We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveler rating
118
18
4
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
18
4
1
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 143 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2014

We loved the place! When we saw it on line we thought it was a nice place but once you get there it is even nicer!
We stayed on the Great Potoo Cottage. It was nice and clean. There was 2 rooms (with king and twin each room), a really well equipped kitchen - in case you feel cooking, huge tables and chairs inside- a table/ chairs outside. They provide soap and little packages of shampoo which I did not expected and found it as a nice detail. The place has a small pool which we found perfect to cool off after the beach. It is perfectly located, close to the beach and great restaurants (walking distance). There is a gated parking too.
Julie & Chris (owners) were super nice and polite, always willing to help! Julie suggested great dining options for us and nice places to visit!
I definitely recommend this place if you are planning to visit Puerto Viejo!

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Epastrana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2014

Pura Vida!
Julie and Chris Taylor , you were the best host I´ve ever found in a hotel in the Caribbean ocean. Really amazing place (Cashew Hill Jungle Lodge) & fantastic people ( Julie & Chris) managing this hotel!
Thanks a lot!
Jon

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for an hotel to stay at in puerto Viejo and thanks to a mistake in the telephone number we got to this option! It couldn't we better! The owners are kind and friendly, always trying to help U out and treat you like family! The place has a wonderful view to the beaches and a walking distance to the puerto Viejo Centro!!! The cottages are very comfortable and you don't miss the air conditioning , because the rooms are big and fresh! Good price also! I will come back !!!

Stayed: September 2014, traveled with friends
Thank GrandTour483867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2014

We recently visited Cashew Hill in mid August. We were only supposed to stay for 2 nights but ended up booking an extra night because we love it so much. We had a patio that overlooked the jungle and the ocean on top of the hill. Outside of our window we had a sloth that hung out the entire stay. We could also see howler monkeys in the trees and would watch them in the afternoon. The hosts were absolutely amazing! They helped us book some of our adventures like the white water rafting and recommended some great restaurants to visit! The price was very reasonable for the accommodations and the experience we had. If we visit Puerto Viejo again this will be the place for us!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

The fiance and I spent two nights here. We were really glad to meet the current caretakers, and Harley, and la perezoso :) We loved to have the ability to buy and prepare our own food, at our own pace. The cottage we stayed in had plenty of room, was close to shopping, and was pretty clean. All in all, we had a great time and would recommend Cashew Hill to anyone wanting to visit Puerto Viejo and have a more down-home experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews