We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Jungle Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Amazing Jungle Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this really wonderful place for our 25th anniversary. This place was perfect for us as we love wildlife,hiking, and prefer to stay in unique places like this. Our cottage had a full kitchen for cooking and just out our front deck was a beautiful view of the beach called Playa Negra. We cooked dinner almost every night and watched the sunset right over the beach and jungle. I know we were on the Caribbean and face east but somehow we got an amazing sunset almost every night. I enjoyed reading in the hammock and watching the toucans and other beautiful birds that were all around us. We even got to see a humming birds nest with a baby humming bird in it.
The property and gardens are amazing and because it is located on a small hill there was a really nice breeze. During the day it was really hot but surprisingly the temperature drop a LOT at night. With the fans on at night we actually had to ask Edwin the host for an extra set of sheets. Edwin was so nice and helpful. He helped us book tours and answered all of the questions we could think of. As a previous review mentioned there were no safes in the cottages but we asked Edwin and lucky they had a safe at the main lodge for guests to use. We locked up our passports and camera. Whenever we needed our camera we asked Edwin and he would retrieve it for us right away. One thing I was completely surprised about was that we had better internet there in the jungle then I do in our house in the city. It rained really hard one night and I think we lost the connection for a few hours but that was the only issue we had with it.
This was our first trip to Costa Rica so were were a little apprehensive and worried about security. There is alot of scary information out there about Puerto Veijo so we didnt know what to expect. Once we arrived we immediately were able to relax. The property was completely fenced in and only the guests were able to come and go with a key. While we were in town we looked at some of the other places that we almost stayed at and we couldn't have been more happy with our choice. We only stayed one week this trip but we cant wait to stay for two or three weeks next time. Keep up the good work guys! See you soon.

Room Tip: Playa Negra Cottage is Amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    17
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
41
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hangzhou
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Although we did not spend the night here we did chill out an good afternoon in the perfect surroundings of this nice cabin hotel. The owners Edwin and Andrew welcomed us perfectly with some refreshments and were able to tell us everything about Puerto Viejo and what to do there.

The next day Andrew showed us around town, watched a baseball match from the local team ( which they sponsor !) and took us to a very refreshing waterfall! Very warm and welcome people.. very reccomendable!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Yes, the property is beautiful and the cottages are very cute and artistically decorated. They also come with kitchens which is a huge plus, but I would definitely not stay here again for two big reasons: 1) it is BUGGY! and yes I know this is Costa Rica and it's to be expected, but they have no windows (just screens) so lots of bugs get through at night. Even using the mosquito nets over the beds, little bugs still got through and I woke up every morning totally bit up.
The second problem is that 2) the rooms have no safes, so there is no place to store things like your passport, laptop, extra $$, etc. while you're gone for the day. You have to either carry them with you or trust that your valuables will not get robbed during the day.
Basically, I stayed here during my very first trip to CR. It was kind of a big adjustment for me at first, given the heat, bugs, dirt, etc, and staying at this place will give you no relief from any of that. If you want to have a much easier transition to the country and more comfortable stay, I would highly recommend getting a place with windows, A/C, and a safe.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Vista, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Cashew Hill Rocks. Great accomodations and staff. Andrew is the perfect host. Anything we needed or wanted to do he took care of. The pool area is recently renovated and very refreshing to have on the beautifully manicured grounds. Walking distance to the beach store and shops makes Cashew Hill an easy choice in Puerto Viejo.

Room Tip: Unless you plan on leaving the PV area during your stay rental car is not neccesary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

We had a wonderful week long stay here and had to tear ourselves away. The acting manager, Edwin, was a wonderful host and instant friend. He arranged a horseback ride for us on the beach (awesome!), helped us contact the van-service when we thought we'd lost something on the ride, booked a hotel for us in San Jose, and basically made us feel like family. The cabins are cabins, so if you're expecting a bright, generic hotel, this is not the place for you. We stayed in two cabins and found them both clean, comfortable, and unique. We did have some little lizard and grasshopper friends inside, but the mosquito nets were more of a psychological comfort than necessity. Although the dogs didn't keep us awake, there are a few overactive roosters and monkeys nearby. (Then again, if you have problem sleeping with the sounds of wildlife, why come to Costa Rica?) The dipping pool is wonderful after a day on the beach or sweating it up in the jungle. The bar area (with pool table and honor-system beverages) was a fun spot to unwind and catch up. We'll be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jami Kath H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Colorado
Level Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

We actually went in June 2009, and I hope we can return someday. Nice, quiet location on a hill above town. 5 minute walk to restaurants. Lovely compound and pool area. Wonderful owners who helped us plan our trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainSunSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

My wife and I loved this place so much. Manager Edwin was the best lodge host we have ever had - saying a lot. Landscaping is incredible. Pool was totally clean... in the jungle. How do they do it? Must be magic. The bar area is outside and has snooker table. Very private and well designed. We shall return soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donavan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
2.7 mi away
Casa Moabi
Casa Moabi
#4 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages

Property: Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages
Address: 200 mts south from Soccer Field, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cashew Hill is an out of the ordinary place, just minutes by foot, from the center of Puerto Viejo. Walk up the path by the soccer field and find a sanctuary like no other. Glorious gardens with tropical plants of every type, birds of every color, butterflies, sloths, kinkajous, ocean views, ocean breezes and... Cozy cottages, designed with comfort and harmony in mind, await you. Cashew Hill has seven cottages designed with fully equipped kitchens, sleeping rooms, living areas... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages Hotel Puerto Viejo
Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing