent Pizza.

I would not return to this hotel or recommend anyone staying anywhere in Puerto Viejo. If you are determined to travel to the caribbean side, I would drive a little further down the coast and stay in Playa Uva or Manzanillo. There didn't seem to be many nice properties, but we saw a few, such as Las Palmas and Suenos (not sure of the spelling). If you only have a short time in Costa Rica, don't waste your time going to the caribbean! Manuel Antonio National Parque, Arenal National Parque, Monteverde Cloud Forest, the Nicoya Pennisula, Rincon De Vieja are MUCH more worth seeing!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelnfool_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 175 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2009

We all know that Costa Rica is abundance in their bats. Or do we REALLY? My experience with Jordan's was definitly positve. Great people! Then enviroment is excellent. However our room, shogun was repeatdly infested with bats 2 nights in a row. One staff helped us our tremendousy by using a broom to kick em' out. They kept comin'. I definitly recommend the place. If your into the bat scence...batman, batwomen, cuddleing with the creatures, or just plain sick freak you might like it. OTHER THAN THAT IT WAS GREAT AND VERY HELPFUL

Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
Thank ak_meekin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Hime suite for 4 nights and had a great stay. The room was spacious with a nice balcony overlooking the pool. The air conditioner in the room was much needed and the jacuzzi tub was great after our jungle trek in Manzanillo (just down the road a bit). We made that suite our private little sanctuary for the nights we stayed there and that totally made the difference on our vacation. It was like its own little paradise there. My girlfriend loved the puppies at the hotel and I got some great pictures of the sloth living in the front yard (see below).

We also ate at The Lotus Garden restaurant and we had one of the best meals on our whole vacation. All you can eat sushi really hit the spot!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dkjg33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2008

We had eaten at the Lotus Garden many times before and when we had to change hotels in Puerto Viejo because our other choices were full we decided to stay here. We stayed in the Geisha suite which cost us $70 per night, not a bad price for a suite with a huge bed, jacuzzi, air conditioning, and a mini fridge.

We didn't use the jacuzzi because it didn't look clean and the room's cleanliness also seemed a little questionable as there were cockroaches in the bathroom and dust on the floor when we arrived. One of the curtains fell down in the bathroom randomly. The door to the bathroom would not shut unless you leaned something up against it from the other side and the door to outside would not stay shut unless you locked it. The bathroom windows are meant to be opened but were padlocked shut so we couldn't open them.

The restaurant is wonderful and we ate there four times during our stay. We were also uninformed that they had breakfast there but there are many great breakfast spots in Puerto Viejo so I don't mind. The air conditioning, and mini fridge were great as it was hot when we were there.

I must say that it's a shame that this hotel is not better looked after because it has a unique feel to it that is not like other hotels in Puerto Viejo and I think they could potentially do really well.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank adrianacarmela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2008

My wife and I have just spent 3 days at Jordan's and were rather disapointed. We paid $70 p/n for the Samuri suite and it was definately not value for money. The jacuzzi was dirty, the rooms were rundown and not cleaned on a daily basis, towels weren't replaced daily and a window pain fell out of one of the windows.
The gardens were poorly maintained and the swimming pool wasn't cleared of leaves. Oddly enough we did see gardeners, room maids and handymen but they seem to be about as productive as an old 1970's British Leyland manufacturing plant.
This basically supports Claire27's review a year ago. Basically Claire, nothing has changed. Lonely Planet rated the place, but I'm not sure when they were last there. We stayed in a couple of hotels down there and they were of a similar price but much better. Mind you the AC worked and was a bit of a godsend.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DavidABC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2008

We stayed in the Shogun suite and the Geisha rooms during the month of October in 2008. Our room one night was broken into while we were there by someone claiming to be on the hotel staff as a security guard - so we let him gt away and reported it as we quickly discovered that he was not associated with the hotel since they do not employ and will not employ security guards.

After reporting this, the hotel did NOTHING to protect us (changing our locks, hiring a security guard, etc), and then about 5 days later our room was broken into when we were out and we missed the theif by about 2 minutes. The doped up hotel manager David was busy sitting around complaining about how his girlfirend was breaking up with him (a song and dance that was like a broken record while we were there), and we could see that the theif had broken into our room with a crowbar, and clearly knew that we had a nice laptop in our room, and that was the theif's target - which he stole along with some other personal items.

When we went to thew hotel manager (a woman of Puerto Rican background - she basically said "tough", and the hotel would not claim any responsibility - and then mentioned HOW SHE COULD NOT UNDERSTAND WHY THIS KEEPS HAPPENING TO THEIR GUESTS!!

I suggested that she might want to hire a security guard or a couple - and she just shrugged - no regard for their guests well being at all.

Overall we were disgusted by their lack of courtesy regarding this matter and would NEVER recommend this hotel to stay in ever to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank mbthom1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2008

We were two women from Germany and got there by chance. We were very very happy about our choise to stay there. Everybody was very friendly, the atmosphere was very peaceful und exotic the room pretty clean and comfortable. Everything is build up with lots of love for the detail. We had dinner there several times and it was delicios. I can recommend it to everybody to stay there.We enjoyed it very very much.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GermanySunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
669 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,055 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa Vikingo
Casa Vikingo
#27 of 54 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lizard King Hotel Resort
Lizard King Hotel Resort
#36 of 54 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
215 reviews
0 mi away
Cabinas Coconut Grove
Cabinas Coconut Grove
#19 of 54 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
62 reviews
1.6 mi away
Physis Caribbean Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lotus Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lotus Garden

Address: 25 Mts South of Stanfords, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica (Formerly The Lotus Garden (Jordan's Jacuzzi Suites))
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $46 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lotus Garden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Relax and enjoy on Costa Rica's Caribbean coast in our Japanese style suites and gardens. A friendly and attentive staff, a pleasant garden with swimming pool and the beautiful ambiance of The Lotus Garden restaurant will make your stay with us unforgettable." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lotus Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lotus Garden (Jordan`s Jacuzzi Suites) Hotel Puerto Viejo
The Lotus Garden Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing