We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveler rating
118
18
4
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
18
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages yoga platform soccer field puerto viejo the owner full kitchen pouring rain tree house cashews shala jungle lodge property nature town wellness nets
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 143 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Chris, Edwin, and Sean were amazing hosts and made our stay with their activity recommendations, assistance with arrangements, and tours to see the flora and fauna on the property surrounding the cottages! The cottages are located just inside the jungle and the town is a block away and the beach is two blocks away. The property is well maintained and the landscaping is gorgeous. There is a small pool with a waterfall on the property, which is refreshing! The lodge was a great place to gather and make plans for the next day and get introduced to local fruits, plants and animals and festive beverages by Edwin and Chris. We participated in a yoga class with Sean one morning and enjoyed the class and the view overlooking the jungle canopy and then out to the beach. The property around the cottages has monkeys, sloths, dart frogs, extremely large cicadas, bananas, pipas, and lizards! We stayed in the Todo Bien cottage and used the kitchen on a daily basis. The cabins are not air conditioned, but the windows are screened and you can hear the sounds of the jungle through the day and at night, but you feel secure in the sturdy buildings. Our first night in the cottages the sounds of the howler monkeys made me a little nervous, but I'm missing them now that I'm back in Colorado.

I'm looking forward to my next visit to Puerto Viejo and Cashew Hill!

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

The staff is amazing. Scenery is beautiful. This was my second trip and there will be a third in the near future! Peaceful and quiet but walk down the hill to the town/beaches for drinks, shops, social life, etc. Truly Paradise! If you want to go on an adventure, just asked the staff and they will point you to the best spots! - Mike (Boston, MA)

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This place is a perfect stay in Puerto Viejo. You are perched atop a hill overlooking the town of Puerto Viejo literally in the jungle with the sounds of howler monkeys, birds and all other jungle sounds to serenade you to sleep. We cooked in our cabin one night and found the kitchen to be excellent. The jungle also keeps the cabins cooler than the hot Carribbean climate below in town. Can't say enough about Cashew Hill

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FinbarTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This was a great place to experience Puerto Viejo. Andrew was an amazing host. Incredibly responsive to our requests. He was always proactively finding new ways to delight us whether by touring us around the property to point out the interesting plants and have us try tropical fruits, hunting for sloths, or stocking up his bar. The kids loved the little pool on the property. Our cabana was very spacious and I was surprised to find it included a full kitchen. We had planned to head up to Cahuita for a hike, but did not bother since all the wildlife we had hoped to see we could see from our lodging. Frequently visited by a troop of howler monkeys that hung out in the trees at the edge of the property (Those guys are loud!) So we had all the amazing experiences of living in the jungle, but once we stepped out of our secure compound we were just one block from town. Quite a special place.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rproulx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We were happy to call this little paradise home for 1 week. Andrew,, Edwin, Toby and Sean were the most helpful hosts a tourist could ask for. Great advice on where to eat, what to do, where to go etc. Very relaxed and easy going hosts and great people to hang out with and have a beer while watching the sun set. We were also invited to a Cashew hill potluck with all the other friendly people staying there. We stayed in the cottage called Playa Negra with a beautiful view of the ocean while sitting in the hammock. Would definitely stay here again if we were to go to Puerto Viejo again!
.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews