We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A little too rustic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A little too rustic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Yes, the property is beautiful and the cottages are very cute and artistically decorated. They also come with kitchens which is a huge plus, but I would definitely not stay here again for two big reasons: 1) it is BUGGY! and yes I know this is Costa Rica and it's to be expected, but they have no windows (just screens) so lots of bugs get through at night. Even using the mosquito nets over the beds, little bugs still got through and I woke up every morning totally bit up.
The second problem is that 2) the rooms have no safes, so there is no place to store things like your passport, laptop, extra $$, etc. while you're gone for the day. You have to either carry them with you or trust that your valuables will not get robbed during the day.
Basically, I stayed here during my very first trip to CR. It was kind of a big adjustment for me at first, given the heat, bugs, dirt, etc, and staying at this place will give you no relief from any of that. If you want to have a much easier transition to the country and more comfortable stay, I would highly recommend getting a place with windows, A/C, and a safe.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
38
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buena Vista, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Cashew Hill Rocks. Great accomodations and staff. Andrew is the perfect host. Anything we needed or wanted to do he took care of. The pool area is recently renovated and very refreshing to have on the beautifully manicured grounds. Walking distance to the beach store and shops makes Cashew Hill an easy choice in Puerto Viejo.

Room Tip: Unless you plan on leaving the PV area during your stay rental car is not neccesary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We had a wonderful week long stay here and had to tear ourselves away. The acting manager, Edwin, was a wonderful host and instant friend. He arranged a horseback ride for us on the beach (awesome!), helped us contact the van-service when we thought we'd lost something on the ride, booked a hotel for us in San Jose, and basically made us feel like family. The cabins are cabins, so if you're expecting a bright, generic hotel, this is not the place for you. We stayed in two cabins and found them both clean, comfortable, and unique. We did have some little lizard and grasshopper friends inside, but the mosquito nets were more of a psychological comfort than necessity. Although the dogs didn't keep us awake, there are a few overactive roosters and monkeys nearby. (Then again, if you have problem sleeping with the sounds of wildlife, why come to Costa Rica?) The dipping pool is wonderful after a day on the beach or sweating it up in the jungle. The bar area (with pool table and honor-system beverages) was a fun spot to unwind and catch up. We'll be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathniss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Colorado
Level Contributor
85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We actually went in June 2009, and I hope we can return someday. Nice, quiet location on a hill above town. 5 minute walk to restaurants. Lovely compound and pool area. Wonderful owners who helped us plan our trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainSunSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

My wife and I loved this place so much. Manager Edwin was the best lodge host we have ever had - saying a lot. Landscaping is incredible. Pool was totally clean... in the jungle. How do they do it? Must be magic. The bar area is outside and has snooker table. Very private and well designed. We shall return soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donavan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Decent location, nice grounds. 5 minute walk to town and beach. We were in two cottages during our 10 day stay. Both were dark and damp. Pool is a soaking pool only. Dogs at the bottom of the hill are very noisy at night. Dogs are a problem in Costa Rica. They pretty much run wild and howl all night and sleep in the roads during the day. We had a number of cool nights, most welcome, but ran the fan to try to drown out the noise from the dogs.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We couldn't have asked for a better stay!! Everyone was so friendly and inviting! We stayed in the canopy cottage. Plenty of space for us and cozy. The kitchen is open which was wonderful in the morning cooking breakfast. The only downside to the cottage is the outside bathroom door. You have to walk out to get to the bathroom but it had a nice big shower and was very clean. No big deal for us but it might bother someone else.
The main lodge has a great bar! Help yourself there and everyone is so friendly and trusting.
Edwin was a fantastic host and just a great friend! So helpful with anything we needed! Does a great job running the place while the owners were away. Loved him!
All in all a fantastic stay and we could easily added an extra month on our vaca! Definitely stay here at cashew hill!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodriguesmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 stars 1,284 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 stars 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 stars 544 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#4 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages

Property: Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages
Address: 200 mts south from Soccer Field, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 94 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cashew Hill is an out of the ordinary place, just minutes by foot, from the center of Puerto Viejo. Walk up the path by the soccer field and find a sanctuary like no other. Glorious gardens with tropical plants of every type, birds of every color, butterflies, sloths, kinkajous, ocean views, ocean breezes and... Cozy cottages, designed with comfort and harmony in mind, await you. Cashew Hill has seven cottages designed with fully equipped kitchens, sleeping rooms, living areas... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages Hotel Puerto Viejo
Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing