We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible. Simply Breathtaking.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Viva Beach Houses

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Viva Beach Houses
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Incredible. Simply Breathtaking.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2010

We stayed in Puerto Viejo last time we came to Costa Rica, and it wasn't our cup of tea. Looking for lodging close by but not in PV, we settled on Punta Uva. So glad we did. It's remote but close enough to a few stores and restaurants (we did not have a car.) Casa Viva is simply paradise. The owners have built incredible craftsman style cabinas, lovingly constructed down to the last countersunk dovetailed joint out beautiful woods. The landscaping is a wildly diverse selection of bromeliads, orchids and tropical flowers, and splendidly maintained. The beach is much closer than we expected. The rooms are spotless, well appointed and comfortable. Tips: at least at the moment, the WiFi is only available in the common area of the main house, not in the cabinas. The beach is either good for snorkeling or for body-boarding, depending on the weather and surf conditions. The least expensive units in the "double" don't have a kitchen, just a small fridge and coffee maker.

Highly recommended. You will be amazed at the beautiful flora and fauna and the friendly, helpful staff.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank nahenahe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    6
    0
    2
    4
See reviews for
17
32
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

Genie was wonderful and very accommodating. The bungalow was very clean and comfortable. We could hear the sounds of the waves, that's how close we were to the beautiful beach! Gorgeous gardens and natural landscaping. This is paradise and I will be sure to return with my family!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

go here if you are looking for privacy, quiet, good views from the wrap around porch, hosts who leave you alone but help when asked, a quiet isolated beach. leisyrely breakfast (make yourself) on that great porch.
not so hot if you want to scrimp, want to be close to food and retail. or meet and socialize.
We went with out two teen agers and somewhere between the gardener who gave my wife a fresh coconut and a straw and limes every morning and the dusk scenes on the beach, it was just right for us.

Things we did - swim (very mild surf). walk to the point, walk down coast towards manzanillo, tour of gandoca refuge (local guides are great,- jeanne knows them) walk to dinner at selwyn's (cool!), jaguar rescue center

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelinRIers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

We stayed at several inns and drove around and looked at many others in the area but we settled here because our friend and local surf instructor Hershel introduced us to Alaine who was managing Casa Viva in the owners absence. What we liked best about Casa Viva was the hospitality of the management, proximity to our favorite beaches (100 mt. away) and quality of the cabins which were more like small individual homes, crafted elegantly and simply from local wood. The gardens and grounds are beautifully kept and Frank, one of the groundskeepers, brought us coconuts every morning. Alaine helped us arrange horseback riding on the beach and other tours guided by our favorite guide Raul. We are hoping to return to Casa Viva and stay for a month or more next time. It is truly paradise. -Jason and Shelly

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaypop70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2010

I spent a relaxing three days here with my two adult children. Our solid wooden cabin was beautiful with full kitchen, a large living area, two bedrooms and the covered wraparound porch complete with dining table and two relaxing hammocks. We had a (distant) view of the water but could hear the soothing waves in the background.
The beds were comfortable, with mosquito netting ( unfortunately with a few holes!) The walls do not go all the way up to the vaulted ceiling.There are only ceiling fans, thus It was admittedly a bit warm for sleeping.... just be prepared. And be prepared for the middle of the night howler monkeys doing their thing! Not a sound you will soon forget.
The grounds were lovely with a short walk to a very safe beach.....even with the constant waves while we were there there was no undertow that we could feel. And you can walk for miles along the beach including a great, albeit muddy, walk up to the top of the nearby point.
The owner was extremely helpful, and even arranged for another vacationer to drive us into town on our departure when the local cab driver failed to show up on time. She lent my children two bikes to go into Puerto Viejo one afternoon for free. And she has a supply of cold beer at a reasonable price!
We didn't have a car, so getting groceries was a bit of a challenge, but there was a small grocery store about a fifteen or twenty minute walk towards Puerto Viejo. Bring a flashlight if you do this after 6:30 as the road is not well lit and there are numerous pot holes, often full of water.
All in all , a highly recommended lodging.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingdoc-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawton, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2010

My husband and I just returned from CR, staying 1 week at Casa Viva, Punta Uva. We loved every stress free moment. The cabinas are beautiful, fully equipped, and charming. Jeannie is an excellant hostess. We felt very welcome and at home during our stay. Do remember that you are in the coastal rainforest. You will see lots of wildlife and insects. So... if you can't handle mothernature, you may be better off on the Pacific side in a resort!

The cabinas have 1 or 2 bedroom settings, with full kitchens and baths (no tubs, just showers). They do have hot water, a plus in this area. They do not have AC but we were fine with the breeze and the ceiling fans. (beds were a smidge hard, but we didn't mind.) The best part was being so close to the beach. You could hear every wave hitting the shore. Now, if you are an early riser, don't miss the beach around 5 a.m. It was the best time. The monkeys are very active in the early morning and the shoreline is breathtaking in the morning sunlight. I miss it so much already!!

The beach in Punta Uva is beautiful, quiet, clean and nice for swimming in the warm waters. My suggestion for Punta Uva is to slow down, take a deep breath and simply relax. This is NOT a touristy area. All of the resturants and cafes are very small and locally owned, as are the cabinas and bungalows. It was nice not to see a Duncan Donuts or McDonalds the whole time we were there!!! Rent a bike and take a ride. You see so much more this way, plus the roads are pretty rough so a car just isn't the way to go. We rented our 2 bikes for $80 for the week. It was the best way to get around.

As for places close to Casa Viva, we loved to ride into Playa Chiquita (5 minute ride) and eat at La Biela or next door at CJ's juice joint. Both have charming owners and resident dogs to keep you company. The food at both was outstanding and very inexpensive. We also enjoyed eating at Jardin de Angel, just down the road from Casa Viva. I can't say enough about the food here. I LOVED EVERY BITE!!!! The breakfast (CR typical) was so good and the fresh salads were amazing. Such a lovely place. It is one of my favorites of all times to eat. It's a must in my book!!

Love quiet, stressfree, slow settings in the tropical rainforest? You may love this place as much as I did.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
188 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2010

I have stayed at Casa Viva twice, once with my family in the 2 Br house and once by myself in the 1Br house. Both stays were fantastic and like most of the other reviewers I cannot say enough about Jeannie and Dave. I stayed with them the second time when Dave was quite sick and neither of them brought me down a bit. Maybe because I am a physician I was able to relate to their difficult situation in dealing with Dave's illness, I came to love them even more than my first trip. Their place is a paradise with all of the handiwork they put into building it one house at a time. If you are looking for a quiet place off the beaten track with a magnificent beach and sloths in the yard this is the place. If you are looking for "all inclusive" try the Pacific side of CR. This is a great beach destination and a wonderful place to decompress. No phone, no tv, no computer, just beautiful nature, an amazing beach, and the blue Caribbean. The houses are a master work of native woods and the style is Caribbean including geckos, sloths and the lot.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertocollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Perla del Caribe
La Perla del Caribe
#15 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Finca Chica
La Finca Chica
#3 of 7 in Cocles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Kukula Lodge
La Kukula Lodge
#3 of 51 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Viva Beach Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Viva Beach Houses

Property: Casa Viva Beach Houses
Address: Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Casa Viva Beach Houses Hotel Puerto Viejo
Casa Viva Beach Houses Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing