We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Mother Daughter time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Mother Daughter time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Weather not the best but could not ask for a better place to stay or better hosts! Be sure to go to the Jaguar reserve. The beach is spectacular. Great shops and several (178) local areas to eat all great. FYI kids do not care if it is raining, try the local Mepe for travel fun experience. Playing with the local wild life is so cool no I am not talking about you Andrew ;-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    14
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
38
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williams Lake, BC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at Cashew Hill cottages for 2 weeks in Feb. It is a 6-8 min walk into town and the beach. The cottages are basic but clean and large. Only downfall is no hot water(lukewarm in the shower only). It is quiet and the tropical jungle with the birds and wildlife is peaceful. The best part is the friendy and kind hosts, Andrew, Elli, and Edwin, you are great!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horsefly2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Cashew Hill's management is very accommodating. We found it a quiet little paradise. We went for a month and could have stayed for a year. Toucan viewing every day as well as a variety of hummingbirds, oropendulum, etc. The kitchen had all that we needed, and the weekly farmer's market in town or the grocery stores had all that we wanted. We plan on returning next year and have already made our reservations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We are just finishing our stay in PV and are not wanting to leave. First, the cabins are great. Made of wood and nicely finished with art and tile, hammocks and nice beds. They are all unique and funky. Second, the setting. You are surrounded on all sides by jungle. We arrived to see a 3-toed sloth down at the base of a tree next to our cabin, the first of many sloth we saw. The sounds of the jungle are all around, and it can be loud with the cicadas and crickets and other creatures at night. Third, the staff - extremely helpful and welcoming. Felt more like a family than hosts. Our boys enjoyed it all - hanging out with Reece, the local dog, to the pool, to the nice lounge area. Suitable for everyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zenbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed for 4 days, 5 nights and none of us wanted to leave. The cottages are really bright and vibrant, very clean and I had a hard job getting out of the hammock! Within a couple of minutes walk from Puerto Viejo the only sounds you could hear was the sea and birds. A sloth was just hanging around one day and I lost track of the number of insects, birds and frogs.
What can I say about Edwin? Never have I come accross such a lovely person, always on site, ready to help in any way he can, carrying suitcases, doing our laundry and bringing it back within a couple of hours. Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We just recently spent a week at Cashew Hill, and I really can't say enough positive things about it. This is a trip that's a few years in the making--we heard about the cottages a few years back, and FINALLY decided to make it one of our main destinations while in Costa Rica for this year's trip.

And it couldn't have been a better decision.

The property itself is extremely well maintained. Constant improvements are being made and you feel secure and at home while there. We stayed in the Kinkajou cottage (which I highly recommend) and it was amazing. It was a two floor cottage with kitchen, bathroom, small living area and a couple of single beds on the first floor; on the second floor, you'll find a couple more beds (one single, one double) and a great balcony with hammocks and seating area. We felt completely at home and found the cottage extremely comfortable and cozy; the kitchen was also a real big plus because the food costs in Puerto Viejo are pretty high (restaurants, grocery, etc. cost about the same as in North America) so this allows you to scale-back spending if you want to make your own meals.

The following is the wildlife we spotted in and around the property: sloths, monkeys, toucans, parrots, exotic butterflies, spiders, frogs, iguanas, lizards, geckos, beetles...the list goes on and on. We knew we would be in the jungle, but were still quite impressed by the variety of the things we spotted.

And the cherry on top of the cake--the staff of course. Andrew, Allie, Edwin, Raul, and young lady (sorry, we don't know your name) THANK YOU for the great stay!!! We'll see you guys again soon enough :)

Richard & Alain

Room Tip: We recommend the Kinkajou cottages. Bring a flashlight and bug spray.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richardsmyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

There are no words to describe my recent stay at Cashew Hill. Everything from the cottage itself to the people who work there was just incredible. Upon our late, rainy night arrival, I was greeted by Edwin (hotel manager), the most sweet and cheerful man. Even though we were in the middle of a rainforest thunderstorm and extremely exhausted from the 5.5 hour taxi ride from SJO, Edwin was able to pick our spirits up and make us feel happy and welcome within seconds. He showed us to our cottage, took care of carrying our heavy suitcases, and even got us to hang out at the main deck for a few cervezas and a game of pool!
The next morning (after being woken up by the monkeys!!!! :D) we were finally able to see Cashew Hill in all its beauty! Every cottage is very unique, with a fully equipped kitchen, and offers amazing views of either the ocean or the rainforest. Right by our deck in Kinkajou was a gorgeous starfruit tree from which I was able to pick fruit, and just outside of it, a myriad of exotic flowers and plants.
At 7am, Edwin, Milena (housekeeper), and Raul (grounds worker) were already hard at work with coffee ready for all the guests. Edwin was enthusiastically helping a family staying in another cottage plan a day full of activities in the Puerto Viejo area. He obviously had a great rapport with all the local business owners, as they were prompt and punctual when picking guests up for activities. He provided amazing advice for what to do and see in the area and without him, the trip would not have been as fun filled as it was!
During our visit to Cashew Hill, we had the opportunity to stay at two cottages; Kinkajou and Sloth, both of which I LOVED and both of which I highly recommend! There is a beautiful little pool that is meticulously cleaned every day, a relaxing patio area where you can grill and eat dinner, and a great main deck area with a bar and pool table. Of course, there is also Reesey, the Cashew Hill guard dog, who is the sweetest 100 lb dog I've ever met and who loved nothing more but to play and run around the gated compound all day.
Cashew hill is fully enclosed and offers great safety and privacy. There are two doors and guests have keys to both. It is a perfect 5 minute walk from the bustle of the town. EVERYTHING is walking distance and if you're not into walking, bike rentals cost five dollars per day. Whether you cook your own food at the cottage or go out to eat, I guarantee it will be the best food you have ever tasted; can't go wrong with any of the restaurants or food markets.

I knew I would never want to go home when I saw how sad every guest leaving was and that is why I have already booked my return ticket to Costa Rica and my stay at Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages!

Room Tip: Stay at any of the available cottages, they are all so different and unique, you'll want to come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BistraBotcheva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 stars 1,265 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 stars 904 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 stars 574 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#5 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages

Property: Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages
Address: 200 mts south from Soccer Field, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cashew Hill is an out of the ordinary place, just minutes by foot, from the center of Puerto Viejo. Walk up the path by the soccer field and find a sanctuary like no other. Glorious gardens with tropical plants of every type, birds of every color, butterflies, sloths, kinkajous, ocean views, ocean breezes and... Cozy cottages, designed with comfort and harmony in mind, await you. Cashew Hill has seven cottages designed with fully equipped kitchens, sleeping rooms, living areas... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages Hotel Puerto Viejo
Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing