We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vida Amorosa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tierra de Suenos Lodge
Reviewed July 16, 2008

Tierra de Suenos was a blast. Great location, food, beds and wildlife. Brendan and Angie are wonderful hosts and can accomodate you with a number of acitivities in the area, I especially enjoyed the kayak surfing bro! I would not hesitate to head back to TDS in a heart beat. It is a great environment to chill out and enjoy some tasty waves of the beautiful caribbean. The beaches are simply gorgeous.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CaptainBones44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tierradesuenoslodge, Front Office Manager at Tierra de Suenos Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

thank you for the great review. we are happy that you found a place to meet your needs and experience a jungle/ocean adventure. we look forward to seeing you again in the future. sincerely, tierra de suenos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
There are newer reviews for Tierra de Suenos Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 221 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2008

I can HIGHLY recommend Tierra de Suenos, if you're looking to get back to nature (but don't want to sacrifice hot water, fluffy towels and comfortable mattresses!) then this place is the perfect middle ground!

The cabins are excellent quality and secluded enough to feel like your own little place in the jungle. Highlights for me were the sloths that hang out on the property, trying to spot the frogs hiding in the rain, and the peace and quiet set a little way away from the bustle of the main strip.

A bit of a home from home, i was very comfortable hanging out in my hammock and the breakfasts definitely go down well. Angie and Brendan made it feel like a special holiday for us, a big bonus is their flexibility and friendliness.

Our lovely hosts also have excellent local knowledge, highlights are the Manzanillo reserve just 20 minutes away and some great beach spots and restaurants.

Definitely go for it, and if you're the kind of person who wonders why the ants can't be re-routed..... well that's what Costa Rica is all about, bugs and beautiful birds alike! Of all the places i stayed in Costa Rica, I really enjoyed Tierra de Suenos' wildlife and feeling like i really was in a jungle lodge, rather than a manicured lawn and concrete jungle.

Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Londonladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tierradesuenoslodge, Front Office Manager at Tierra de Suenos Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

thank you for the great review. we are happy you found tierra de suenos a place to meet all your comfort needs with a jungle experience. we look forward to seeing you in the future. pura vida, tierra de suenos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2008

This year I was lucky enough to have a 3 month break between jobs and I returned to Central America to visit friends (I lived and taught in Honduras 2 years ago.) I decided to end my trip on the beach in Costa Rica. I had never been to the Carribbean side and wanted to check it out. I ended up spending two beautiful and relaxing weeks at Tierra de Suenos in Playa Chiquita.

For me it was the perfect way to end a trip filled with long bus rides, early mornings of volunteering, and staying in not-so-nice Central American hotels.Tierra de Suenos was a oasis from busy, dusty, hot, and dry Central America, yet it is not a walled in, all-inclusive, disney-like resort. It is the real thing.

Every morning I woke up in my bungalow to sounds of the jungle: toucans calling, sloths whistling, monkies howling. The bungalow had more than I could ask for: Hot/cold water, a COMFY bed, consistant electricity(for Central America) and it was very clean. I can't tell you how many places I've stayed and paid more for that don't have these things. Also I really appreciated the artistic touches like the hand carved furniture, mosiacs, and murals. The bungalows are truly beautiful as is the enitre property. You can tell it is cared for and maintained with love.

Angie and Brendan were so hospitable and knowledgeable; they made me feel right at home in Playa Chiquita. Their breakfasts were great. I especially loved how they incorporated so much of the fresh fruit that grows on their property.

As for the location, you can't ask for much more. It is in the jungle and literally minutes by foot from some of the most pristine and gorgeous beaches I have ever seen. You can rent bikes and in 20 minutes be hiking in a nature preserve or eating delicious food in downtown Puerto Viejo. You really don't even need to leave Playa Chiquita. I spent two weeks there, going to yoga in the morning, the beach/snorkling mid day and exploring new restaurants in the evening. I didn't even get a chance to do any of the awsome jungle tours or excursions the area has to offer even though they would have picked me up right at Tierra de Suenos!

Central America is a place I will always come back to. Tierra de Suenos is a spot I can't wait to share with my boyfriend, family and friends. It is truly special and now that I'm working again I will take my 2 weeks vacation there!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Copaneca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tierradesuenoslodge, General Manager at Tierra de Suenos Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

thank you for the beautiful and informative response. we are happy you found a place to meet all of your needs. we look forward to seeing you again in the future. sincerely, tierra de suenos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

Perfect place for anyone in a jungle paradise! Best bang for your buck. Cabinas are beautiful and very well kept. Breakfast and great hosts. All good things at Tierra de Suenos!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank reinstatah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tierradesuenoslodge, Front Office Manager at Tierra de Suenos Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

thank you for the outstanding review. we are glad you enjoyed your time here at tierra de suenos. we hope to see you again. tierra de suenos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2008

I have been meaning to write this review for sometime. I want to begin by saying Angie and Brendon are two wonderful hosts. They made us feel like family. We loved getting up every morning and having the delicious breakfast, they would freshly prepare. The property is very green and lush. Lots of beautiful flowers and exotic plants. The bungalows are eco friendly and intimate. We experience a couple of rainy days on our vacation, but being in such beautiful surroundings and listening to the rain forest, made even the rainy days a pleasureable experience. Tierra de Suenos is a great place to relax, enjoy nature, walk to the beach, ride a bike or lay in bed all day and enjoy a great book on tape.
Speaking of great beds!!! The beds at Tierra de Suenos are the best in Puerto Viejo!!! We heard other travelers complain about the concrete beds at other inns around town. We felt so lucky to have this luxury. Well, if you are looking for a week or two in paradise, stay with Angie and Brendon at Tierra de Suenos and you will want to go back every year!!! See you next year!!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kuhltreking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tierradesuenoslodge, Front Office Manager at Tierra de Suenos Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Hello there,

Thank you for the fantastic review! We are more than happy to help and glad we were able to make your stay comfortable. We agree, the nature and walk to the beautiful beach is always a pleasure. We hope to see you again!

Tierra De Suenos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

We arrived from Dublin on the 8th of march and Angie, the owner welcomed us like friends.
Angie and Brandon have done everything they could to make our stay (our honey moon by the way) as much comfortable as they could and it was a real success.
Their lodge is located 6km from Puerto Viejo which is walking distance from one of the most beautiful beach the Caribbean part of Costa Rica has to offer: playa chiquita. Beautiful bungalow, good food, good company and a charming resort in the middle of the jungle are the best recipe of an unforgettable trip. Thanks to both of you, muchos besos and buena suerte

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank Destinationmonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tierradesuenoslodge, Front Office Manager at Tierra de Suenos Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Hello,

We are very happy that we were able to make your honeymoon dreams come true! And thank you for the outstanding review! We hope that you will remember your time here always. We hope to see you again in the future!

Tierra De Suenos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

This Land of Dreams definitely lives up to its name. As a group of 7, I'm sure we were quite a lot of work to accommodate, but Brendan and Angie truly made us feel at home. Set in a lush jungle, yet well-maintained, setting, relaxing like sloths in your own hammock is a breeze. The private bungalows and casita were built to perfection, and the towels and beds, as everyone says, really are the most comfortable in all of Costa Rica.

We were served a delicious and varied home-cooked breakfast with fresh fruit and coffee each morning, and were sent off to explore the area with helpful advice from the owners. They will meet your needs in any way they can. The beach is just a short 2-3 minute walk through a really cool jungle path. They also have bikes, surfboards, and snorkel gear for those who want to see the rest of the area (Puerto Viejo and Manzanillo are both about 20 minutes away), catch some waves in the beautiful Caribbean Sea, or see all the tropical fish and coral.

Make sure you bring your camera to capture the resident sloths, hummingbirds, and other tropical wildlife right on the lodge's grounds! Again, Angie & Brendan truly made this experience incredible for us. Stay at Tierra de Suenos if you're anywhere near Puerto Viejo and explore the beauty this region has to offer.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank merkin1378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tierradesuenoslodge, Front Office Manager at Tierra de Suenos Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Hi there,

Wow! Thank you for the review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here. Please don't worry about coming in a large group, we love to meet as many people as we can. The more the merrier!

Hope to see you again!

Tierra De Suenos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.2 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Namuwoki Lodge
Namuwoki Lodge
#13 of 107 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Merlin Lodge
Casa Merlin Lodge
#24 of 54 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
La Perla del Caribe
La Perla del Caribe
#16 of 107 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Kukula Lodge
La Kukula Lodge
#3 of 54 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
401 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caribe Town
Caribe Town
#1 of 8 in Cocles
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra de Suenos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra de Suenos Lodge

Address: Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 50101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $101 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra de Suenos Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine your exploration of the raw beauty of Costa Rica with a vacation that will suffuse your whole being with health and wellness. Tierra de Suenos Lodge is the only Wellness Center on the pristine Caribbean Coast offering a traditional and holistic approach to health. With a diverse staff of holistic healers offering everything from healing with nutrition, massage & other body-work , yoga and meditation, and a luxurious infrared sauna. Spend your vacation reconnecting with your inner self while surrounded by the beauty of the jungle/beaches. Your Costa Rican Wellness Center offers cozy hardwood bungalows nestled in exotic tropical gardens between the pristine beaches of Playa Chiquita and the spectacular rain forest. Paradise and the Pura Vida awaits! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tierra de Suenos Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra De Suenos Hotel Puerto Viejo
Tierra De Suenos Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing