We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit away from the center, but very nice place”
Review of Hotel Pura Vida

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Pura Vida
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A bit away from the center, but very nice place”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Hotel Pura Vida was our base for Puerto Viejo and Cahuita. Although our room was right next to the reception, we did not have any problems with noise. The room was quite spacious, and had musquito nets. The hotel is really nicely decorated, making it a nice environment. The staff was very friendly and gave a good explanation of the hotel and the area. We did not try their breakfast (went to the amazing Bread & Chocolate instead).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bartme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    60
    14
    11
    10
See reviews for
19
107
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Lovely setting. Rooms spacious with lovely bathrooms and hot water.

Beds not very comfy and rooms got quite hot. Fans not very good and were noisy.

Also the windows don't have glass on them so can be a bit noisy. We were unlucky as there was a children's party in the evening, dogs barking and a car alarm.

Staff were ok. The blonde German lady was helpful and friendly but the dark haired one was a bit grumpy and unfriendly.

Might stay again but would look elsewhere to see if comfier rooms for that price.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ImAlwaysOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I've stayed at Hotel Pura Vida a number of times often recommending it to friends and family who visit the Puerto Viejo area. I first stayed with them in June 2012 and had a wonderful experience however, did notice an odd exchange between the owner and a potential guest who asked to see a room and was confronted rudely when they decided not to take it. Since then I have experienced several unpleasant exchanges with the staff and will no longer be staying with them or recommending them to others, which frankly is disappointing. I often travel with a group group of young professionals who work in the region and when we find a place we like, we are loyal. We had such a negative experience with the owner this past week that we left as early as possible, walking out on two nights of our reservation, preferring to stay ANYWHERE else in town. The price and vicinity are good but not worth the rude encounters with staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rebeccaloo003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

I'd stayed at Pura Vida before and hadn't had too much interaction with staff. Recently a friend went and had a really bad experience so I was hesitant to return, but had already made a reservation. Moral of the story: should have trusted my instincts.

We were in the 5 person room and talking at night when the owner banged, not knocked, banged, and told us we were being loud and that our options were to "shut up or get out." This was the first time they had asked us to bring it down, and this is how he handled it.

I've never been spoken to that way by anyone at a hotel, when I approached the owner he said another guest had complained, but that in no way justifies talking to us that way.

We checked out and went to a different place for our second night in puerto.

Things Pura Vida hotel should worry about instead of disrespecting guest:
- The holes in their mosquito nets
- The neighbors dog that barks ALL night
- The squeaky ceiling fan that barely blows.

There are lots of options in town, do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else, anywhere else.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank minkys189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

A cheap, clean, nice hotel close to beach. Worth the price, but the staff has been extremely rude. We came in at nine thirty at night, as a group, we had no problem. We were just getting into to bed and chatting as a group. Around ten fifteen he bangs on our door and says that he has warned us before about being loud and repeats that it is a hotel. We politely respond that he'd never warned us before and he proceeds to say that either way he doesn't care and that we need to 'shut up.' It is a pretty hotel, but in a service industry, service is what's important. Never coming back. Rocking J' s is a much better value.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carl3309284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Pura Vida and considered it to be amazing value for money. We loved the location set back a few hundred metres from the main drag. Our room was clean and we loved our outdoor shower. The owner's pets (cats and dogs) were so cute. Only bad thing was being woken very early by the neighbour's rooster but that's not the hotel's fault of course. We just made sure we went to sleep nice and early!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KSBracken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I want to be fair and highlight some good things first. The hotel is very clean as the rooms are, we could park our car on the premises, it is central enough to reach beaches and the town within short walks, the first employee who welcomed us was very friendly. Two aspects you should consider though compared to other costa rican hotels/hostels: the owners seem to have the policy of delegating everything to their employees. That's fine, but if you ask the owner for a favour and he points to his employee and says, please handle this this with her/him, it gets ridiculous. On such a scale it's a people's business. And if every wish of guests is rather seen as a "problem" that doesn't help either. We didn't feel welcome at all, but maybe we didn't stay, pay enough.
Secondly, if you are immune to cocks crowing the whole day and night go there...I am aware this is not the fault of the owners, and yes, there are cocks and dogs all over CR, but this felt somehow extreme.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treppchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
639 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maritza
Hotel Maritza
#10 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Guarana
Hotel Guarana
#9 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Indalo
Hotel Boutique Indalo
#5 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#4 of 104 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pura Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pura Vida

Property: Hotel Pura Vida
Address: South Of Bus Stop 270 m, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Hotel Pura Vida Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing