We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Chris, Julie, and Sean were absolutely wonderful! They were all so friendly and helpful, no matter what. Chris always had a smile on his face. They helped us decide what to do and where to eat - and they absolutely helped us to have the best time of our entire trip to Costa Rica. The location is beautiful, the cabins are clean, well kept, and comfortable and had plenty of towels and everything we needed. The location is incredibly convenient - a 5 minute walk to town; 10 minute drive to the Jaguar Rescue Center. The scenery from the cabins - high on the hill so you can see the beach - is gorgeous, and the sunsets from the yoga platform are beautiful. The fruit on the property is delicious (mangos fresh from the tree). We stayed in Kinkajou cottage and would book it again in the future. We also had a wonderful waterfall hike in the area, thanks to Sean.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2014Bobbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 141 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014

Chris, Edwin, and Sean were amazing hosts and made our stay with their activity recommendations, assistance with arrangements, and tours to see the flora and fauna on the property surrounding the cottages! The cottages are located just inside the jungle and the town is a block away and the beach is two blocks away. The property is well maintained and the landscaping is gorgeous. There is a small pool with a waterfall on the property, which is refreshing! The lodge was a great place to gather and make plans for the next day and get introduced to local fruits, plants and animals and festive beverages by Edwin and Chris. We participated in a yoga class with Sean one morning and enjoyed the class and the view overlooking the jungle canopy and then out to the beach. The property around the cottages has monkeys, sloths, dart frogs, extremely large cicadas, bananas, pipas, and lizards! We stayed in the Todo Bien cottage and used the kitchen on a daily basis. The cabins are not air conditioned, but the windows are screened and you can hear the sounds of the jungle through the day and at night, but you feel secure in the sturdy buildings. Our first night in the cottages the sounds of the howler monkeys made me a little nervous, but I'm missing them now that I'm back in Colorado.

I'm looking forward to my next visit to Puerto Viejo and Cashew Hill!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

The staff is amazing. Scenery is beautiful. This was my second trip and there will be a third in the near future! Peaceful and quiet but walk down the hill to the town/beaches for drinks, shops, social life, etc. Truly Paradise! If you want to go on an adventure, just asked the staff and they will point you to the best spots! - Mike (Boston, MA)

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This place is a perfect stay in Puerto Viejo. You are perched atop a hill overlooking the town of Puerto Viejo literally in the jungle with the sounds of howler monkeys, birds and all other jungle sounds to serenade you to sleep. We cooked in our cabin one night and found the kitchen to be excellent. The jungle also keeps the cabins cooler than the hot Carribbean climate below in town. Can't say enough about Cashew Hill

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FinbarTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This was a great place to experience Puerto Viejo. Andrew was an amazing host. Incredibly responsive to our requests. He was always proactively finding new ways to delight us whether by touring us around the property to point out the interesting plants and have us try tropical fruits, hunting for sloths, or stocking up his bar. The kids loved the little pool on the property. Our cabana was very spacious and I was surprised to find it included a full kitchen. We had planned to head up to Cahuita for a hike, but did not bother since all the wildlife we had hoped to see we could see from our lodging. Frequently visited by a troop of howler monkeys that hung out in the trees at the edge of the property (Those guys are loud!) So we had all the amazing experiences of living in the jungle, but once we stepped out of our secure compound we were just one block from town. Quite a special place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rproulx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We were happy to call this little paradise home for 1 week. Andrew,, Edwin, Toby and Sean were the most helpful hosts a tourist could ask for. Great advice on where to eat, what to do, where to go etc. Very relaxed and easy going hosts and great people to hang out with and have a beer while watching the sun set. We were also invited to a Cashew hill potluck with all the other friendly people staying there. We stayed in the cottage called Playa Negra with a beautiful view of the ocean while sitting in the hammock. Would definitely stay here again if we were to go to Puerto Viejo again!
.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We visited Cashew Hill in January of 2014. First let me say that this was a totally unique experience for us because we have never visited Costa Rica. My wife and I have never received better customer service. Have you ever met, relaxed with or spent really any time with the owner of a hotel you stayed at? After this trip I can say I have! Andrew(owner) knew us by name and was at the gate to greet us upon our arrival. Service from the time we stepped on the gorgeous property to the time we left never faltered. There is a small staff that keeps the grounds looking incredible and the cottages clean. We spent two weeks relaxing by the dipping pool, practice yoga with Sean and Shannon (instructors)on the ocean view platform,and sipping cold beers at the jungle bar. The cottages were rustic but very nice and exactly what we were expecting. We didn't realize how nice we had on the hill until we looked around at some of the other hotels near by. We had a king size bed which was wonderful .We spent many hours in the hammock enjoying the ocean view and just watching the wildlife. Our Alarm clock was a pack of howler monkey's… So cool!!! Wild life was incredible!!! Edwin, showed us Sloths ( two toed and three toed) and toucans almost everyday. Already Booked next years trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,051 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,508 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
665 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
486 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Indalo
Hotel Boutique Indalo
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages

Address: 200 mts south from Soccer Field, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $99 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cashew Hill is an out of the ordinary place, just minutes by foot, from the center of Puerto Viejo. Walk up the path by the soccer field and find a sanctuary like no other. Glorious gardens with tropical plants of every type, birds of every color, butterflies, sloths, kinkajous, ocean views, ocean breezes and... Cozy cottages, designed with comfort and harmony in mind, await you. Cashew Hill has seven cottages designed with fully equipped kitchens, sleeping rooms, living areas... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages Hotel Puerto Viejo
Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing