We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveler rating
118
18
4
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
18
4
1
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 143 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Nice and quite atmosphere. The rooms were really good and comfy , staff friendly and helpful !
Spend my last week here after 2 moths costa rica, and came back home super relaxed.
Make sure to check out the yoga platform with sunset and surf lessons with herschel !
Thank you so much sean and edwin to make our stay in puerto viejo so nice.

The belgian girls -

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZoeFrauke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We just got back from a week in Puerto Viejo at Cashew Hill. Andrew, Ally and Edwin were wonderful hosts, and my family had a great time. We enjoyed many of the activities which Andrew helped us organize. Our cottage was spacious and very comfortable. The grounds were beautiful and the atmosphere relaxed. We loved our stay and would certainly stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rylan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

It has been 3 months since I was in Puerto Viejo staying at Cashew Hill and not a day has gone by that i haven't thought about the atmosphere they have created. We arrived at night and were greeted by Edwin who helped us settle in and gave us a nice cold cerveza. When morning came we were shown around the beautiful grounds, you feel like you're in paradise, oh wait you are! Every lodge has it own creative decor, we were lucky enough to stay in the kinkajou. My daily ritual after waking up and before going to bed was laying on our hammock off our bedroom. During my time here i would listen to the music of the rainforest and the waves crashing a few blocks away. One night i fell asleep to a rain shower. Pure serenity. Andrew is the owner and he really know his stuff he has truly embraced the Pura Vida life style and make sure your stay is nothing short of amazing. Reese is always near by, a beautiful great dane that just wants to be your friend. The whole staff is so friendly and they will help you with anything you need. They provided us with their trusted friend and tour guide Junior. If you are staying in Puerto Viejo you must have a tour with junior. He is a true local, his positivity and infectious smile rubs off on you. Plus he has excellent music always playing. Ask for one of his cooking classes! Plan on making friends during your stay here because the recreation center they have offers hammocks, rocking chairs, a pool table and a bar that is always filled with interesting people from all over. Plus the bar runs on a honor system and that is just something special right there. During our days we relaxed on the beach, went shopping at the flea markets, zip-lining , waterfall tour, bike ride down the coast line (on one side you have gorgeous rainforest and on the other you have open beaches calling your name, it is hard to know where to look). The night life is filled with excitement all the bars along the beaches are all lit up, live music is coming from everywhere, you also get to see some local showing off there fire dancing skills, impressive . Weather your visiting or a local, Puerto Viejo attracts a different kind of person, people who are all looking for adventure, tranquility and good hearted people, plus so much more. I truly love cashew hill and can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TracyTheTraveler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Costa Brava cottage for 3 nights in March. The cottage is very specious with all necessities and very clean. It has a porch and 2 hammocks. Location is perfect, close enough to walk to restaurants and far enough to feel in nature. Andrew and his wonderful stuff made our stay a pleasure. Andrew is very knowledgeable and helpful. We followed his recommendations and enjoyed sloth sanctuary, bike rides to Manzanillo,walks in Cahuita National Park, Cocles beach and good restaurants. We highly recommend Cashew Hill Lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fanyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were only here for two nights and unfortunately hit bad weather on the first day, but the welcome was amazing and the cottages are delightful, brightly and quirkily decorated, each one individual and well spaced for privacy. We were two couples and stayed in Kinkajoo and Salsa Brava cottages. They were clean and very spacious with cooking facilities and good showers. The only minor drawback was the lack of hot water to the kitchen sink - could be a problem washing greasy dishes, otherwise excellent. Andrew and Allie were perfect hosts - nothing was too much trouble for them - and Reece the Great Dane was always up for a game! The location was perfect, just on the edge of town and within easy walking distance of the beach, shops and restaurants, but take a torch when going out in the evening. It was very peaceful at night with just the jungle sounds. Lovely bar area for relaxing - rain or shine! - and meeting other guests. Although our visit was slightly marred by the rain, it was more than made up by the relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews