We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveler rating
118
18
4
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
18
4
1
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 143 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This place is a perfect stay in Puerto Viejo. You are perched atop a hill overlooking the town of Puerto Viejo literally in the jungle with the sounds of howler monkeys, birds and all other jungle sounds to serenade you to sleep. We cooked in our cabin one night and found the kitchen to be excellent. The jungle also keeps the cabins cooler than the hot Carribbean climate below in town. Can't say enough about Cashew Hill

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FinbarTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This was a great place to experience Puerto Viejo. Andrew was an amazing host. Incredibly responsive to our requests. He was always proactively finding new ways to delight us whether by touring us around the property to point out the interesting plants and have us try tropical fruits, hunting for sloths, or stocking up his bar. The kids loved the little pool on the property. Our cabana was very spacious and I was surprised to find it included a full kitchen. We had planned to head up to Cahuita for a hike, but did not bother since all the wildlife we had hoped to see we could see from our lodging. Frequently visited by a troop of howler monkeys that hung out in the trees at the edge of the property (Those guys are loud!) So we had all the amazing experiences of living in the jungle, but once we stepped out of our secure compound we were just one block from town. Quite a special place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rproulx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We were happy to call this little paradise home for 1 week. Andrew,, Edwin, Toby and Sean were the most helpful hosts a tourist could ask for. Great advice on where to eat, what to do, where to go etc. Very relaxed and easy going hosts and great people to hang out with and have a beer while watching the sun set. We were also invited to a Cashew hill potluck with all the other friendly people staying there. We stayed in the cottage called Playa Negra with a beautiful view of the ocean while sitting in the hammock. Would definitely stay here again if we were to go to Puerto Viejo again!
.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We visited Cashew Hill in January of 2014. First let me say that this was a totally unique experience for us because we have never visited Costa Rica. My wife and I have never received better customer service. Have you ever met, relaxed with or spent really any time with the owner of a hotel you stayed at? After this trip I can say I have! Andrew(owner) knew us by name and was at the gate to greet us upon our arrival. Service from the time we stepped on the gorgeous property to the time we left never faltered. There is a small staff that keeps the grounds looking incredible and the cottages clean. We spent two weeks relaxing by the dipping pool, practice yoga with Sean and Shannon (instructors)on the ocean view platform,and sipping cold beers at the jungle bar. The cottages were rustic but very nice and exactly what we were expecting. We didn't realize how nice we had on the hill until we looked around at some of the other hotels near by. We had a king size bed which was wonderful .We spent many hours in the hammock enjoying the ocean view and just watching the wildlife. Our Alarm clock was a pack of howler monkey's… So cool!!! Wild life was incredible!!! Edwin, showed us Sloths ( two toed and three toed) and toucans almost everyday. Already Booked next years trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Cashew Hills is a gem!

Authentic Costa Rican rustic, a green oasis (including sloths!) and still close to town.

Toby, Edwin and Sean hosted the best Christmas pot-luck dinner ever!

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Pablo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews