We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place if you want to get close to the nature and feel the jungle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place if you want to get close to the nature and feel the jungle”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay, managed to completely relax and feel the place. Andrew was helpful , yet discreete, and we would generally recommend this place to everyone searching for peace and relaxation.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolabekrija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
42
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

I know this is a family run place, I am not sure if the kids always run the place....but we felt that customer service could have been stronger.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Informedtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2011

This gem of a hotel is an amazing place to stay if you're in Puerto Viejo. The cabins are awesome! There was 4 of us and it was perfect in terms of size, amenities (your laundry comes back within a couple hours!) and location (set back from the busy little town). Sue was a great host too. At night the sounds of the jungle are really incredible. It's like camping without the hassles of camping!

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ChinoMorenoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

The decision to travel to Puerto Viejo, and particularly to stay at Cashew Hill, was based purely on intuition after having spent an eternity trying to
plan the perfect vacation in Costa Rica. During my quest for the ideal
place to stay I was continuously drawn back to Cashew Hill. The pull was so strong that I knew eventually it was time to relent and immediately upon arrival, I understood why I had been so powerfully drawn to the place through the vastness of cyberspace and 4000 earth kilometers away.

I traveled with my two sons, ages 13 and 24 in hopes for a perfect family vacation and I am thrilled to report that we could not have asked for more
in any capacity. Words simply cannot convey the AMAZING experience we had
staying at Cashew Hill. The Denley's, Andrew and Sue, are perfect, generous hosts and genuinely lovely people. We immediately felt like part of the family. It was truly so relaxed and comfortable that we felt as though we were actually living there, not merely visiting.

Cashew Hill is perfectly suited to our family and lifestyle; laid back, rootsy, beautifully natural, peaceful, serene and comfortable. In spite of assuming we would be very busy with all kinds of local adventures and activities over our 2 week stay, we would often awake in the morning and realize that what we really wanted to do was just hang around at 'home'!
Between the awesome cottage (Playa Negra), the beautifully landscaped grounds, the refreshing dipping pool, perhaps a stroll into town for groceries or a slow bike ride to one of our favourite beach spots, there was nothing else to want. We all really enjoyed hanging out many an evening with the Denley's and some of the other guests at the lounge/bar that Andrew and his helpers have been working hard on setting up above the main house.

Our only regret is that we didn't go on Andrew's Waterfall excursion. It is at the top of our list of things we must do when we return. On one occasion we were seriously disappointed by Gecko Trails, who, after having arranged and paid in full for a day trip that we were SO looking forward to, completely and unapologetically stood us up (and even hesitated at first to confirm that they would provide us with a full refund!) Without hesitation, the Denley's insisted on going well out of their way to ensure an alternative arrangement so that we were able to enjoy the experience that we had wanted, and, without a doubt, it turned out even better than we could have hoped for had we gone with Gecko. We had made the arrangements independently. Mistake.
I strongly suggest asking the Denley's to assist with any plans for activities/tours. They are always happy to help.

An additional bonus was the security within the property. We NEVER worried about our personal safety or the security of our belongings. We left numerous valuables in the cottage every day (including a considerable amount of cash) and rarely ever locked the door; in fact we often left it wide open. When we first arrived we were offered the use of a safe to store our
things but never bothered to follow through. We could sense right away
that there was no need to be concerned about our belongings. The staff are absolutely lovely, trustworthy, hardworking, and respectful.

Also worth noting is the fact that in spite of the warnings about crimes of theft in the general area, we had absolutely no issues, nor did we hear of any incidents of while we were there. We felt perfectly comfortable and safe everywhere we went. The local people were lovely and completely respectful of one's personal space. Having travelled extensively, I must say that it was a real treat to never be approached by hagglers.

We have been back in cold, grey Canada for less than 3 weeks and have been pining for our new home-away-from-home since we got back. The excitement of planning our return and the anticipation of knowing what awaits us at Cashew Hill and the surrounding area will be the fuel that keeps us going until we make it back to our own perfect little jungle paradise. :-D

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 7thMaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

This place was perfect and the family that owns the property were fabulous!!! A few blocks from the main streets of PV, and very safe and secure. The cottages were lovely and well maintained. The jungle dipping pool was refreshing and we even spent an afternoon in the pool watching a sloth forage for food right above our heads!!! Great location to visit nearby beaches and attractions for a cheap cab ride or bike ride.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iszie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gull Lake, Sk Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2011

We just returned from a four week stay in Cashew Hill, and have already booked for longer next year! After 15 years of travelling this is the only place we can see ourselves coming back to year after year. The Denleys provide an inviting atmosphere that makes each of their guests feel a part of the Cashew Hill Family! We loved the privacy of our cottage complete with a well equipped kitchen to prepare meals if we wanted, a very comfortable bed, and a perfect deck in the treetops equipped with a comfy hammock. We agree with the previous review from Flint Michigan about comments made re: the quaint little town and amazing beaches. We're already missing falling asleep to relaxing croaking of frogs and awakening to a chorus of jungle animals and birds including Howler Monkeys and Tucans which arrived regularly at 6:30 AM to a tree outside our cottage. The walk up the hill kept us in shape, and allowed us to partake of the many fabulous restaurants in this town without guilt. We enjoyed riding bikes to the fabulous beach of Punta Uva, jungle walks, and savouring the atmosphere of Puerto Viejo. Wi-fi kept us in touch with the world and everyone back home. Andrew's newly instituted Happy Hour, already a huge success, creates an opportunity to meet guests in other cottages and hook up to plan fun times together! We cannot say enough about how welcomed we felt by owners, Bill Sue, Andrew, Allie and of course Stella the dog! See you next year!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smalls_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages is the perfect place for the traveller looking for a relaxing, serene and friendly environment in the offbeat Caribbean haven of Puerto Viejo Costa Rica. Located within blocks from the town and beach, Cashew Hill offers the best of both worlds: the privacy and serenity of a secluded cottage where you can wake to the sounds of nature, and a charming village with restaurants, coffee shops and a variety of characters that could fill a novel. The beauty of the surrounding beaches rivals that found anywhere in the world. A short bus ride takes you to nature preserves, coral reefs and much much more. New owners Sue and Bill have made hospitality their number one committment.

If what you want is a genuine getaway, this is the place. However, if you are looking for all the things you have at home, such as tv, video games, etc or if you are looking for the all inclusive type of experience, keep looking.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoshannarobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,441 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,014 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
670 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
633 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tree House Lodge
Tree House Lodge
#17 of 103 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages

Property: Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages
Address: 200 mts south from Soccer Field, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cashew Hill is an out of the ordinary place, just minutes by foot, from the center of Puerto Viejo. Walk up the path by the soccer field and find a sanctuary like no other. Glorious gardens with tropical plants of every type, birds of every color, butterflies, sloths, kinkajous, ocean views, ocean breezes and... Cozy cottages, designed with comfort and harmony in mind, await you. Cashew Hill has seven cottages designed with fully equipped kitchens, sleeping rooms, living areas... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages Hotel Puerto Viejo
Cashew Hill Jungle Cottages Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing