We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel of our trip”
Review of Hotel Pura Vida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pura Vida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We spent two weeks on the Caribbean Coast, and stayed in five different hotels. This was the clear winner - and also one of the cheapest! Comfortable and spacious room, very clean, and helpful owners. Hotel in general a very calm and pleasant place.

Probably wouldn't suit you if you're looking for a noisy, sociable hostel vibe - this place is serene and quiet.


  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 257 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

This hotel has excellent valued rooms. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the grounds are very clean and well kept. The rooms are spacious and are cleaned daily, as is the shared bathroom. We enjoyed our stay and thought we were getting the best valued rooms in town, however it was very loud at night. The neighbours dogs and roosters barked and crowed into the night and morning. The walls were not very well soundproofed so we woke up constantly throughout the night. The hotel is in a relatively quiet part of town, but all it takes is one bad neighbour!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JaneGrunenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Hotel Pura Vida was our base for Puerto Viejo and Cahuita. Although our room was right next to the reception, we did not have any problems with noise. The room was quite spacious, and had musquito nets. The hotel is really nicely decorated, making it a nice environment. The staff was very friendly and gave a good explanation of the hotel and the area. We did not try their breakfast (went to the amazing Bread & Chocolate instead).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bartme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Lovely setting. Rooms spacious with lovely bathrooms and hot water.

Beds not very comfy and rooms got quite hot. Fans not very good and were noisy.

Also the windows don't have glass on them so can be a bit noisy. We were unlucky as there was a children's party in the evening, dogs barking and a car alarm.

Staff were ok. The blonde German lady was helpful and friendly but the dark haired one was a bit grumpy and unfriendly.

Might stay again but would look elsewhere to see if comfier rooms for that price.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank ImAlwaysOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I've stayed at Hotel Pura Vida a number of times often recommending it to friends and family who visit the Puerto Viejo area. I first stayed with them in June 2012 and had a wonderful experience however, did notice an odd exchange between the owner and a potential guest who asked to see a room and was confronted rudely when they decided not to take it. Since then I have experienced several unpleasant exchanges with the staff and will no longer be staying with them or recommending them to others, which frankly is disappointing. I often travel with a group group of young professionals who work in the region and when we find a place we like, we are loyal. We had such a negative experience with the owner this past week that we left as early as possible, walking out on two nights of our reservation, preferring to stay ANYWHERE else in town. The price and vicinity are good but not worth the rude encounters with staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rebeccaloo003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

I'd stayed at Pura Vida before and hadn't had too much interaction with staff. Recently a friend went and had a really bad experience so I was hesitant to return, but had already made a reservation. Moral of the story: should have trusted my instincts.

We were in the 5 person room and talking at night when the owner banged, not knocked, banged, and told us we were being loud and that our options were to "shut up or get out." This was the first time they had asked us to bring it down, and this is how he handled it.

I've never been spoken to that way by anyone at a hotel, when I approached the owner he said another guest had complained, but that in no way justifies talking to us that way.

We checked out and went to a different place for our second night in puerto.

Things Pura Vida hotel should worry about instead of disrespecting guest:
- The holes in their mosquito nets
- The neighbors dog that barks ALL night
- The squeaky ceiling fan that barely blows.

There are lots of options in town, do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else, anywhere else.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank minkys189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

A cheap, clean, nice hotel close to beach. Worth the price, but the staff has been extremely rude. We came in at nine thirty at night, as a group, we had no problem. We were just getting into to bed and chatting as a group. Around ten fifteen he bangs on our door and says that he has warned us before about being loud and repeats that it is a hotel. We politely respond that he'd never warned us before and he proceeds to say that either way he doesn't care and that we need to 'shut up.' It is a pretty hotel, but in a service industry, service is what's important. Never coming back. Rocking J' s is a much better value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carl3309284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
659 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,043 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Indalo
Hotel Boutique Indalo
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pura Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pura Vida

Address: Avenida 67 | South Of Bus Stop 270 m, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $41 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Pura Vida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pura Vida Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing