We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveler rating
118
18
4
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
18
4
1
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 143 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2012

My wife and I loved this place so much. Manager Edwin was the best lodge host we have ever had - saying a lot. Landscaping is incredible. Pool was totally clean... in the jungle. How do they do it? Must be magic. The bar area is outside and has snooker table. Very private and well designed. We shall return soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donavan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Decent location, nice grounds. 5 minute walk to town and beach. We were in two cottages during our 10 day stay. Both were dark and damp. Pool is a soaking pool only. Dogs at the bottom of the hill are very noisy at night. Dogs are a problem in Costa Rica. They pretty much run wild and howl all night and sleep in the roads during the day. We had a number of cool nights, most welcome, but ran the fan to try to drown out the noise from the dogs.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We couldn't have asked for a better stay!! Everyone was so friendly and inviting! We stayed in the canopy cottage. Plenty of space for us and cozy. The kitchen is open which was wonderful in the morning cooking breakfast. The only downside to the cottage is the outside bathroom door. You have to walk out to get to the bathroom but it had a nice big shower and was very clean. No big deal for us but it might bother someone else.
The main lodge has a great bar! Help yourself there and everyone is so friendly and trusting.
Edwin was a fantastic host and just a great friend! So helpful with anything we needed! Does a great job running the place while the owners were away. Loved him!
All in all a fantastic stay and we could easily added an extra month on our vaca! Definitely stay here at cashew hill!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodriguesmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We spent 2 weeks in Costa Rica and this was my favorite place that we stayed. It was SO perfect! The kitchen had everything that we needed ... including a french press! I loved the fact that we could take the short walk into town and then come back to the peace and tranquility of our casita.
I highly recommend this lovely place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Cashew Hill is a very nice place to stay. It's located in Puerto Viejo on a hill side. It is short walk from downtown, you can easy find many restaurants, bars, shops and beaches. We've stayed at Todo Bien Cottage (three-bedroom). The cottage was very nice and clean. The decoration was very colorful and made you feel in the Caribbean. The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yumi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews