We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed much longer than we had planned - loved the place!”
Review of Hotel Pura Vida

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Pura Vida
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We stayed much longer than we had planned - loved the place!”
Reviewed November 8, 2010

After we did Not get a Room at The place we had planned, we where almost disappionted. But than He have us The Tip of pura vida. And we loved it from The beginning. We had a very nice, spacious Room with a Lot of light and a Shared bathroom, to Be Shared with One Other Room, which was Not a Big deal For us. The Whole atmosphere is very nice at pura vida. We immidiately felt Welcome and that didn't Change over The Next days as we always Extended our stay. We relaxed in The hemmocks, walked though town and rented Bikes, sat at The Beach and always came back to this Beautiful Place everytime We needed some quiet. We really enjoyed our stay Thanks to Almut and Luis!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadinehamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    60
    14
    11
    10
See reviews for
19
108
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

My friend and I (mid 20's) decided to stay here instead of one of the hostels nearby. We were very impressed with the lobby and the rooms; we opted for the $40 a night room with the private bathroom and it was nice and very clean. The beds were made and new towels were given each day, which was nice, and the people at the desk were very helpful with things to do in the area.
My only complaints:
1) There were a lot of rules here, and I didn't appreciate the few times they were pointed out to us; they were not explained in the beginning and when the owners saw us breaking them they chastised us and made us feel like children doing something we shouldn't be doing. The woman owner was quite nice, but her husband was not very friendly and only spoke to us when he was chastising us about their many rules.
2) The window in the shower is just mesh wire with half of it covered, but when you are showering the covered part doesn't quite go high enough and we both felt very uncomfortable showering since people could definitely see us showering if they looked at the right moment.
Overall, however, it was a nice hotel and worth the price. Good location too, off the main street so you could get some sleep at night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amolastortugas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2010

(Travel group was 3 Americans in our late 20s). We rented 2 rooms at the hotel, each had a double bed and single bed with mosquito nets. There is a choice of ensuite bathroom or shared bathroom. The hotel is very clean and quiet (except for a nearby rooster, but this occurs at most hotels around town). Hotel has free wi-fi, plenty of hammocks for lounging, breakfast (for low charge). It is 2 blocks away from the main street in town, 5 minutes to the beach, across the street from a soccer field.

Recommend for couples, families, backpackers who want a clean, nice place to stay for little more than cost of hostel. Renting a bike is recommended as a fun and convenient way to travel to beaches like Cocles.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYmedstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolzano, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2010

We've spent 3 nights here and just loved it! Had a double room which was georgous, with Moskito - nets on the beds. We had a shared bathroom which was clean and spotless, there are doubles with private bathroom, too. For an extra fee u can have an excellent breakfast. The owners are very helpful, they speak german, english and spanish, and can advice u the best spots to see in Puerto Viejo. Moreover, the place was quiet, and, as it is fenced, also a safe place to stay!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatGoesRoundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2010

Location: 3 (short) blocks from "downtown" but that made it quiet.
Honesty: Superior - I left $110 in my laundry and it was handed back to me.
Facility: Locked in with keys for in/out access. Felt very safe.
Atmosphere: Felt like we were invading their privacy. Don't move furniture cushions or try to eat at the "sacred table" or you'll get a time out. I gave it a very good rating but Americans were distinctly treated in a less friendly manner than Europeans and Canadians by the owners - night staff was friendly. That's not just us, an American couple we talked with there felt the same. No place for teenagers.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMPdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2010

Myself and 2 friends were travelling through Costa Rica and staying in Puerto Viejo for Christmas. I decided to book this hotel for the days we were there as it looked like the perfect place to kick back and enjoy our christmas. Although beautiful, I was slightly concerned when we arrived quite late in the evening, and had the 'rules' of the hotel explained to us - we weren't allowed to wear shoes in public areas of the hotel (?), and we were not allowed to hang wet beach clothes out on the balcony of our room (amougst other things). There were 3 of us, but only 2 sets of keys. We went out on Christmas eve and got seperated. I had to return home with no key and ring the bell. The owner was not pleased and told me wew would 'speak about this in the morning'! The next morning, on CHRISTMAS DAY, the owner knocked on our door at 9am and told us we had a hour to leave. I tried to reason with him but he refused to talk about it. Surely a hotel is prepared for people sometimes going out, coming in late, loosing keys - I understand that it isn't ideal - but these things do happen. I was not at all impressed with my stay here or with the treatment we received, and I found the attitude of the owners rude and precious.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MissNEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

If you want to stay right in the town of Puerto Viejo, this hotel is probably your best bet. It's very clean, feels very safe, and we found the owners to be totally helpful and accommodating. The vibe here is different than the rest of the town, but we were glad that it felt so clean and safe and that the showers were hot.
The owners made all of the arrangements for us on our canopy tour, which was nice (and a crazy way to spend a morning - surprisingly worthwhile), but we were just as happy on our rented bikes and snorkel gear exploring the area. The ride to Manzanillo is incredible and is absolutely manageable on a bike.
The hotel is walking distance to all of the bars and restaurants and their breakfast is really terrific. In the afternoon, after returning from a day of adventures, we had the best tea service I've ever had. I don't know why it was so memorable, but it seems worth mentioning.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckLaFleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,442 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
633 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Yare
Hotel Yare
#2 of 3 in Cocles
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Indalo
Hotel Boutique Indalo
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#5 of 103 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pura Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pura Vida

Property: Hotel Pura Vida
Address: 270 m south of bus stop, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Hotel Pura Vida Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing